Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

He has no chance gaa lover.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/05/2012 21:59:25    1169861

Looks like the public dont think Kilkenny is all that great. In the voting foe the Under 21 players of the year he only has 435 votes wile Donie Smith is way ahead with 977!

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 11/05/2012 15:25:51    1170184

moomoo

1170184 Looks like the public dont think Kilkenny is all that great. In the voting foe the Under 21 players of the year he only has 435 votes wile Donie Smith is way ahead with 977!

Jaysus moomoo... not too many 18 year olds to talk about in Kerry no...?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/05/2012 15:34:10    1170194

Moomoo

436! Tks for reminding me :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/05/2012 15:35:51    1170198

i think Ciaran would be alot more satisfied with a All Ireland in his back pocket then getting a Cadburys Award. Donie Smith is a great talent aswel dont get me wrong just personally think i would rather have Ciaran in my team. I wouldnt read to much into them polls anyway Paul Hudson is number 1 rated Dublin player on it a good prospect but was not better than Ciaran Kilkenny Jack McCaffrey O'Conaghaile or Sweeney in the u21 Championship only his final appearance was fantastic. Funny thing is Hudson would not have started had Dawson been fully fit for this.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 11/05/2012 16:07:35    1170229

I certainly wouldn't read into those online polls sure Paddy Brogan was probably one of our best players & he's not even on the poll.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 11/05/2012 16:47:11    1170266

moomoo

1170184 Looks like the public dont think Kilkenny is all that great. In the voting foe the Under 21 players of the year he only has 435 votes wile Donie Smith is way ahead with 977!

Jaysus moomoo... not too many 18 year olds to talk about in Kerry no...?

Yes James Walsh who happens to have more votes then Kilkenny ;)

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 11/05/2012 17:42:43    1170302

That tells you how much of a joke that poll is. The king is the greatest underage player in Ireland and nothing a poll says will change my mind.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/05/2012 17:50:00    1170307

Jason "Jayo" Sherlock was 19 when Dublin won Sam in 1995. I wonder will any of this year's U-21 Dublin team make senior team.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 11/05/2012 18:16:06    1170327

moomoo

1170184 Looks like the public dont think Kilkenny is all that great

Ciaran Kilkenny is a class act.End of story,stop tryin to stir the $£1&.

Sounds like a return to the Dub-bashin.Not fair on the young lad or Dub HS lads.
Or us to be using our lad as bait.Any genuine Dub at the game on Sunday will appreciate the talents of both players.Comparing is for pundits who should know better.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 11/05/2012 18:47:45    1170353

Dublin's Ciarán Kilkenny announced as 2012 Cadbury Hero of the Future

Dublin footballer Ciarán Kilkenny has been named as the 2012 Cadbury Hero of the Future at an announcement in Croke Park. Ciarán has been honoured in recognition of his passion, excellence and commitment to the sport and was presented with his Cadbury Hero of the Future Award by Dublin Under-21 Manager Jim Gavin.

Ciarán was a key member of the Dublin Under-21 team which defeated Roscommon in the 2012 Under-21 All-Ireland Final on May 6th.

The judging panel which consisted of senior Kildare footballer Dermot Earley, former Dublin manager Paul Caffrey and TG4 journalist Michael O'Domhnaill gave serious consideration to who would win this award but ultimately Ciarán's consistently impressive performances throughout the championship edged the competition out in the end. In total 16 footballers were shortlisted as part of the 'Cadbury Hero of the Future' initiative which was compiled by Cadbury Hero of the Future Judges.

Ciarán who plays for his club Castleknock, was named Cadbury Hero of the Match for his performance against Louth in the Leinster Final where he scored 1-07 and he also finished overall top scorer in the Under-21 championship with 2-31. The judges gave particular mention to Cavan's Kevin Tierney and Roscommon's Donie Smith who performed well in the public vote and also performed admirably in their county's U21 championship charge and are no doubt players to look out for in the future.

