Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

get real lads, some of the comments here defy stupidity, where were yere comments when the thomas walsh saga was going on????

he lives in kildare therefore he can by the rules play with them

why is there such a fuss about this, what about billy sheehan from kerry works in dublin plays for laois, where is that thread, the majority of comments are coming from people that don't like kildare or mcgeeney

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1593 - 01/06/2012 19:38:34    1185467

The majority of comments on HS are usually driven by the county of origin of poster rather than content of post. It's a joke!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/06/2012 19:44:24    1185472

TheGateKeeper

Mc Geeney, Kildare Gaa county board and Johnston are responsible for
what could be the start of open transfers in gaelic football! Its a dark
day for the GAA!

Good. Nothing wrong with bucking the trend and shaking things up.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 01/06/2012 19:55:28    1185476

C'mon lads, this Kildare/Meath thing is becoming silly and bitter! Forget about SJ and let the teams do the talking on the pitch. If you beat Kildare then you'll have your fun, but until you do, it would be wise to quieten down a bit.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 01/06/2012 20:51:03    1185507

01/06/2012 19:55:28
derfil1

TheGateKeeper

Mc Geeney, Kildare Gaa county board and Johnston are responsible for
what could be the start of open transfers in gaelic football! Its a dark
day for the GAA!

Good. Nothing wrong with bucking the trend and shaking things up.

Ok Ill ask this question out of curiosity and with no wum intentions. If Kildare win Leinster with the help of SJ and loose in a qauter final, and next year another player transfers into Kildare, another high profile player from a smaller county. What would be your feeling on that? Would it be, ok another addition and that will help us get that extra bit furhter or hang on a minute.... I dont think we another non nantional, we have enough already. Genuine question open to all Lillys and not intended to provoke.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 01/06/2012 21:27:46    1185526

If he lives lives and works in Kildare then I cant see any problem in that Bluedubstar. People move around alot more these days for all sorts of reasons, they shouldnt have to give us playing football/hurling just because they do so.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 01/06/2012 21:56:25    1185539

Where does Joe brolly live? Where does he work ? Where is he from? Where did he play club football?.... Antrim Down Derry in no particular order and he has the cheek to mention Seanie Johnston... A one trick pony talking about a two footed player?????

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 02/06/2012 10:20:59    1185556

Sound advice realdub.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 02/06/2012 11:19:17    1185590

Looks as though the CCCC have finally approved the move.

Bout time really.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 05/06/2012 18:48:12    1187601

Well its about time really kfm have just announced seanie johnston has got his transfer from the CCCC breaking news!
the cccc letting on cavan board and gaels objected well thats exposed now and the cac said last night that the second transfer should have went through under the ten day rule 6.10b and so i believe the cccc had no right to delay the decision in fact even make a decision on the matter it should of went through automatically thats the procedure and thats what the cac found.

so once again
Welcome seanie!!! and now thanks bit of god we can finally focus on the football and offaly!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/06/2012 19:21:25    1187642

savage amount of posts for seanie finally some closure,jez both kildare and himself will be under some fierce amount of pressure now to perform on the big show now that everything is sorted...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/06/2012 19:42:07    1187661

05/06/2012 19:42:07
dubbydave.

savage amount of posts for seanie finally some closure,jez both kildare and himself will be under some fierce amount of pressure now to perform on the big show now that everything is sorted...

yes indeed, I think so, more on pressure on SJ, don't think that much pressure will be on Kildare. But I have a feeling in me waters that there will more debate (good and bad) about SJ and Kildare in the future.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/06/2012 19:53:20    1187677

Ah hopefully kildare will do the talking on the pitch ;)

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/06/2012 20:03:50    1187690

One more point i would like to make is kildare will probably be losing jimmers (james kavanagh) to galway next year if rumours are to be believed house built in all down in west he is a big loss to kildare one of kildare's strongest forwards. so with that in mind
with podge fogarty/ eoin doyle/ and fionn dowling upcoming and now SJ we have a few forwards thank god.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/06/2012 20:41:34    1187732

So what's the story with him playing a club game first?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/06/2012 21:37:23    1187797

am i right in saying he still has to play a club game before he can play with the senior lads ???

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/06/2012 21:43:09    1187809

dubbydave.

am i right in saying he still has to play a club game before he can play with the senior lads ???

Realistically there'll be no club championship played until Kildare are out of the championship, so more than likely he won't get to play until next year.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 05/06/2012 21:49:04    1187817

if_in_doubt

1187817 clondalkindub

dubbydave.

Realistically there'll be no club championship played until Kildare are out of the championship, so more than likely he won't get to play until next year.

cheers for the update dying to see how much of an impact he will make..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/06/2012 21:57:38    1187828

yeah you are right dubbydave although i heard (could be absolute speculation) that because SJ's transfer went in before the new congress rule ie. he could appeal that rule does not apply to him seen as the transfer should of went through after the 10 day period for objection went by and the cccc should have not delayed the transfer until the st kevins first round game went by..
Funny how when the first transfer was declined croke park were very quick to come out and say that johnston didnt appeal to the dra not quick to come out and say neither cavan gaels or cavan county board objected on the second transfer hence the cccc coming up with ''raised concerns'' so the st kevins game went by.

so options no 1. does the new congress rule apply to him..
No.2 st kevins round 2 club game i could have seen st kevins game been brought forward but not now that it is sarsfields they drawn.sarsfields would not agree to that.
and there might be another option yet .......

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 05/06/2012 22:00:03    1187833

05/06/2012 22:00:03
lilywhitemagic

yeah you are right dubbydave although i heard (could be absolute speculation) that because SJ's transfer went in before the new congress rule ie. he could appeal that rule does not apply to him seen as the transfer should of went through after the 10 day period for objection went by and the cccc should have not delayed the transfer until the st kevins first round game went by..
Funny how when the first transfer was declined croke park were very quick to come out and say that johnston didnt appeal to the dra not quick to come out and say neither cavan gaels or cavan county board objected on the second transfer hence the cccc coming up with ''raised concerns'' so the st kevins game went by.

The GAA HQ had their motives, was talking to someone last night by chance who has an inside track on whats happened in this whole affair. Told me somethings (that I wont repeat in a public forum) that left me completely shocked. I can fully understand the motives of GAA HQs and why this has been dragged out.

On another note I was watching the GAA discussion panel with Marty Morrisey, Cian Ward, Kevin Cassidy and another guy who's names escapes me. It was very interesting. Kevin Cassidy stated that if he was younger he would consider another county where as Cian Ward said an emphatic no, he actually spoke quite well on the subject. Very similar cases Cassidy and SJls where they both had a fall out with management over discipline that directly led them to been dropped.

I would imagine we will see SJ in the match against Offaly as I am sure KCB will find a solution.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 06/06/2012 08:43:43    1187852