Socks - Up or Down?

Lads/Lassies, need your help. I'm doing a small bit of research as to why it's becoming more popular for our (mostly club) players to wear plain socks (ankle socks bought Penneys say) as opposed to the clubs own normal Gaelic socks.
Sometimes they will make a small bit of effort and cut the top off the original Gaelic sock but most of the time it's just a plain white or as close to the club colours as they can find.

I know some makes of sock can be loose and poorly fitting but is it a fashion statement more so than a practical one?

I'd love to get all your opinions.. I'm hoping to break into the sock market ;)

GobnetOLunacy (Louth) - Posts: 110 - 05/05/2015 14:49:26    1720429

Reckon its Fashion myself.

Personally, I'd have them down.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/05/2015 14:58:48    1720437

You'd be doing well to see matching socks in junior football, I often went to matches with 4 or 5 different single socks, they were in pairs when washed but must have been asleep when I put them away into the sports bag. I got booked by a ref for not wearing my socks up near my knees when he started the game, within 30 seconds they were down to my ankles, up or down? Down, you look like a poser when up

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 05/05/2015 15:10:38    1720448

Socks pulled up and with boots other than black should be an instant sending off and 12 month ban

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 05/05/2015 15:28:09    1720465

I think its more for the look rather than the practicality with most people. There is already few businesses doing these socks at the moment. We bought socks like these for my club team a few weeks back from a company called CICO football socks. They do look better than the typical o'neills sock to be fair. Here's the link to their page if you like to check with them.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/CICO-Gaelic-Football-Hurling-SOCKS/254947764675973?ref=hl

Gingerninja1 (Cavan) - Posts: 35 - 05/05/2015 15:28:29    1720466

this is a hilarious posting timewise , its caught on for some of our senior players [ my club ] to adopt this fashion very recently , now equally these are the same guys who train ala trevor giles top . to the absolute annoyance of the older brigade in club .
IMO nobs
PS These socks are only just bearable if your team is actually winning .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 05/05/2015 15:31:12    1720468

Down. The rest are idiots trying to look cool in front of mostly other men which i find a little bizzare.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/05/2015 15:36:21    1720473

Wear a pair of wellingtons and it does not matter a hoot if your socks are up or down.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 05/05/2015 15:39:18    1720478

When I played, being extremely slow and lacking skill, a corner forward wearing socks up was just another reason to clock him on the first ball.

Thankdfully the game has moved on.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/05/2015 15:57:18    1720498

Socks up during matches and socks down at night..more relaxing

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/05/2015 15:57:28    1720499

I love when herself wears them hold up socks........
Oh sorry wrong socks :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2015 16:06:22    1720503

Slayer the game may have moved on in Limerick but in Mayo the clown with the socks up is still a target for everybody even his own team, I often saw lads giving a ball to 1 of these bucks when he had no chance of releasing it and he got clocked and belted and his own team laughing saying 'that'll teach him not to wear his socks up like a sissy anymore', I miss those days when even the slowest player sorry buck who togged out contributed to the game, the old line of 'will you mark somebody' springs to mind or the other line 'hit him sure he's no relation'. This was especially hilarious for matches involving neighbouring clubs when somebody shouted that line and somebody else responded 'they soon will be, sure isn't he getting married to yer man's sister'. Socks up or down? Have to be up for ladies football... can't see how to write a wolf whistle! That may sound wrong, ah who cares

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 05/05/2015 17:33:47    1720554

I bought football socks marked "50%"off .When i opened the bag there was only the left sock.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/05/2015 18:06:19    1720573

Well we have multi-tights so why not cute ankle socks, maybe they could get the ones with frills as well. I wouldn't be surprised if some of the lads insisted on wearing sports bra's.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 05/05/2015 18:31:36    1720585

arock I played a match yesterday for the first time in about 8 years. I could have down with a sports bra myself. My "assets" were nearly bigger than the ball.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 05/05/2015 19:23:23    1720607

Alot of lads are wearing the nike elite soccer socks, if you buy them a couple of sizes smaller they look very small, like the sort soccer players wear training.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 05/05/2015 21:15:22    1720651

mike03 - are you a goalkeeper?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/05/2015 08:09:18    1720677

Socks up and as garishly bright a pair of boots as I can find.

See the full forward smirking to himself as he walks in thinking he'll rough me up.

The smirk is well gone (much like his fingers) after the first ball in.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 06/05/2015 10:14:17    1720723

No socks in the bed!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/05/2015 10:19:14    1720726

Replying To GobnetOLunacy:  "Lads/Lassies, need your help. I'm doing a small bit of research as to why it's becoming more popular for our (mostly club) players to wear plain socks (ankle socks bought Penneys say) as opposed to the clubs own normal Gaelic socks.
Sometimes they will make a small bit of effort and cut the top off the original Gaelic sock but most of the time it's just a plain white or as close to the club colours as they can find.

I know some makes of sock can be loose and poorly fitting but is it a fashion statement more so than a practical one?

I'd love to get all your opinions.. I'm hoping to break into the sock market ;)"
The trend of Gaelic club players opting for plain socks, such as ankle socks purchased from stores like Penneys, over their traditional Gaelic socks seems to be on the rise, and it's an interesting phenomenon that could be attributed to a combination of factors.

1. Comfort and Fit: One plausible reason behind this shift could indeed be the comfort and fit of the plain socks. Many traditional Gaelic socks are known for being quite thick and sometimes ill-fitting. Players, especially those who value agility and freedom of movement, might prefer the snug fit and lightweight nature of plain ankle socks.

2. Fashion and Personal Style: Like in many sports, fashion and personal style play a role in athletes' choices. Some players might see plain socks as a way to express themselves or to match their overall look on the field. They may find plain socks more in line with their style preferences than the traditional Gaelic socks.

3. Practicality: Cutting the tops off the Gaelic socks, as you mentioned, is an interesting observation. This practice might be driven by practicality. It could be that players find it more convenient to modify their Gaelic socks rather than search for plain alternatives. This indicates that there's a demand for socks that are not just comfortable but also customizable.

4. Cost-Efficiency: Budget considerations might also be a factor. Gaelic socks that are part of the club's uniform can sometimes be expensive, while plain socks are generally more affordable and accessible.

5. Influence of Other Sports: Players might be taking inspiration from other https://gripsport.co.za/ where plain socks are the norm. If they watch or participate in multiple sports, they may adopt the sock style they find more prevalent in those sports.

In conclusion, the shift towards plain socks among Gaelic club players appears to be driven by a combination of comfort, fashion, practicality, cost-efficiency, and the influence of other sports. As you consider breaking into the sock market, it would be wise to take these factors into account and perhaps offer a range of socks that combine the best of both worlds - the comfort and fit of traditional Gaelic socks with the style and personalization options of plain socks. This way, you can cater to the evolving preferences of Gaelic players and potentially tap into a growing market.

Jhonroy493 (USA) - Posts: 1 - 13/09/2023 09:56:48    2504084