Dublin - Mayo draw is a bad result for Kerry.

It's a tough game to call. There could be a replay on the cards.

legendzxix (Kerry) - 27/08/2015

Firstly not to say I told ye so but I was confident enough of a draw. Mayo did to Dublin what Kerry did to Mayo in last year's drawn game. Secondly in my own humble opinion today's draw is a bad result for Kerry. I fear the winner of the replay will learn enough from both games going forward. I obviously hope I'm wrong. Dublin and Mayo are serious outfits. Any of the 3 counties/regions left in the championship deserve to win it. Kerry being the first champions in years to get back to a final. Dublin being league champions. Mayo pulling off one of the great late comebacks in football. I genuinely fear the winner of the replay will have enough of an edge going into the final. Sure we'll hope for the best. Ciarraí abú!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 30/08/2015 21:27:23    1778425

Pfff. Both teams will wear each other out in the replay. A few boys will be rested up then, with injuries or carded. Kerry will benefit. Whether they are good enough to win in the teeth of fire & brimstone from Mayo remains to be seen, as they are surely the favourites no, no questions asked.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 31/08/2015 08:29:56    1778460

Lads, would ye ever give up the yerra for a week until your final opponent is decided. Kerry wouldn't fear either of those sides on the evidence of yesterday's game.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/08/2015 08:47:23    1778475

I'm not sure what you are trying to imply Gleebo? My comments were fair and balanced. The winner of the replay will be favourites in the final. We cannot have any qualms about that whatsoever. Sure we'll hope for the best. My prediction of the draw reflects a fair enough reading of a situation heading into a game.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 31/08/2015 21:58:21    1779521

legendzxix, you're without doubt the best entertainment on this sight, you're witty posts, your parody of the Kerry yerra, they way other posters take the bait, has me in tears every time, even though you play the same gig over and over and over and over again, it's funnier it gets, brilliant. Not.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 01/09/2015 08:18:10    1779528

The result of the final will decide whether Dublin v Mayo going to a replay is a disadvantage to them or not.

If Kerry win, People will say its cause they had a 4 week break and Dublin/Mayo had two very hard games in that time

If Dublin/Mayo win, It will be because Kerry where rusty and we where battle hardened.

The usual lazy shite that people come up with time and again.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/09/2015 08:30:12    1779533

The winner of the replay will be favourites in the final.

Well the only recent evidence we have is from 2014 and Kerry won, so I guess you have a point.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/09/2015 09:23:20    1779555

On Sunday's evidence I wouldn't fear either side, but of course that opinion could change next Saturday if one or both of them manage to come on substantially from their stuttering performances.

Look in an All Ireland final, your opponent is going to be a serious, serious proposition no matter who they are. I'll just keep saying the same thing as I have been.

Its a one off game, Kerry are 70mins away from retaining their title. Kerry are a damn impressive side with so much quality, if they play to their potential they have every chance of coming out on top....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/09/2015 09:53:22    1779573

So basically we went from huge outsiders before Sunday to huge outsiders now

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 01/09/2015 10:01:21    1779588

To be honest, there's very little between the 3 teams left. They're the best 3 teams in the country.

A 2 week break is enough IMO, so long as the winner of next Saturday's game doesn't pick up any injuries. Kerry will have no issue with the 4 week break - one of the finalists every year has a 4 week break and I'm not sure how the statistics add up but I doubt it points to a major advantage either way.

I said it before the semi finals that I couldn't call Mayo/Dublin but that I fancy the winner to beat Kerry in the final - I'll stick by that

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/09/2015 10:34:05    1779632

Watching the game last Sunday it struck me that Kerry would be the pick of them if it came down to just a football contest.Theres more to it than that of course.
Provided they avoid suspensions or injuries I believe whoever wins the replay will beat Kerry by a points or two.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/09/2015 10:38:41    1779637

I'm amused by the reaction of the Mayo lads. It's hardly a fear of being favourites should ye get through on Saturday?!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 02/09/2015 16:24:52    1780773

The replay doesnt make a difference to the final.
Whoever comes though it will be an entirely different final where it will be be 50/50

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 02/09/2015 16:37:03    1780784

legendzxix

I'm amused by the reaction of the Mayo lads. It's hardly a fear of being favourites should ye get through on Saturday?!

Dublin will be favs in the final if they win and Kerry will be slight favs if Mayo win. That will be the case if whether Dublin win the worst game of all time 0-5 to 0-4 or Mayo win by 25 pts with O'Shea scoring 6 goals

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 02/09/2015 16:51:37    1780796

Legendszix, you were at this craic before the semi-final and final last year: "We'll just turn up with our young team in transition and try to compete against Mayo/ Donegal, yerra yerra." You need to vary the material a bit. I haven't met a Kerryman yet who thought their team would lose a match in August or September.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 02/09/2015 16:52:28    1780799

Mayo and Dublin carry a serious threat. I think most people are aware of this?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 03/09/2015 20:28:43    1781642

Lads can Dublin or Mayo be planning ahead to play Kerry in the final or can they just be concentrating everything on the the replay?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/09/2015 21:11:32    1781671

ah don't mind the yeara's being honest I saw nothing that would strike fear into me last Sunday, lets hope for another draw, a spate of red cards and suspensions... ha!

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/09/2015 21:11:36    1781672