The Dublin GAA Population

1,273,069 (2011)

Right thats the total population of Dublin in 2011

Right: Now for the Dublin GAA Population

How many people out of that total play GAA?

How many would be capable or bothered to play senior club football? (I'll just stick to the footballers for now)

What exactly is Dublin GAA's pool of players? We have 90+ Clubs - how many would be on the average squad?

Would you say 97 x 25 (Is that fair) = 2425

There's also a fair few country lads in that mix and Dublin men over 30

Will we say what... 2000 Dubs playing Senior Club Football at the one time

All of a sudden 1.27 million is down to 2000

Now I've just roughly put this together

Anyone else got a formula to work this out?

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 28/02/2013 17:34:52    1340504

no

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 28/02/2013 17:50:01    1340511

There are 52 clubs in Mayo last time I checked but that could be something like 48 with recent amalagations. Dublin has nearly twice as many clubs as Mayo. I am not complaining but it just just a fact. There are worse of counties than us regarding a pick that is for sure.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/02/2013 17:51:46    1340512

But surely a similar formula can be applied to every county? The figure coming out at the bottom is still going to be far higher for dublin than anyone else. Also, that 25 that each club have are coming from a far bigger pool, and so will be much more refined.

Colm O'Rourke's article that was posted on another thread describes the issue quite well

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/02/2013 17:53:49    1340515

Most Dublin clubs will have 2~4 Adult football teams and the same in hurling.

And the point of the thread is?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 28/02/2013 17:59:09    1340519

Population of Kerry is about 150,000??
60 clubs football only.
25x60=1500.
So roughly 1% of our population play senior club football.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 28/02/2013 18:06:19    1340522

What's your point Jimbo?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/02/2013 19:10:17    1340549

Applying your formula I've decided there's only 14 players in the county of Kildare. If Johnston hadn't of transferred last summer we probably would have had to withdraw from the championship.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 28/02/2013 20:07:52    1340579

Jackos_Wacko

1340522 Population of Kerry is about 150,000??
60 clubs football only.
25x60=1500.
So roughly 1% of our population play senior club football.

Thats a higher overall percentage compared to Dublin

2000 of 1.27 Million is roughly 0.157% of Dublins total population is available for possible selection

0.157%

If Kerry's total amount of club players is that high compared to its population

I wonder what Corks total GAA population would be in football?

Just did a bit of research = There are 115 registered Gaelic football clubs in County Cork

Right

115 x 25 = 2875 (Give or take this or that) = Lets even just say 2000 (Same as Dublin.. sure why not)

2000 of 518,000 (Corks population) = 0.386%

Again higher to Dublin

Split Cork in two anyone?

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 28/02/2013 21:07:36    1340601

There are currently in Dublin 190 Adult mens football teams spread over 12 divisions - allow 20 per team and you get 3,800 or so. This is only football and excludes minor and hurling. The size of anywhere is irrelevant to the amount of people playing the game which is the only important statistic. Large parts of Dublin especially central Dublin has no sporting clubs at all of any description so that 1.2 needs to be trimmed.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 28/02/2013 21:22:56    1340615

You can only really count first team cause alot of lads will double up with second and third string teams.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 28/02/2013 21:48:24    1340629

doublehop

Applying your formula I've decided there's only 14 players in the county of Kildare. If Johnston hadn't of transferred last summer we probably would have had to withdraw from the championship.

I think we're better off working out Kildare's player pool by following the 0.157% figure that works for Dublin.

That gives Kildare a total of 330 players.

So really we've only the bare minimum to support 22 adult teams.

Hopefully there's no injuries otherwise there could be a spate of walkovers.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 28/02/2013 21:51:53    1340635

28/02/2013 21:48:24
Jackos_Wacko
You can only really count first team cause alot of lads will double up with second and third string teams.

You can count 2nd and 3rd teams dispite you being correct in saying some players double up with 2nd and 3rd teams
You use simple maths and a standard deviation of say +/- 5 per extra team depending on club and how many teams a club fields

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/02/2013 21:55:53    1340638

doublehop

1340579 Applying your formula I've decided there's only 14 players in the county of Kildare. If Johnston hadn't of transferred last summer we probably would have had to withdraw from the championship.

Funny that was one of the bits of evidence,along with residence that was used for the Defence in the case.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/02/2013 22:01:24    1340643

http://www.uibhfhaili.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6493

Check out the above link.
Tony McTague himself (?) with his own ideas on how to reshape the GAA boundaries within the country.
An interesting, if quite ridiculous read though I must say. Check out his map & everything!

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 625 - 01/03/2013 09:14:03    1340659

United they conquer, undivided and football falls

Interesting column from Ewan MacKenna on the Dublin population issue. I know the other thread on this kind of thing just disintegrated with a number of posters going way over the top and winding people up but is it possible when posting this that this will be debated properly? If Dublin get their house completely in order as they have done so far will the gap just grow and grow?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/03/2013 18:00:59    1341038

In the interest of fairness there's been a solid response from the Dubs:
Gavin takes a stand against plan to divide Dubs

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/03/2013 20:19:39    1341107

I think the actual suggestion of splitting Dublin into two flatters them beyond belief. If they were winning around 5 All-Ireland's every decade then sure its up for debate but its not like they are absolutely dominating the Gaelic Football scene. I will acknowledge alright that they are really starting to dictate at underage but then again, we've seen some counties have a period of success at underage without garnering any kind of silverware at senior level.

So the debate for splitting Dublin in two is out of the question for the time being for me anyway.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 01/03/2013 20:31:51    1341111

100% agree with you Royal Class. There's more of a case to be out for splitting Kilkenny in two than Dublin as they've dominated hurling for so long band with a population so small too. Proves you don't need a massive population to be successful.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/03/2013 20:44:16    1341117

Ah yeah, I'm not condoning splitting Dublin either and in fairness neither is MacKenna but it's an interesting argument.

"We aren't suggesting breaking Dublin up right now but we are suggesting keeping a close eye on things over the next decade and being in a position to act accordingly. After all, even the Dublin County Board saw this coming.

In 2011, in their forward-thinking 'Blue Wave' document, they spoke of dominating the game at all levels. They also spoke of requesting the status of a province, a permanent member on the GAA's most important body, the Management Committee, and a similar appointment on the executive of the Leinster Council on the basis that they feel the needs of Dublin require constant attention because of the numbers involved from top to bottom. None of those are outrageous demands. But to have all those things and to field one team is outrageous."

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/03/2013 21:05:48    1341125