Glenswilly 0-03 St Eunans 0-02

This was a full time score in a Donegal league game this afternoon.

What do yiz think of that then ?

Crazy.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2016 16:06:21    1889184

Replying To waynoI:  "This was a full time score in a Donegal league game this afternoon.

Crazy."
Heard it was a cracker.

Never more than a goal in it.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4217 - 24/07/2016 16:32:10    1889194

I think that should be on the elevenaside forum, no?.....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/07/2016 16:33:27    1889198

The last 5 minutes was the most exciting football seen so far this season!

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 24/07/2016 16:36:13    1889200

Replying To waynoI:  "This was a full time score in a Donegal league game this afternoon.

Crazy."
I'd imagine it was a sh!te game like numerous games up and down the country. I doubt there was any county boys playing though.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 24/07/2016 16:38:25    1889203

Bahaha, holy jaysus, time to pack it in lads, good grief!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 24/07/2016 16:41:37    1889208

A tactical masterclass....

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/07/2016 16:44:18    1889212

Is that a baby, or a turkey.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/07/2016 16:47:23    1889214

To be fair to both teams they were without their county players. The report I read said the blanket defences were only half the story as both sides kicked loads of wides. There was only 1 point scored in the second half. Club football in Donegal is really defensive but we do still get some cracking games.

I wonder has there ever been a scoreless draw in a senior club or county game.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 24/07/2016 16:49:19    1889215

Was more down to poor shooting than defence
Nearly 30 wides

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/glenswilly-overcome-st-eunans-0-3-0-2-dour-county-league-affair/

NiamhM (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 24/07/2016 16:51:54    1889216

Replying To gotmilk:  "I'd imagine it was a sh!te game like numerous games up and down the country. I doubt there was any county boys playing though."
Ah that's grand then :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2016 16:56:01    1889221

Seriously embarassing for both teams.

I was a fairly ****e footballer myself but I've never played in a game as low scoring as that.

These aren't even Junior B team this is the highest level in Donegal.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 24/07/2016 17:00:44    1889227

Sure the game is evolving lads

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/07/2016 17:46:01    1889250

Now' Now Lads...I think you should have withheld Judgement until youse got the full story.!

It's been lashing down here all day in the "Hills" and the game was called off so to decide the outcome..Both teams retired to the changing Rooms and partook in Games of "CHESS" best out of 5 being declared the winners.

It was a war of Attrition but the Glenswilly mens defensive strategy Won the Day for them.

The atomosphere in the changing rooms was very similar to that of this years Ulster Final.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 24/07/2016 17:51:24    1889256

Is it not a bit insulting to the ordinary club player to be saying "they had no county players on the field, so it's logical they only scored 2 points". It makes it sound like the club player is a space filler for the county players to do the real playing

Just call a spade a spade and admit it was an unusually terrible game.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 24/07/2016 18:20:12    1889276

Wonder why were there no county players playing in Donegal today? Tyrone players are all out with their clubs today. This type of game is destroying Gaelic Football as a spectacle. In all honesty who would pay in to see these two teams in action again apart from family.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 24/07/2016 18:26:24    1889281

People commenting on the quality of a game they didn't see. Makes sense I suppose

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 24/07/2016 18:41:15    1889289

Lifetime of involvement & going to games & football is sh#te at all levels now. I saw a similar game last year, I went home at half time. Who would want to play or watch nowadays. How long were club players in Donegal without games while the county team were in C'ship. I would love to know if any of those teams have one of the problems in Gaa, the outside manager ?

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 24/07/2016 18:56:53    1889298

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "People commenting on the quality of a game they didn't see. Makes sense I suppose"
Ahhh here the scoreline tells its own story.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2016 18:57:34    1889299

Replying To moc.dna:  "Lifetime of involvement & going to games & football is sh#te at all levels now. I saw a similar game last year, I went home at half time. Who would want to play or watch nowadays. How long were club players in Donegal without games while the county team were in C'ship. I would love to know if any of those teams have one of the problems in Gaa, the outside manager ?"
So you saw this bad scoreline and saw a similar game last year so that makes football site at all levels as you say?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 24/07/2016 19:11:54    1889305