Dublin propaganda

Dublin PR machine is starting early !

offtheboat (USA) - Posts: 57 - 05/12/2016 19:26:54    1938477

Replying To offtheboat:  "Dublin PR machine is starting early !"
No, you must be wrong. That''s akin to heresy ; the Dubs wouldn't do anything like that.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/12/2016 19:56:02    1938484

Maybe it's the obsession with anything Dublin from the culchies.
Costello gives his address as Secretary of the Dublin county board every year this was taken from that by the media it was not an interview so get the facts right.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/12/2016 20:28:19    1938492

This is from the DCB annual report. In house. Nothing to do with Dublin GAA.

I think the broader point though is that anything to do with Dublin GAA is news worthy, I don't think there has ever been a team so marketable in the history of the game, the fact that this is widely reported in the media and posted by someone outside the pale, is the perfect example. It's why despite the bleating over finance to cover up other counties deficiencies will get no where. The profile of GAA has never been so strong, there is no way they will kill the golden goose.

Reading Costellos comments, I think will soften the cough of a few hardline county "hard done by" in the GAA centrally. It's a big fear within the GAA or tricking Dublin and the fact that the discharging of a duty by an administrator in the DCB making national news and the starting of this thread just proves it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/12/2016 22:13:45    1938519

Not another anti dublin thread!!

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 06/12/2016 09:20:34    1938545

Im not sure what the reference is in regards to Dublin propaganda, is it the comments about Connolly needing more protection??

Either way ill say one thing having read Diarmuid Connollys comments this morning referencing the "clown in the RTE studio" and commenting on the black card fiasco and being apparently "targetted" amongst other things the man has gone right up in my estimation.

Never mind some bland interview from his team mates roll out that man Connolly for more interviews i say, in an era of media bans and worn out cliche ridden interviews, honesty is a virtue.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 06/12/2016 10:38:04    1938569

Love how obsessed everyone is with Dublin! 2 months before the league kicks off and people are already bitching. Hilarious.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 06/12/2016 10:43:09    1938574

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "Love how obsessed everyone is with Dublin! 2 months before the league kicks off and people are already bitching. Hilarious."
Yeah literally everyone is posting in this thread, it's not just a small minority of cranks. The whole world hates yis boo hoo hoo. Fill Sam with salty tears.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 06/12/2016 10:54:20    1938578

Replying To Breffni39:  "Yeah literally everyone is posting in this thread, it's not just a small minority of cranks. The whole world hates yis boo hoo hoo. Fill Sam with salty tears."
It's not the only thread moaning about Dublin.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 06/12/2016 11:05:34    1938581

Replying To CroiGorm:  "It's not the only thread moaning about Dublin."
It's what happens when your the best. Embrace it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 06/12/2016 11:43:58    1938587

It really is great. Reading some of the slants that people put on anything that can be remotely twisted in a negative way towards Dublin is laughable but enjoyable too. It really does go to show just the kind of country we live in. Begrudgery is all too common.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/12/2016 15:29:46    1938649

Replying To Breffni39:  "It's what happens when your the best. Embrace it."
exactly we wont be at the top forever.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 06/12/2016 15:40:39    1938655

Its human nature,

When Galway won in 1998 the whole country was behind us (apart from Kildare....and some parts of Mayo!), after drawn and losing replay in 2000 before bringing Sam home again 2001 (and a few All Ireland U.21's in the mix as well) everyone was done with backing Galway.

Frankly I think keep her lit Dublin, a great brand of football and although it seems like it will continue forever - take it from me, enjoy it while ye can!

D

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 06/12/2016 15:46:43    1938660

Replying To The_DOC:  "Its human nature,

When Galway won in 1998 the whole country was behind us (apart from Kildare....and some parts of Mayo!), after drawn and losing replay in 2000 before bringing Sam home again 2001 (and a few All Ireland U.21's in the mix as well) everyone was done with backing Galway.

Frankly I think keep her lit Dublin, a great brand of football and although it seems like it will continue forever - take it from me, enjoy it while ye can!

D"
Too right,most here and anyone who has any common sense knows it's only a matter of time until someone else is winning and the haters will be out in force then with the predictable gloating of course.
God knows we have had enough of a dry spell prior to this run of succcess to be all to well aware of that.
It just emphasises though how a lot of people view success in this country and how they can so easily take a dislike to you when you are at the top.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/12/2016 16:54:20    1938693

I'm sure they are wintering well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7821 - 06/12/2016 17:50:31    1938712

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Too right,most here and anyone who has any common sense knows it's only a matter of time until someone else is winning and the haters will be out in force then with the predictable gloating of course.
God knows we have had enough of a dry spell prior to this run of succcess to be all to well aware of that.
It just emphasises though how a lot of people view success in this country and how they can so easily take a dislike to you when you are at the top."
At least you are on top. We aren't very popular and we haven't been on top since the advent of electricity.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/12/2016 21:29:03    1938760