Footballer of the Year

check this out

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/all-ireland-sfc?ev_oc_grp_ids=1007817

McManamon 12/!! If he were to score say 0-4 points Saturday, very possible he most likely would win it! 12/1!! Savage odds....

And all slagging aside and genuinely now....Cillian Mayo's shortest odds!!!! How in da feck!! What does Colm Boyle have to do to get the recognition he deserves. Himself and James McCarthy are very similar that way. We wouldnt swap James for anyone, Mayo wouldnt swap Colm for anyone yet neither ever get the credit they deserve!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 13:57:14    1920505

footballer of the year will be from who ever wins it.. no doubt about that

i think fenton is a great bet

and boyle from mayo

overthehill72 (Meath) - Posts: 334 - 29/09/2016 14:30:56    1920523

can't open pp in work but if Dublin win, it's Fenton's barring him having a very poor final or someone having a great game

If i was lining them up in order:

Dublin:

Fenton
Kev Mac
Cooper (so rarely goes to the full back line but there have been no clear front-runners)

Mayo:

COC (his point the lat day combined with an outstanding final - which Mayo need if they are to win - would be enough)
Boyle
Higgins (his role would need to change from last day)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 29/09/2016 14:51:13    1920531

Colm Boyle at 40-1 looks like as good a bet as K McManamon. Good chance Fenton gets it no matter what though, even in the event of a Dublin loss.

How does it get voted again?

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4221 - 29/09/2016 15:12:35    1920543

Agree, Boyle stood out for Mayo even in the Galway match: the man's a born leader. Fenton and McMenamon would be my standouts for the Dubs.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2016 15:20:56    1920547

Replying To cavanman47:  "can't open pp in work but if Dublin win, it's Fenton's barring him having a very poor final or someone having a great game

If i was lining them up in order:

Dublin:

Fenton
Kev Mac
Cooper (so rarely goes to the full back line but there have been no clear front-runners)

Mayo:

COC (his point the lat day combined with an outstanding final - which Mayo need if they are to win - would be enough)
Boyle
Higgins (his role would need to change from last day)"
If Dublin win, Fenton will probably get it. If Mayo win then I would expect Keegan to get it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/09/2016 15:33:06    1920554

i wouldnt have Cillian anywhere near it!!

If Mayo win Sam, one of Colm Boyle or Lee The Divil Keegan would have to get it, outside shout if he has a good final for Andy Moran

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 15:39:29    1920557

Replying To neverright:  "If Dublin win, Fenton will probably get it. If Mayo win then I would expect Keegan to get it."
Diarmuid Connolly by a mile lads brilliant player

boots1 (Carlow) - Posts: 85 - 29/09/2016 15:40:45    1920560

Replying To neverright:  "If Dublin win, Fenton will probably get it. If Mayo win then I would expect Keegan to get it."
Keegan or J Cooper

thehoops (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 29/09/2016 15:41:18    1920561

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "check this out

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/gaa-sports/gaa-football/all-ireland-sfc?ev_oc_grp_ids=1007817

McManamon 12/!! If he were to score say 0-4 points Saturday, very possible he most likely would win it! 12/1!! Savage odds....

And all slagging aside and genuinely now....Cillian Mayo's shortest odds!!!! How in da feck!! What does Colm Boyle have to do to get the recognition he deserves. Himself and James McCarthy are very similar that way. We wouldnt swap James for anyone, Mayo wouldnt swap Colm for anyone yet neither ever get the credit they deserve!"
It's a very interesting POTY this year in that several fellas have a good claim on it on both sides
Even if McM got those 4 and Dublin win I'd assume Fenton would have his usual good/very good game and give it to him.
He's been the most consistent. Lovely footballer.....the curse of emigration is an awful thing :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 29/09/2016 15:45:23    1920562

He hasn't been as good as Boyle over the course of the championship, but has been improving while Boyle has dipped (ever so slightly).

COC, for me, has been more consistent with an outstanding point the last day and if any Mayo player is to be in contention they will need to win it and to do that, COC will need to perform. So in my mind, if mayo win, he will have been their best player.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 29/09/2016 16:04:16    1920575

Replying To Superglue:  "It's a very interesting POTY this year in that several fellas have a good claim on it on both sides
Even if McM got those 4 and Dublin win I'd assume Fenton would have his usual good/very good game and give it to him.
He's been the most consistent. Lovely footballer.....the curse of emigration is an awful thing :-)"
Fenton is a special talent alright
and never playerd Minor!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 16:21:32    1920580

Cavanman, surely the idea of player of the year, is in the name, its of the year......
And by Mayo fans own admittance, this year, Cillian has been off the boil for whatever reason??
How can he be POTY based on one point kicked the last day out???
The season didnt start and end on the 3rd Sunday in Sept my friend?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 16:32:30    1920586

If Mayo win I'd say Boyle

He's been brilliant this year for me

The only Mayo player I'd take onto the Dubs panel as I said that many months back on a thread about if you could pick one player from any county who would it be!

Well there you go.. he's def on a path for player of the year

Some of us know our stuff

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2016 17:09:34    1920613

TBH while Cilian was poor by his own lofty standards in the early rounds of the championship, he really stood up in the crunch games against Tyrone and Dublin, both from placed balls and from play. This sort of form probably wouldn't win him FOTY but I don't think he's been as poor as everyone's making out. I think people also forget that he missed a lot of the National League through injury and then got a black card against London after 8 minutes, which perhaps cost him a bit of sharpness.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 29/09/2016 17:34:21    1920626

Mayo's lack of standout individual performers THIS YEAR means it might go to a Dub either way.

I've decided this is also the reason Andy Moran has been lauded so much this year. Slim pickings.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 29/09/2016 18:33:21    1920649

IMO Paul Geaney the stand out player and marquee forward for 2016.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 29/09/2016 18:59:28    1920665

I agree re Moran Breff. Dont see it either

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 19:46:01    1920684

Replying To jimbodub:  "If Mayo win I'd say Boyle

He's been brilliant this year for me

The only Mayo player I'd take onto the Dubs panel as I said that many months back on a thread about if you could pick one player from any county who would it be!

Well there you go.. he's def on a path for player of the year

Some of us know our stuff"
On the one hand you say Boyle is the only player you'd have on the Dublin panel, on the other hand you say you know your stuff. Interesting!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/09/2016 19:51:18    1920689

Replying To dingle2:  "IMO Paul Geaney the stand out player and marquee forward for 2016."
I would agree that Geaney has been the stand out forward in the Championship. If Dublin win and Cooper plays well he should get it because he has been immense in the most scrutinised part of our team.If Mayo win then whoever plays best between Higgins and Boyle IMO should get it. Last day out both defenses played better than their forwards which unfortunatley is becoming the norm

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 30/09/2016 03:11:22    1920763