Division 1 Football

Can the Dubs win the league for the fourth year in a row? The last team to do this was Kerry in the early 70's.

Winners: Dublin
Runners up: Cork
Semi-Finalists: Kerry and Mayo
Relegated: Roscommon and Down

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/01/2016 15:29:44    1820402

Really hard to predict as any team can beat the other on any given day. My own county will be happy to stay up missing 15 players. Not using that as an excuse though...it is a chance for borderline and new players to stake a claim so looking forward to seeing how our lads perform.

I am not sure Dublin and Kerry are bothered too much about the league. Cork may be worth a punt under new management. From a Conacht point of view I am looking forward to see our Roscommon get on and I do hope they stay up and Galway join us all in 2017.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 29/01/2016 15:56:41    1820418

I'm gonna go for Mayo here winning this would be more far more important to them than Connaught.

As for relegation,I think it will be Down and Roscommon.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/01/2016 16:07:15    1820426

Who do ye have missing for the league yew_tree?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 29/01/2016 16:11:13    1820428

Course were bothered why would we not want to win the league? No one goes out to lose a game

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/01/2016 16:11:44    1820429

Hard to say what will happen, dodgy weather, dodgier pitches, new players & ideas being tried out.

The league is always a bit of a lottery especially in the early stages.

Good to be back in action though.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/01/2016 16:14:58    1820432

Winners - Dublin
Relegation - Down & Roscommon.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/01/2016 16:29:50    1820437

What I like is the optimism, no ball kicked or hand passed and fellas deep down wishing hoping , and its not just Div1 check all previous posts everyone has there own idea of what Success is in the league , only so many pick up silverware but for others that's not how success is measured , finding new players , new managers/coaches how they marry with existing squads etc , avoiding injuries and then the FIND , that player few knew existed in the county but by the end of the league sure I remember him playing u14 schools etc ,
Yes its back this week looking forward to Mondays posts already .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/01/2016 16:50:01    1820449

Winners: Mayo
Runners up: Dublin
Semi-Finalists: Monaghan and Cork

This weekend

Down v Donegal - Narrow way win for Donegal over their neighbours
Dublin v Kerry - two sides far from full strength the Dubs to win by 3
Roscommon v Monaghan - Monaghan have selected close to their strongest side and will be too strong for Roscommon 4-6 point win
Cork v Mayo - Cork missing 8 starters Mayo injurt list not as bad as the media says and could start 10 championship starters Mayo by two

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 29/01/2016 16:54:54    1820452

With 4 teams down, cork, mayo and roscommon having new managers i can't see any winning league with trying new players and systems i think all will be delighted staying up especially down and roscommon, so will go with usual and after finishing 3rd dubs will go on to win league.
Going down, loser of down and donegal i think will drop this year, with players mayo have missing they could be playing catch up later in league.
Going for down and donegal for the drop.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 703 - 29/01/2016 16:56:09    1820453

Dubsfan28, off the top of my head missing for the Cork game are:

Cillian and Diarmuid O Connor, Keith Higgins, Alan Dillon, Andy Moran, Seamus O'Shea, Chris Barrett, the Castlebar lads (Barry Moran, Tom Cunniffe and Paddy Durcan,
Hollymount players (Stephen Coen and Darren Coen). Ok 13 players.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 29/01/2016 17:01:50    1820457

Very hard to say. From a Dublin point of view, hopefully we pick up enough points to get into the semi-finals and go from there. Important to get a few decent games under the belt. We've been in the League Final in 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015. The one exception being 2012 and it showed in our summer performances that we never really got going that year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 29/01/2016 17:11:26    1820461

I am not sure Dublin and Kerry are bothered too much about the league. Cork may be worth a punt under new management. From a Conacht point of view I am looking forward to see our Roscommon get on and I do hope they stay up and Galway join us all in 2017.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts:7089 - 29/01/2016 15:56:41 1820418

One of the things I like about this current Dublin team is that they take the league seriously. They're going for 4 in a row.

Got to be favourites.

Outside of Dublin, Kerry and Mayo I wouldn't be surprised by anyone going down.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4207 - 29/01/2016 19:27:39    1820508

Dublin: Have the squad fighting for places good enough to win it if they put their minds to it

Kerry: As above for second place

Roscommon: Promoted teams usually have no complacency issues and they will surprise a few if this new management team is all it's cracked up to be

Down: Couple of shrewd heads back on board and could be hard to beat

Mayo: Lose on Sunday and they could be in trouble with the next three fixtures lose able

Donegal: Will do enough to stay up but don't think they are interested in playing football through April/May after last season

Cork: Have the luck of the draw (fixtures wise) need to win on Sunday if they are to be in the mix though

Monaghan: Settled team, with little absentees, will be very hard to beat at home and usually win one they are not expected to, dark horses. (also Martin Carney tipped us to go down )

Relegation: Cork/Mayo/Roscommon

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 29/01/2016 20:57:41    1820543

Winners: Mayo
Runners up: Cork
Semi-Finalists: Dublin and Monaghan

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 30/01/2016 08:59:31    1820583

I see the referees and umpires still don't understand the black card. Ridiculous

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 31/01/2016 16:20:25    1820873

Good start for our lads last night. It was comforting to see the new lads slipping in seamlessly. 17 points is a big help to the score difference too. If we can get anything against a rampant Cork team next week we'll be in a fairly good position going into the break. It's a pity the other 2 new lads were injured.

Good to be back in action for another year.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 31/01/2016 18:32:41    1820958

Good win in difficult circumstances today against an improving Roscommon side. Also good to see other players coming to the fore when McManus wasn't at his best. Only first match but signs are promising that we remain a difficult nut to crack with hopefully more to come this year. Best of luck to the Rossies for rest of league. Like ourselves they are a small county with limited resources but fierce pride in their team. Good for the game to see the smaller counties doing well.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 31/01/2016 19:19:33    1820981

A bit worrying for Roscommon how they got turned around today.As a promoted team I think they needed a home win and could be a long league if they loose to Kerry who won't want a second loss either.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 31/01/2016 19:25:31    1820983

I don't think the Mayo management are up to it. The players should definitely take action.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 31/01/2016 19:56:21    1821002