Tony McEnee's Influence

Do we think that Tony McEntee could add the mental strength needed for this Mayo team to reach the holy grail? He has been there done that with Crossmaglen and an Armagh team that were massive underdogs against a hot Kerry team back in 02. Mayo's mental strength has always let them down on key occasions. Maybe he could be the difference in that respect?

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 31/08/2016 21:15:15    1908863

Replying To Brolly:  "Do we think that Tony McEntee could add the mental strength needed for this Mayo team to reach the holy grail? He has been there done that with Crossmaglen and an Armagh team that were massive underdogs against a hot Kerry team back in 02. Mayo's mental strength has always let them down on key occasions. Maybe he could be the difference in that respect?"
Wasn't much mental strength on show against tyrone in the final minutes ...plenty of luck tho
And if mayo get over the line luck will play a big part in it

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 616 - 31/08/2016 21:29:17    1908867

Replying To Brolly:  "Do we think that Tony McEntee could add the mental strength needed for this Mayo team to reach the holy grail? He has been there done that with Crossmaglen and an Armagh team that were massive underdogs against a hot Kerry team back in 02. Mayo's mental strength has always let them down on key occasions. Maybe he could be the difference in that respect?"
Pretty sure mayo are cursed;)

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 338 - 31/08/2016 21:29:42    1908868

Possibly. We won't know till the sh*t hits the fan on the 18th though.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2016 21:32:34    1908871

With all the psycho whatsits that are about the last few years I'm sure if there was any mental strength going around our lads would have got some. What he has done though is contributed to stopping us conceding silly goals which have cost us dearly in the past. Whether he can help to stop Brogan getting his usual goal or two against us remains to be seen. Glad to have him on the sideline though.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 01/09/2016 00:24:33    1908920

Replying To rossy15:  "Wasn't much mental strength on show against tyrone in the final minutes ...plenty of luck tho
And if mayo get over the line luck will play a big part in it"
IF Mayo pull of a shock and beat Dublin it won't be down to luck it will be down to Mayo being the better team on the day. I wouldn't except any praise from Roscommon if we do manage to win Sam anyway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/09/2016 09:48:58    1908961

Replying To yew_tree:  "IF Mayo pull of a shock and beat Dublin it won't be down to luck it will be down to Mayo being the better team on the day. I wouldn't except any praise from Roscommon if we do manage to win Sam anyway."
Oh please get a grip would u!
I'd like to see mayo winning have said that many times on here but ye will need yer fair share of luck on the day as do any team that win it
And Aren't ye always the ones bemoaning the fact that lady luck let's ye down in the big days .

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 616 - 01/09/2016 11:06:55    1909020

Replying To yew_tree:  "IF Mayo pull of a shock and beat Dublin it won't be down to luck it will be down to Mayo being the better team on the day. I wouldn't except any praise from Roscommon if we do manage to win Sam anyway."
Oh please get a grip would u!
I'd like to see mayo winning have said that many times on here but ye will need yer fair share of luck on the day as do any team that win it
And Aren't ye always the ones bemoaning the fact that lady luck let's ye down in the big days .

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 616 - 01/09/2016 11:06:55    1909021

Firstly let me say...... I would love to see Mayo win Sam this year.....However they wont. I can only see Dublin winning this by 6+. I wouldn't put Dud money on Mayo with the bookies no matter the price offered.

I will happily come on here post AI final and eat humble pie but for my money the Final was last weekend, and I would have had the same opinion if we beat Mayo and progressed to the Final (maybe not +6). Dublin are operating at a different level and if McEntee can bridge that gap then he's a better man that I give him credit for

Tyrone Gaa (None) - Posts: 403 - 01/09/2016 11:39:42    1909053

The brains behind the operation. Has had a big influence on Mayo this year.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 30/09/2016 09:06:22    1920786

Next Cavan manager?

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 30/09/2016 09:30:10    1920791

Replying To Tyrone Gaa:  "Firstly let me say...... I would love to see Mayo win Sam this year.....However they wont. I can only see Dublin winning this by 6+. I wouldn't put Dud money on Mayo with the bookies no matter the price offered.

I will happily come on here post AI final and eat humble pie but for my money the Final was last weekend, and I would have had the same opinion if we beat Mayo and progressed to the Final (maybe not +6). Dublin are operating at a different level and if McEntee can bridge that gap then he's a better man that I give him credit for"
Little bit off the mark with that 6+ prediction , decent change you might be ateing that pie yet come Saturday haha

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 30/09/2016 10:10:49    1920805

Mayo were within a whisker of getting into the last two All Ireland's and who knew what would have happened if they got there in 2015 or 2014 they had a more favourable draw this year and took full advantage of it. I don't think it's McEntee as I think they have the players there and Dublin always find it difficult against Mayo . McEntee is no miracle worker he did well with Cross as the players were there just like with Mayo, he managed Brigids in Dublin for a few years and did nothing except take money and not fulfill in results.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 30/09/2016 16:27:33    1920925

Listen if Mayo win Rochord McEntee Buckley etc will be called geniuses but in reality Mayo over the last 5 years have been easily good enough just very unlucky.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/09/2016 17:32:11    1920942

It was a bad week-end for Tony with both Mayo and Cross gone. Might he get a call home?
The black and Amber will be missed for many months

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 03/10/2016 12:46:51    1921848