Selective condemnation

Mayo player intentionally strikes an Armagh player in the genitals with the butt of his hurl.. A cowardly pox of an act

Not a peep

MDMc after a bit of a tangle gets a full force left hook to the nose, in fact looks like he broke his nose

Not a peep

If a Tyrone or Dublin player did such

Well you can imagine the deliberate self serving agenda out in full force...

Yes indeed.. Very selective condemnation

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/06/2016 10:58:16    1862080

Yeah have to agree with you, two cowardly acts brushed away.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 06/06/2016 11:09:36    1862084

Normally I'd say just get on with it.
But your right Jimbo, if Philly mc Mahon threw that punch there would be uproar. Or a Tyrone lad done it. If a Kilkenny /Tipp lad done that with a hurl there would be outrage.
Truth is if it isn't a high profile team, they don't care. Theres nearly a sympathy vote.
I was right beside MDMC incident and it was a full force punch in the face. Lads of that size throwing punches can do serious damage.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/06/2016 11:13:46    1862087

But they didn't so we'll never know now. Will we?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 06/06/2016 11:15:28    1862090

Agreed a very cowardly thing to do, you'd worry that players like that are the game, he was blatantly caught on camera., maybe he is a hero in his local club.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 06/06/2016 11:16:28    1862092

If Tyrone player did it the Sunday game panel would want him banned for six months

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2016 16:43:19    1862320

These threads just degenerate into more slagging of other counties , the truth is that Tyrne and Dublin fans would be on in droves to defend their players or at the very least bring instances going back 5 or 10 years to give validation their arguments.
Sunday game dealt with it lets hope authorities do the same what Hoganstands says or does is irrelevant.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/06/2016 16:58:26    1862329

As all lads whoever played hurling can attest to,that sneaky,cowardly,innocuous looking jab of a hurley into the crown jewels,is the most painful injury a man can feel.I was on the receiving end once and couldn't walk straight for a week.That Mayo player deserved to be called out last night although it was brushed over fairly quickly.He should receive a nice ban,also.The genitals are a no go area.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/06/2016 16:59:49    1862331

the CCCC are about to spin the bottle to see where it lands for punishment handed out

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 06/06/2016 17:00:35    1862333

Ah seriously. Last year when d connolly was punching lee keegan on the ground the dubs said you cant blame him when someone keeps pulling you back and checking your run. And they appealed it on a technicality. The only problem on saturday was michael dara should have gotten yellow. O gara hit munnelly a real nasty slap in face too. And mccarthy got away with blatant foot trip . Free was given but no black.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 06/06/2016 17:03:37    1862334

Replying To jimbodub:  "Mayo player intentionally strikes an Armagh player in the genitals with the butt of his hurl.. A cowardly pox of an act

Not a peep

MDMc after a bit of a tangle gets a full force left hook to the nose, in fact looks like he broke his nose

Not a peep

If a Tyrone or Dublin player did such

Well you can imagine the deliberate self serving agenda out in full force...

Yes indeed.. Very selective condemnation"
Too true jumbo.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/06/2016 17:18:51    1862341

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Ah seriously. Last year when d connolly was punching lee keegan on the ground the dubs said you cant blame him when someone keeps pulling you back and checking your run. And they appealed it on a technicality. The only problem on saturday was michael dara should have gotten yellow. O gara hit munnelly a real nasty slap in face too. And mccarthy got away with blatant foot trip . Free was given but no black."
Eh no Malonemagic, Keegan had Connolly in a headlock on the ground. Connolly eventually hit him to free himself. There was clear slow mo footage at the time showing this. Big difference. MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player. Straight red and ban. If it had happened on the street the gardai would have been involved.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/06/2016 18:06:56    1862375

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Ah seriously. Last year when d connolly was punching lee keegan on the ground the dubs said you cant blame him when someone keeps pulling you back and checking your run. And they appealed it on a technicality. The only problem on saturday was michael dara should have gotten yellow. O gara hit munnelly a real nasty slap in face too. And mccarthy got away with blatant foot trip . Free was given but no black."
MDM should have got a black card. To block someone's run is a black card not a yellow. If the refs dealt with the constant blocking of players off the ball wit the black card as they should these type of incident would not develop and the football would be a lot better game to watch.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 06/06/2016 18:46:47    1862395

