Kerry v Dublin

Big game coming up in two weeks time between the last two all ireland winners. Thoughts???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/02/2015 11:55:21    1693968

Shadow Boxing.. both Jim and Eamon will want to win but still will want to keep the powder dry, both teams will be missing big name and will be far from full strength, in saying that though they will be players on both 15's that will have ambitions on later on in the year and staking a place for inclusion in Championship plans…. Being honest it'll be a bit of shadow boxing, Kerry will have Maher, Donnachadh Walsh, Killian Young, Crowley, Darran Sull and now possibility Donaghy back from the initial league panel announced before the Mayo game. Dublin brought back in Brogan and will have the Vincent's lads back so both panels will have been strengthened .. cannot see much in this game.. Dublin are further down the track as per preparation but home advantage might just swing it.. heart and head stuff but 2 to 4 point home win.. or even a share of the spoils… could be a good open game…

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/02/2015 12:17:24    1693985

The heat is partially taken out of this due to both teams winning last weekend. I don't expect much change from Dublin. Connolly will surely get what would be a long deserved break. He should get a least two months off. Perhaps Gavin may look at other Vins players such as Concarr and Shane Carthy.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 16/02/2015 12:39:14    1693995

Up D Kingdom, time to fire a warning shot for the year ahead, just in case anyone has any ideas we will somehow go missing come the championship!

It will take some team to wrestle Sam back off us this summer,...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2015 12:48:21    1693998

And they say the Dubs are arrogant....pffft!!! Anyone of Dublin, Donegal, Mayo and possibly even Cork can take Kerry this year. All on par with each other imo.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/02/2015 13:06:15    1694005

Confidence is not arrogance, we know the distinction between the two quiet well down in the Kingdom...A few Dubs on the other hand could do with a lesson in the fine line between both ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2015 13:53:44    1694033

Very difficult to call this.

Neither team will be in full battle dress & like most league games at this time of the year, it could go either way.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/02/2015 14:02:51    1694036

TheHermit, you will have to beat us again some day. Stick with it I say. Good man, I admire your optimism :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/02/2015 14:10:46    1694040

Sure you waited 33 long years to beat us finally in 2011 hurlingdub! What's a mere 3 years in the context of that ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2015 15:44:48    1694085

6 years hermit, 6 years :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 16/02/2015 16:36:36    1694125

Go handy realdub :-D

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/02/2015 08:56:04    1694253

Kerry have good team, but our weakness is our GK and Full back. Dublin are the best team in Ireland at the moment 2 All Irelands out of the last 4. Dublin lack a centre Back and Full Back. They have class forwards and a good midfield. Imo Fitzmaurice is the best manger Kerry ever had, which is why we won Sam last year. Kerry are in transition, we had two 34 year old in fullback line last year and it looks like we need them again this year.
I Think Dublin will beat Kerry in the league.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 17/02/2015 10:19:58    1694271

Ah of course it's confidence when Its Kerry and arrogance when its Dublin Hermit! My bad!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/02/2015 11:40:20    1694295

TheHermit

Sure you waited 33 long years to beat us finally in 2011 hurlingdub! What's a mere 3 years in the context of that ;)

Ancient History man

And of course completely disingenuous argument

We would have wiped our **** with you between 90-95

Just never got the opportunity because you weren't good enough to get out of Munster

So 33 years me bottom... you boys just got lucky you didn't meet Dublin back then.. you got to keep your 33 years nonsense to spout about

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/02/2015 11:45:41    1694300

kerryrowz

Kerry have good team, but our weakness is our GK and Full back. Dublin are the best team in Ireland at the moment 2 All Irelands out of the last 4. Dublin lack a centre Back and Full Back. They have class forwards and a good midfield. Imo Fitzmaurice is the best manger Kerry ever had, which is why we won Sam last year. Kerry are in transition, we had two 34 year old in fullback line last year and it looks like we need them again this year.
I Think Dublin will beat Kerry in the league.

Ah jesus, not again?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/02/2015 12:09:25    1694306

And 90-95 isn't ancient history?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/02/2015 12:35:55    1694318

Ah look We'll be lucky to avoid relegation...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/02/2015 12:47:04    1694319

Jimbo: We would have wiped our **** with you between 90-95... Jez that team was so overrated, I often laugh at the "homecoming" plans for 1992.. what was even funnier was they went ahead with them....

But ya we were poor in those days. funny enough we were always in the regions of 6's or 7' at the bookies in those lean years and were 12's this time last year...

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/02/2015 12:52:12    1694323

Would many Dubs come down to Killarney to make a weekend of it?
Unfortunately going to miss the game myself but should be a great atmosphere if the Kerry Mayo league game is anything to go by.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 17/02/2015 13:05:51    1694333

Horsebox last year was the biggest freak of all time yous got so lucky it was ridiclous with such an average team, but with Gooch Walsh and Darren O Sullivan fit again yous should be way better. Respect to your team for winning Sam last year all the same with such an average team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/02/2015 13:09:44    1694336