Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu

Boylan names his selectors

23 September 2008

Ireland manager Sean Boylan
Seán Boylan has announced that Anthony Tohill, Hugh Kenny and Eoin Liston will act as his selectors for the 2008 International Rules Series tests in Australia.

Alongside that duo, the Tour Manager is Seán Walsh with Tommy Kilcoyne acting as Assistant Tour Manager.

The runner will be Derry’s experienced international player Seán Marty Lockhart.

The backroom team will include Dr Owen Clarke as team doctor and the physiotherapist is Frank Foley, who served as a selector under Boylan for Meath’s All-Ireland wins in 1996 and ’99. The masseur is Martin Regan while Owen Lynch will act as kit manager.

The referee’s for the Test games will be Pat McEneaney (Monaghan) and Australia’s Steve McBurney. Both men are among the most experienced officials in their respective codes and also have considerable experience of handling the International game. Ireland’s standby by referee and linesman will be David Coldrick while Brett Rosebury will perform these roles on behalf of the Australians. Ireland’s umpires on the tour will be Gearóid Ó Conámha and John Bannon.

The video match referee for the Series has been confirmed as Ian Curlewis of South Africa. Mr Curlewis has vast experience in officiating and chairing disciplinary committees in Rugby, Cricket, hockey and tennis and has a Law degree from Natal University in South Africa.

Boylan confirmed that training for the Irish team is progressing well and with the conclusion of the GAA Football All Ireland Championship on Sunday last that he would now expect a number of additional players to be available for the panel.

"We are very pleased with the progress and hard work undertaken by the squad in training to date. There has been a huge response from the lads who are enthusiastic about playing the game and representing their country.

"Now that the championship has concluded we will have a clearer picture of the travelling squad over the next few weeks," stated Boylan.

Confirming their continued team sponsorship for the series Mr. Gokhan Bilgic, Managing Director of Coca-Cola Bottlers Ireland said: "Coca-Cola is delighted to be continuing our sponsorship of this year’s Irish International Rules Team. This support builds on the company’s long-standing association with the GAA and compliments our sponsorship of the Féile Peil na nÓg and Féile na nGael competitions, with which we have been proudly associated since 1971.

"I would like to wish Seán and the Ireland International Rules Team sponsored by Coca-Cola the very best of luck as they continue their preparations to play the Australians next month," concluded Mr Bilgic.

GAA President Nickey Brennan added: "I am delighted that Coca-Cola have continued their sponsorship of the International Rules team and I thank Mr. Bilgic and Coca-Cola for their support and commitment. I look forward to working with them over the coming weeks."

Commenting on the back-room team he said: "Seán has put in place a very strong team to ensure that everyone will be in good shape when the squad departs for Australia. In Eoin Liston, Anthony Tohill and Hugh Kenny he has three exceptionally committed and talented football men. I wish them all the best of luck with their endeavours. I am also very pleased with the new rules outlined here today by GAA Director of Games Pat Daly. These new rules will go a long way towards ensuring a competitive game and successful sporting series."