Guess Who's Back?

Paul Galvin back in the Kerry fold!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 03/03/2015 19:11:11    1698899

I personally can't understand this move but hey who am I to disagree with the manager of the all Ireland champs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2015 19:24:25    1698914

another experienced campaigner back on board.Marc OSe,Aidan OMahony both 35,Galvin 34,Gouch,Donaghy both 32,Bryan Sheehan.not bad for team in transition

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 03/03/2015 19:46:34    1698932

Brilliant news, heard nothing about it until just now. First man ive had on my team sheet, a legend!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/03/2015 20:02:07    1698938

Bad news for Kerry - he has his baggage and is now 2 years older when he was a near has being. Won't work!

Redslayer (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 03/03/2015 20:04:57    1698940

Maybe the oul pants were getting a bit tight and needs a good workout.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/03/2015 20:21:01    1698947

Ho Ho... fair play to him

Kerry have some panel now...

CC, TW and now PG all back for their massive push to retain Sam...

They have mastered the packed defense.... and can take on anyone in this regard now

Lob in that forward unit... ah well Dub lads.. at least we got to win a couple this decade

Kerry's usual cake walk to semi-finals with that panel...

Here we go again folks... hope you enjoy watching Kerry win every single year for the rest of the decade

Then we can talk about advantages...

I see a Mayo v Kerry final on the cards... with Kerry winning

Dubs look out of idea's.. they look knackered... fella's that we had hoped would push on are not doing so... etc etc

Hopefully Alan Brogan will stay.. we need him

We have a massive problem at midfield and once Cluxton goes or even if he has a bad year... we're done for...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2015 20:24:25    1698948

Great character - would love to see him on the field this year making an impact! I'm sure he will

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/03/2015 20:49:16    1698958

Hand over Sam..oh wait they already have it...cancel the rest of the year then..Kerry would have to throw this one away big time if they can't win with this squad....I wonder is Noel O'Leary at anything?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 03/03/2015 20:51:42    1698959

Looks like Kerry management felt that a little steel was needed after getting pushed around by Dublin.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 03/03/2015 21:51:29    1698993

Kerry dont need Paul Galvin now. He was a brilliant player but at 35 i think he is well and truly past his best. I think he might just be looking for headlines. In 2013 it looked like his legs where gone so i cant see how 2 years later he will offer much to Kerry. I think all he is doing is denying a young player a place in the squad and possibly an All Ireland medal.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 04/03/2015 08:40:58    1699004

strange one , not as if there's not experience in the squad , wonder who was the driving force behind it Galvin or EF , either way make for interesting viewing

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/03/2015 08:49:56    1699006

He'll not be a starting 15 member but no better man to come off the bench and influence a game, especially now with Declan O'Sullivan out of the picture.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 04/03/2015 08:55:04    1699007

I agree with Cork poster his legs were clearly gone in '13 and a year out and at 35 makes no sense to me him coming back to a team that won Sam without him.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/03/2015 10:53:29    1699051

For a lad who had a couple of good years but spent half his Kerry career on the bench, it really does beggar belief how much media coverage he gets.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 04/03/2015 12:56:58    1699114

I honestly can't believe some of the stuff I'm after reading, especially from the Wexford fella above. Paul Galvin was one of the greatest players of his generation and a living legend in a county well used to them!

Neither he nor Eamon Fitzmaurice are fools, they would have thought about this long and hard. Its obvious Eamon has a role in mind for him and Galvin has proven he still has what it takes to fulfil it. Whether it be on the starting 15, as an impact sub or just the influence of a natural leader in the dressing room, Galvin will give everything to the role he is one of the mentally strongest players to ever grace a field.

Galvin has earned to right to say when he comes and when and if he goes. I see there are plenty of trolls in the comments sections of the national papers websites today saying this is just a 'sad' attempt to gain some publicity. I'm hoping Paul is storing all these insults inside.

That man will have a massive impact for us this summer, some of ye lads will be eating yer words before too long...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/03/2015 13:40:31    1699136

Good luck to him.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 04/03/2015 15:57:53    1699190

After the gooch galley is one of the best passers of the ball around and was allways one of the best at winning breaking ball so I don't see it as a big gamble , I can see him doing what Declan O'sullivan did for us last year coming on in the last 20 mopping up any lose ball in the middle and start attacks. As far as the young lads are concerned well then they need to stand up and be counted in training.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/03/2015 16:08:11    1699194

The Hermit so we're allowed to say how great it is that kerry have Gooch Walsh and O Sullivan back this season yet a few of us are not allowed Say in our opinions it's a bad move bringing a 35 year old whose legs were clearly gone two years ago and didn't play last year back into an All Ireland winning panel a ???? It's a forum it's about opinions thoughts etc.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/03/2015 16:08:47    1699195

Clondalkindub you right, I'm shouldn't be saying your not entitled to that opinion and if it was another player I might share your concerns, but not with Paul.

To be honest I'm more reacting to some of the nasty comments I saw on the Irish Independent and Times websites this morning under the articles talking about his return.

I'm glad this is a well run and (usually) informed forum, some of the stuff you see allowed on the newspaper comment pages and the RTE website would sicken you.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/03/2015 16:46:28    1699207