Anthony Cunningham for Cavan?

On the face of it, with decent coaches with him, looks a very shrewd appt if confirmed.
Would be very interested to hear Breffs opinion?
Still a young team with lots of potential and the younger lads have a winning mentality
Galways age old failings again this year put pay to any shite about Cunninghams abilty.
I think a very good appt (if true) for Ceeaaavvaann

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/09/2016 16:09:59    1919739

he could maybe introduce them to a hurl while he's at it

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/09/2016 16:46:37    1919762

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "On the face of it, with decent coaches with him, looks a very shrewd appt if confirmed.
Still a young team with lots of potential and the younger lads have a winning mentality
Galways age old failings again this year put pay to any shite about Cunninghams abilty.
I think a very good appt (if true) for Ceeaaavvaann"
Would prefer Tony McEntee personally but sure it's all just speculation.

It's a crucial appointment for us.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 27/09/2016 16:57:23    1919767

Replying To SaffronDon:  "he could maybe introduce them to a hurl while he's at it"
Cheap shot mate, get over yourself.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 27/09/2016 16:59:16    1919769

Replying To Breffni39:  "Cheap shot mate, get over yourself."
lol ah to be fair I wish he was headed our way in either code

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 27/09/2016 17:04:41    1919771

I think this would be a great move, he's got experience managing at the highest level at club football with two provincial championships and an all Ireland appearance. then of course he brought Galway to two all Irelands finals in hurling, that experience is huge, Cavan badly need that. By all accounts he was extremely well thought of in Laois too. I think this could be one of under the radar moves that could just work very well!!!!

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 27/09/2016 17:32:37    1919788

Replying To theweanling:  "I think this would be a great move, he's got experience managing at the highest level at club football with two provincial championships and an all Ireland appearance. then of course he brought Galway to two all Irelands finals in hurling, that experience is huge, Cavan badly need that. By all accounts he was extremely well thought of in Laois too. I think this could be one of under the radar moves that could just work very well!!!!"
A good appointment if true

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 27/09/2016 18:50:23    1919825

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "On the face of it, with decent coaches with him, looks a very shrewd appt if confirmed.
I think a very good appt (if true) for Ceeaaavvaann"
Galway's age old failings?
They were unlucky to lose by a point to a Tipp side that dismantled KK in the final.
I thought Galway made progress this year under Donoghue.
Anthony Cunningham is a fine manager I believe but what happened this year dosn't mean the players were wrong last year.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 27/09/2016 18:58:04    1919827

Replying To SaffronDon:  "he could maybe introduce them to a hurl while he's at it"
Sure didn't McGeaney try and fail. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 27/09/2016 19:12:29    1919836

I've heard it's McEntee who's set to get it. But nothing official can be expected for a couple of weeks.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 27/09/2016 19:13:21    1919837

According to the homepage, he's not interested.

Dermot McCabe? I heard rumours about the Gowna man being the next manager? Not sure what he's done at management level.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 28/09/2016 15:42:40    1920194

Would JAmes Horan be interested I wonder?
Its a big job with huge support and good structures

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 15:49:10    1920196

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Would JAmes Horan be interested I wonder?
Its a big job with huge support and good structures"
He ruled himself out as well.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 28/09/2016 16:00:29    1920204

Yeah, Horan or Pat Gilroy would've been my first choices.

Horan publicly rules himself out. I understand Gilroy was asked as to his availability early days and couldn't commit due to work commitments.

Bookies stopped paying out on Dermot McCabe about 6 weeks ago and it looked like the job was his but I hear that was all rumour. He was part of the mgmt team with our minors for 2 years.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 28/09/2016 16:13:47    1920214

Shame Gilroy cant commit. Way too good a manager to be out of the game, and sure Cavan is only up the road.
But he is a big man in his business field so I suppose so be it
He would do a great job anywhere he went

Maybe Mickey Harte might be available soon lads!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 28/09/2016 16:49:09    1920220

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Shame Gilroy cant commit. Way too good a manager to be out of the game, and sure Cavan is only up the road.
But he is a big man in his business field so I suppose so be it
He would do a great job anywhere he went

Maybe Mickey Harte might be available soon lads!"
Ha, yeah I made a joke about that when the thread popped up on him not being given more than the one year.

He'd make a serious job of the current Cavan team.

Any manager who comes in will have his work cut out to keep us in Division 1.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 28/09/2016 16:54:11    1920223

Tony McEntee or Mattie McGleenan seem like our best bets among the remaining candidates mentioned.

McEntee can obviously point to a distinguished playing career at both club and inter-county level aswell as also having success in the dug-out with Crossmaglen. Has he had a positive effect on Mayo this year does anyone know?

McGleenan is on the brink of leading Scotstown to a 3rd Monaghan championship in 4 years, a club who hadn't won it for about 20 years beforehand. They also pushed Crossmaglen to extra-time in last year's Ulster final. They do have quality players admittedly. He played at the top level for Tyrone too, coming on in the '95 All Ireland Final versus Dublin.

I'd be happy enough with either of those 2. If Scotstown win Monaghan and go on a long run in Ulster or beyond McGleenan mightn't be available for a while though. McEntee is presumably available after this weekend.

Other names mentioned like Jack Sheedy, Banty and Jack Cooney would be totally underwhelming.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 28/09/2016 18:09:59    1920249

Tomsmith here

While you may be taking ahand at us about the Hurl, we in Cavan have aproud hurling record and indeed a former Cavan/ Kildare and now Cavan footballer again has adapted to the Hurling game with ease while in his adopted County

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 29/09/2016 00:18:58    1920339

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Tony McEntee or Mattie McGleenan seem like our best bets among the remaining candidates mentioned.

McEntee can obviously point to a distinguished playing career at both club and inter-county level aswell as also having success in the dug-out with Crossmaglen. Has he had a positive effect on Mayo this year does anyone know?

McGleenan is on the brink of leading Scotstown to a 3rd Monaghan championship in 4 years, a club who hadn't won it for about 20 years beforehand. They also pushed Crossmaglen to extra-time in last year's Ulster final. They do have quality players admittedly. He played at the top level for Tyrone too, coming on in the '95 All Ireland Final versus Dublin.

I'd be happy enough with either of those 2. If Scotstown win Monaghan and go on a long run in Ulster or beyond McGleenan mightn't be available for a while though. McEntee is presumably available after this weekend.

Other names mentioned like Jack Sheedy, Banty and Jack Cooney would be totally underwhelming."
For some reason I'm mentally preparing to be under-whelmed.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 29/09/2016 12:34:35    1920461

Replying To Breffni39:  "For some reason I'm mentally preparing to be under-whelmed."
Likewise

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 29/09/2016 13:47:20    1920500