Disrespect to national anthem

Why is it lads that teams break away when the national anthem is only three quarters played. I think it shows complete disrespect. It has only crept in in the last few years. Is it that hard to stand and respect it until its over? I think teams should possibly be fined for doing this.

overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 229 - 27/07/2014 16:07:30    1626559

27/07/2014 16:07:30
overdabar
Why is it lads that teams break away when the national anthem is only three quarters played. I think it shows complete disrespect. It has only crept in in the last few years. Is it that hard to stand and respect it until its over? I think teams should possibly be fined for doing this.
What can you do about it? A large number of fans don't totally respect anthem with all shouting etc before anthem finishes...
Don't see fining anyone doing anything.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/07/2014 16:24:18    1626573

Totally agree overdabar! The whole house here made a comment about. If you're in the Gaeltacht areas and you interrupt the anthem they'd take your head for it! Shame to see lads disrespecting it. Supporters always tend to let a roar out before the last night but seeing a team break up before it was over was pretty bad

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 27/07/2014 16:26:16    1626575

Your twistin my melon man.CALL THE COPS!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2014 16:28:52    1626580

I personally dont get why we have slow, drawn out renditions like something you would hear at funerals.

Fans and players do be buzzing pre-match, Think people just get carried away.

No harm in it.

If it's an issue, Then the anthem should be stopped altogether.

But i dont mind seeing it.

My only issue is, As i say, The horrible slow renditions Zzzzzzzzzzz

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/07/2014 16:31:10    1626581

Do many even know what they are singing?Id say a very small percentage of people know what the anthem translates to in English.Ridiculous.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2014 16:39:33    1626587

I personally don't see the point in the anthem except before each all ire. Scrap it at games until final. Any game where there is a double header its only played before one of them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/07/2014 16:44:32    1626593

the biggest disrespect to the anthem is the slow tempo its played at and the godawful singers the GAA get to sing it.

Amhrán na hfiann should be played at a fast tempo and belted out by whoever is singing it.Joe Maher does a good version of it at Offaly county finals a few more singers like him and it would be a better anthem.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 27/07/2014 16:47:51    1626595

Yep I'm with you royaldunne, it's a waste of bloody time playing the anthem before every game, there isn't a national team present for jaysus sake, just play it before the AI finals and leave it at that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/07/2014 16:52:31    1626600

Jays it's the same fellas attacking GAA traditions as always, Ormond hteam royaldunne I knew ye'r opinions before I even read them, ye should start ye'r own little club, is there anything else ye'd like to change lads?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/07/2014 17:47:55    1626648

No point in doing it at all if they're getting singers to do it. Was there even a band at the game today. I don't think there was a parade beforehand which probably contributed to the complete lack of atmosphere.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 27/07/2014 17:57:38    1626658

In light of recent events I think replacing it with a few Garth Brook's numbers might go some way towards helping us all move on as nation.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 27/07/2014 17:58:50    1626659

KingdomBoy1

I just don't think there's any point in playing a national anthem when there's no national team present, that's my opinion, ps traditions can be changed if they don't have any real value you know, we can't all be that bloody rigid.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/07/2014 18:05:24    1626664

waynoI

I personally dont get why we have slow, drawn out renditions like something you would hear at funerals.

Fans and players do be buzzing pre-match, Think people just get carried away.

No harm in it.

If it's an issue, Then the anthem should be stopped altogether.

But i dont mind seeing it.

My only issue is, As i say, The horrible slow renditions Zzzzzzzzzzz

I agree, I too hate horrible slow renditions especially this one;

comeeeee...onnnn...youuuu...boyssss...innnn...blueeee...comeeee...onnnn...youuuu...boyssss...innnn...blueeee...comeee...onnnn... yeeee...boyssss...comeeee...onnnn...yeeee...boyssss...innnn...blueeee.....lol

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 27/07/2014 18:10:08    1626670

Can anyone explain to me why - when a band, such as artane band, play the national anthem it's a lively uptempo number and when it's sung at gaa matches the singer seems determined to sing it as slowly as possible and draw out every note as far as they can! It's so annoying- just sing the song and stop trying to milk it!

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 27/07/2014 18:11:30    1626672

Years ago when I went to games in the 6 counties always felt so proud standing to attention for the National Anthem with my fellow GAELS in that part of the country
Keep it and everybody respect it No need to change nothing. Even here in London we have it played before the London county finals, hurling and football and before the first round of the Connaught championship London v whoever. Play it and respect it. I thought the singer made a very good job of singing it in Clones last Sunday.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 27/07/2014 18:15:59    1626679

Its a bore fest the way it is throw out at GAA stadiums. Reserve it for finals and let it restore a place of pride in our games.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 27/07/2014 18:25:57    1626690

To back that up, I don't know but maybe it's a more important thing in the North to play/sing the national anthem. Personally I don't think I could get as fired up about a game without the anthem playing! There's nothing nicer in my opinion than hearing people sing the anthem with pride and passion. Like I said maybe it's a 6 county thing because being at a football match singing the anthem is one of the few times you can express your pride in your culture without fear of offending anyone else. The history and the lyrics of the anthem personally hold a very strong deep rooted Irish national meaning - although I'm an Irish history maniac so maybe for others it doesn't mean as much.

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 27/07/2014 18:26:53    1626691

Interesting topic.......I think it definitely means more to people in some regions than to those in others and you can see that in the posts so far. As the GAA is national cultural organization then it should definitely be played before games.Its to remind us why the organization was founded in the first place,to foster a national sense of identity and purpose. I do get the point about the poor singers and long drawn out renditions but that's a small price to pay,there's always the days when you feel the hairs stand on the back of your neck at its contribution to the sense of occasion and that's an irreplaceable feeling.As MissDownfan says I think it's an especially meaningful ritual for some of us in the north for reasons that don't need to be explained. The Americans play theirs regularly too at sporting events so I don't agree with the posters that say it's outdated or trite,it's an affirmation of identity. Another poster pointed out that most people don't know what they are singing about,fair enough point but I'd say they should know as Peadar Kearney wrote the song in English before it was translated to become the national anthem. Who is Peadar Kearney ye say? Basically put it's still meaningful to those individuals who are of a republican disposition all over the country and that is sometimes an identity that I've found to be influenced by locality and familial ties to an extent.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 27/07/2014 19:05:24    1626727

As i said already missdownfan,i doubt theres many that have a clue what their singing.At least Crokre Park have the words of the anthem on the big screen for the All Ireland finals.They should come with subtitles though for 95% of us.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2014 19:10:49    1626732