Division 3 2017

It looks like a three horse race between Tipp, Laois and Armagh for the the top two spots for promotion to Division 2. My own county will do very well to stay up.

Final: Armagh v Laois
Winners: Armagh
Relegated: Antrim and Sligo

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/01/2017 15:15:31    1946352

Replying To OLLIE:  "It looks like a three horse race between Tipp, Laois and Armagh for the the top two spots for promotion to Division 2. My own county will do very well to stay up.

Relegated: Antrim and Sligo"
Would love Louth to be promoted.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/01/2017 15:59:41    1946376

I think unfortunately we are the weakest team by a good bit.

Louth probably most likely to go back down with us.
I don't see much between the other 6. I wouldn't say Armagh are any great shakes.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4223 - 17/01/2017 16:35:16    1946396

Replying To waynoI:  "Would love Louth to be promoted."
So would I Wayno.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/01/2017 17:12:04    1946407

Laois should go up and Armagh should be there or there abouts with Tipp, although I don't think Armagh are great either, outside shot to Offaly who I would love to see progress.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/01/2017 17:48:22    1946428

Replying To OLLIE:  "It looks like a three horse race between Tipp, Laois and Armagh for the the top two spots for promotion to Division 2. My own county will do very well to stay up.

Relegated: Antrim and Sligo"
Id disagree with you slightly Ollie. I think it will be a 3 horse race, but id say it will be between Tipp Laois and Louth. Dont think Armagh are going anywhere.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/01/2017 17:52:35    1946432

Laois and Tipp for me.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/01/2017 18:17:05    1946442

Armagh v Laos in the final, with Armagh winning.
Antrim and Louth could be relegated

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/01/2017 19:29:38    1946470

Armagh
Laois
Tipperary
Offaly
Longford
Antrim
Louth
Sligo

Of course this could all change after they get a round under their belt and we see what way everyone is shaping up.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 17/01/2017 22:37:01    1946531

Replying To Richieq:  "Laois should go up and Armagh should be there or there abouts with Tipp, although I don't think Armagh are great either, outside shot to Offaly who I would love to see progress."
Personally think Longford are stronger than Offaly

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 17/01/2017 23:24:14    1946538

Yeah Antrim will be straight back down - no real change in the setup to suggest we are ready to kick on.

Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 18/01/2017 12:49:50    1946622

McGeeney needs to get it right this year and get some momentum going. I would take Armagh to win the division with Tipp runners up.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 18/01/2017 13:04:06    1946630

I'm severely demotivated by my counties prospects in both codes this year.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/01/2017 15:53:11    1946698

We targeted promotion last year and were on course before we starting losing away from home.

Nobody is talking about Longford here. I think they will be in the mix too. It will probably be like last year with about 5 teams bunched together at the top of the table.

I think we will learn from last year and get promoted this time.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 19/01/2017 11:43:06    1946928

Replying To Killarney.87:  "We targeted promotion last year and were on course before we starting losing away from home.

Nobody is talking about Longford here. I think they will be in the mix too. It will probably be like last year with about 5 teams bunched together at the top of the table.

I think we will learn from last year and get promoted this time."
Agree, Longford performed the best of the Leinster counties outside Dublin in last years championship.

As things stand Tipp are the best team in the division with Longford, Armagh & Laois in the mix too.

Relegation will be Antrim and Offaly or Sligo.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/01/2017 21:14:00    1948244

Replying To county man:  "Agree, Longford performed the best of the Leinster counties outside Dublin in last years championship.

As things stand Tipp are the best team in the division with Longford, Armagh & Laois in the mix too.

Relegation will be Antrim and Offaly or Sligo."
Yeah it's a strange one Longford are a good team and had some great wins in last year's championship. Cork just about got the better of them in a close game.

They gave us a nice trimming in Pearse Park and our promotion drive started to unravel after that.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 23/01/2017 23:47:00    1948283

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yeah it's a strange one Longford are a good team and had some great wins in last year's championship. Cork just about got the better of them in a close game.

They gave us a nice trimming in Pearse Park and our promotion drive started to unravel after that."
I fancy Tipperary to win the Division and to be joined by either Longford, Laois or Armagh.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 24/01/2017 18:45:44    1948529

Replying To lilywhite1:  "I fancy Tipperary to win the Division and to be joined by either Longford, Laois or Armagh."
Jaysus Lilywhite, you had better delete this post, you are after agreeing with my predictions !!

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 24/01/2017 22:10:34    1948580

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Yeah it's a strange one Longford are a good team and had some great wins in last year's championship. Cork just about got the better of them in a close game.

They gave us a nice trimming in Pearse Park and our promotion drive started to unravel after that."
They struggle in Leinster Longford,but seem to get good results in the qualifiers.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/01/2017 12:20:42    1948667

Replying To Killarney.87:  "We targeted promotion last year and were on course before we starting losing away from home.

I think we will learn from last year and get promoted this time."
Last year we were missing the Commercials lads and had a lot of injuries. We had a completely different team come the end of the championship.

Think we have a good chance this year but it will be far from easy.
For football to improve in the county, we badly need to get to division 2.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 26/01/2017 10:32:19    1948885