Longford Club fined by the GAA

Dromard GAA Club has been fined €2,000 for hosting a summer soccer camp on its premises last August.

'The rule states that a GAA property 'shall be used only for the purpose of or in connection with the playing of games controlled by the GAA and for such other purposes not in conflict with the aims and objects of the Association, that may be sanctioned from time to time by the Central Council.''

They'll be breaking their own rules if the IRFU wins the Rugby World Cup bid by allowing the use of a number of grounds around the country but they won't let a small GAA club make a few quid?

Is it just an anti soccer thing more than a 'foreign sports' issue maybe??

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/02/2016 09:05:06    1822436

what the hell were they thinking of? did their chairman not know the rules? now ye can debate the rights or wrongs here of the rule but the fact is that the rule is there and they broke it, as a x club chairman in 80s who came under severe pressure to let the local soccar club to use our grounds when they lost their pitch U JUST CAN NOT DO IT , its the rules dont debate this case , as they were wrong to do it, debate the rule

stmunn (Wexford) - Posts: 181 - 05/02/2016 09:49:58    1822445

They won't be breaking the rules for the RWC because permission can be asked in advance and then granted.

People will come out with varies different comments both for an against but as a businessman I have a question, and professional sports are now a business.

So you run a business, do you let you're competitors use your assets to compete against you??

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/02/2016 10:03:43    1822453

I cant actually believe the GAA have done this. They go on so much about being an amateur organisation and then do this. If I was the chairman of the club id tell them where to go..

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 05/02/2016 10:08:51    1822455

Embarrasing by the GAA to be honest.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 05/02/2016 10:11:10    1822458

The GAA have no problem making millions out of soccer, rugby, american football, concerts out of Croke Park but fine a small rural club a couple of grand for hosting a training camp? Bad form from the GAA I think.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/02/2016 10:23:51    1822464

Not a v good news story for the GAA

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 05/02/2016 10:26:27    1822465

So you run a business, do you let you're competitors use your assets to compete against you??

witnof (Dublin) - Posts:867 - 05/02/2016 10:03:43 182245

+1

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 05/02/2016 10:28:56    1822468

For gods sake lads on about rules this and rules that, a bit of common sense is needed. Nothing bad happened and im sure the kids had fun. Isnt that the main thing. The GAA are annoying a lot of people at the moment.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 05/02/2016 10:32:44    1822469

if I was the chairman of the club id tell them where to go..

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts:19 - 05/02/2016 10:08:51 1822455

If I was on the club committee I would be asking for his resignation, he surely knew the rules but still let this happen. I would ask in what way did he envisage the holding of a soccer camp was going to benefit the GAA in the area?
This is coming from someone who regularly watches soccer, rugby, hores racing etc. so don't be accusing me of being anti any of these sports but let them sort their own facilities.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 05/02/2016 10:38:37    1822472

witnof (Dublin) - Posts:867 - 05/02/2016 10:03:43

Many business' including my own employer can strike up partnerships in some areas as well as competing with other companies in other areas.
Samsung for example provide parts for Apple but sell competing smartphones.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 05/02/2016 10:39:56    1822473

Total joke by GAA, yet they use croke park for concerts and american football. GAA has gone to commercialised, fans are now just paying customers. There is no connection between the fans and the croke park GAA anymore. Too many suits up there now looking at the big picture, if thats the case, then i hope it goes professional as HQ has been creaming the profits for far to long.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 05/02/2016 10:41:22    1822474

It was a Summer camp lads, its not like he came in and took over the place. It was a benefit to the kids in the area.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 05/02/2016 10:45:50    1822478

Crazy bad PR for the GAA. You can't alter certain rules to allow sports in Croker and then hammer a small club with a fine for helping someone out with their facilities that were not being used. All it does is divide communities and will drive locals away from the GAA. People can bang on about the letter of the law all they want but it is just daft.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7882 - 05/02/2016 10:48:21    1822479

Your 100% right saddam

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 05/02/2016 10:50:46    1822481

What a joke! Obviously dont know the details of dromards club grounds etc. And wasnt aware of this rule either but surely the people of dromard funraise and save and canvass and beg councils to get their club field built and up and running. Then surely if they want tomake a few £ back running a soccer camp for the same kids who probably play for the club aswel. The GAA needs to lose this us and them mentality, in rural ireland sports organisations form the hub of communities surely they should work together for the better of kids, if a kid chooses a sport over another who cares, that should be up to the GAA club to make playing fun and engaging for them. If donard want to make a few £ for the field they most likely funded good luck to them

Colinog (UK) - Posts: 39 - 05/02/2016 10:54:24    1822484

Colinog (UK) - Total agreement my friend - thats €2000 less to pay for footballs, gear, helmets, hurlies, insurance, running, costs etc.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 05/02/2016 11:16:45    1822497

This is ridiculous and hypocrisy at it's worst. Croke Park has been used for all and sundry and the GAA has made millions out if it. To hit this club with a 2000 EURO fine for doing something that benefited young people and the wider community is just plain farcical. Furthermore it just gives those who say we are bigots and dinosaurs a field day. It will give elements up here a field day.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9693 - 05/02/2016 11:29:45    1822502

If a boxing,soccer or athletics club hired out a room, gym or astroturf in a GAA club would this be the same thing? Is that not allowed under current rules? Its happening all over the place.

Or how is that governed?

SmellyBadger (Limerick) - Posts: 32 - 05/02/2016 11:32:00    1822504

You would pay a lot more than 2000 euro to cover up bad PR like this...

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 05/02/2016 11:48:25    1822512