CadburyGAA (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 23/05/2012 17:23:48    1179031

11/05/2012 18:16:06
The_analyser
County: Roscommon

Jason "Jayo" Sherlock was 19 when Dublin won Sam in 1995. I wonder will any of this year's U-21 Dublin team make senior team.

Ciaran Kilkenny,Jack McCaffrey,Emmet O'Conghaile&Gary Sweeney have been called up,Kilkenny is only player I can see making impact this year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 23/05/2012 17:28:33    1179037

23/05/2012 17:23:48
CadburyGAA

Dublin footballer Ciarán Kilkenny has been named as the 2012 Cadbury Hero of the Future at an announcement in Croke Park. Ciarán has been honoured in recognition of his passion, excellence and commitment to the sport and was presented with his Cadbury Hero of the Future Award by Dublin Under-21 Manager Jim Gavin.

Ciarán was a key member of the Dublin Under-21 team which defeated Roscommon in the 2012 Under-21 All-Ireland Final on May 6th.

The judging panel which consisted of senior Kildare footballer Dermot Earley, former Dublin manager Paul Caffrey and TG4 journalist Michael O'Domhnaill gave serious consideration to who would win this award but ultimately Ciarán's consistently impressive performances throughout the championship edged the competition out in the end. In total 16 footballers were shortlisted as part of the 'Cadbury Hero of the Future' initiative which was compiled by Cadbury Hero of the Future Judges.

Ciarán who plays for his club Castleknock, was named Cadbury Hero of the Match for his performance against Louth in the Leinster Final where he scored 1-07 and he also finished overall top scorer in the Under-21 championship with 2-31. The judges gave particular mention to Cavan's Kevin Tierney and Roscommon's Donie Smith who performed well in the public vote and also performed admirably in their county's U21 championship charge and are no doubt players to look out for in the future.

------------
Kilkenny was nowhere near the level of votes of Tierney,Smith got. It was clear Cabury's used the online voting! the public vote was pointless & the "Hero of the Future" was always going to be decided by a panel of judges (one from Dublin)

Well done to Ciaran hopefully we get to see him in the senior championship before jets off to Australia.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 23/05/2012 18:14:22    1179090

I hope we don't to be honest.

(before i'm attacked thats a compliment)

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 23/05/2012 18:43:38    1179107

gaa lover

think clondalkindub was right dean rock has benn dropped from dublin panel

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/05/2012 19:05:29    1179122

23/05/2012 19:05:29
hill16no1man

gaa lover

think clondalkindub was right dean rock has benn dropped from dublin panel

--------------
Not a wise decision. What's the reason something he did behind the scenes? because IMO he's a better & more consistent talent than Diarmuid Connolly.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 23/05/2012 20:48:13    1179193

Ah please gaa lover stop , dean rock in not in Connollys league. Word is Sweeney didn't get the call I heard Kevin o Brien and the other 3 were called up. Well done Ciaran Kilkenny hopefully there's a few more awards for you this summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/05/2012 21:17:48    1179211

23/05/2012 17:23:48
CadburyGAA

------------
Kilkenny was nowhere near the level of votes of Tierney,Smith got. It was clear Cabury's used the online voting! the public vote was pointless & the "Hero of the Future" was always going to be decided by a panel of judges (one from Dublin)

Well done to Ciaran hopefully we get to see him in the senior championship before jets off to Australia.

Was thinking the exact same thing myself. Tierney and smith had miles more votes what was the point of it at all. Smith scored 2-16 in 4 games. Kilkenny scored 2-31 in 7. Kilkenny is a fantastic player and probably deserved it but what was the public vote for?

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 23/05/2012 21:34:48    1179225

No i won't stop. Clearly you underrate Dean Rock while others are overrated. For example you can't tell me Diarmuid Connolly isn't one of the most inconsistent footballers in Ireland. When Dublin are knocked out in the QF or SF stage maybe just maybe management will regret the decision of dropping a natural scorer from both frees & play.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 23/05/2012 21:46:44    1179238

"what was the public vote for?"

For Cabury's to promote their involvement. The votes were never taken into account.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 23/05/2012 21:48:52    1179242