Replying To Joxer:  "Eh no Malonemagic, Keegan had Connolly in a headlock on the ground. Connolly eventually hit him to free himself. There was clear slow mo footage at the time showing this. Big difference. MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player. Straight red and ban. If it had happened on the street the gardai would have been involved."
Ah joxer come on now. MDMA was pulling dragging and checking O'Loughlins run after just fouling him. He deserved a card and officials got it wrong by only booking O'Loughlin. I would have done the exact same thing as O'Loughlin. It's time the officials stand out this run checking and off the ball crap.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 06/06/2016 18:52:25    1862402

Replying To Joxer:  "Eh no Malonemagic, Keegan had Connolly in a headlock on the ground. Connolly eventually hit him to free himself. There was clear slow mo footage at the time showing this. Big difference. MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player. Straight red and ban. If it had happened on the street the gardai would have been involved."
Well said Joxer

But it's just more of the same

An utterly ridiculous comparison

But again.. It comes as no surprise really

The reaction to this thread only enhances my point

Certain counties come in for much more scrutiny and you'd have to question the hyperbole reactions of those just looking to serve their own agendas.

You won't see two worse incidents of on pitch violence all year, yet almost zippo made of it...

No doubting things would be vastly different if it was Tyrone or Dublin players

You'd have the culchie numb skills out in full force..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/06/2016 19:05:48    1862409

MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player.

That's nonsense, he was clearly interfering with the Laois lads run, who in turn was wound up and reacted stupidly. He got the line and if he gets a longer ban can't really complain. I'd argue it's more a case of the analysts on the Sunday Game having a bit of sense last night and not overreacting. On the other hand, the likes of Brolly or Spillane would have likely made a right storm of it.

(on a side note, perhaps the SG analysts moved on so they wouldn't have to explain MDM probably deserved a black card for his role in the incident?)

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 06/06/2016 19:19:02    1862416

Ah seriously. Last year when d connolly was punching lee keegan on the ground the dubs said you cant blame him when someone keeps pulling you back and checking your run

Malone, no one said that.

Connolly/Keegan was a very different situation than O'Loughlin/MDMA.

Classic response from you though. Someone says something you don't like and you make something up about another incident so you don't have to actually respond to the point.

It let's us know what to make of you in anyways wha!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/06/2016 19:21:43    1862417

You'd have the culchie numb skills out in full force..
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15175 - 06/06/2016 19:05:48

Well done, you've really claimed the moral high ground with that statement.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 06/06/2016 19:49:31    1862427

Replying To extranjero:  "You'd have the culchie numb skills out in full force..
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:15175 - 06/06/2016 19:05:48

Well done, you've really claimed the moral high ground with that statement."
That's exactly what they are

The hyperbole down right disingenuous rubbish aimed at James McCarthy after the Donegal game was case in point.. The online campaign again him was utterly telling, but like the incident itself the powers that be saw nothing in it and rightly so

It really is double standards and again without doubt teams like Dublin are open to far more scrutiny

But we'll get on with it but you want see worse incidents happen for the rest of the year, but just watch the culchie hyperbole BS... if a Dublin player is involved..

The thickos will be out flapping their lips

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/06/2016 20:10:17    1862439

Replying To extranjero:  "MDM received a left hook to his nose on Sat. He hadn't laid a hand on the Laois player.

That's nonsense, he was clearly interfering with the Laois lads run, who in turn was wound up and reacted stupidly. He got the line and if he gets a longer ban can't really complain. I'd argue it's more a case of the analysts on the Sunday Game having a bit of sense last night and not overreacting. On the other hand, the likes of Brolly or Spillane would have likely made a right storm of it.

(on a side note, perhaps the SG analysts moved on so they wouldn't have to explain MDM probably deserved a black card for his role in the incident?)"
Extrajnero you clearly don't know what you are talking about. You are claiming that MDM 'probably deserved a black'. For what exactly? I was about 15 feet away from that incident sitting in the main stand. The the two of them ran across each other that's all that was to it. The Laois player reacted with a left hook and may have broken the Dublin player's nose. Do you want to make anything else up about it seeing as though I presume you weren't there and obviously you don't know much about the contact before the punch as you are saying that it was 'probably a black card'? Laughable really.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/06/2016 20:16:21    1862443