Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

Fair play to the dubs on this site they are very respectful of the rossies performance today. This is just an outstanding dublin team. If it was any team in Ireland today Roscommon would have won. It was our best performance of the year but the subs were the difference. We could not sustain the effort of the first 20 mins. Dublin found scores that little bit easier to come by. O Conghaile is simply a class player. Shine was more than a match for most of the game but like everyone else, simply tired. Was a good game of football and both sides are a credit to their counties.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 06/05/2012 19:28:28    1166883

Anyone that's watched that final in O'Connor park (like myself) or on TV will know the scoreline doesn't tell the full story. 7 point defeat/win wasn't a true reflection but credit to Dublin they were the best team today & well done on winning the All Ireland.

Hopefully we will be back stronger as we have some fine minor teams coming through & a few of today's players will be available again next year.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 06/05/2012 19:31:17    1166887

I see some Dubs must of got confused and started booing their own free takers. Unless of course it was Roscommon people booing but it's highly unlikely

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 06/05/2012 19:45:51    1166895

square_ball_69

Yeah thats it alright... no way could it have been the country folk booing. Never...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/05/2012 20:05:51    1166915

well played roscommon great game, ye took some brilliant scores today and at 3 points up in second half were looking good. but this dublin team are very strong and have great belief in themselves, with about 15 to 20 mins to go dublin started to dominate ocongaile in the middle caught i think 4balls from roscommon kick out and balls out of defence and dublin got scores, roscommon were getting tired after putting in a great performance and were hitting long wayward passes, dublin were able to bring on a strong bench who were able to run at roscommon near the end and that sealed it. goal at the end flattered the scoreline but talking to a good few gracious roscommon fans after the match agreed the stronger team won. ye brought a great crowd and enjoyed watching our lads getting heckled when they took the frees WHATS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE HA HA.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/05/2012 20:13:57    1166926

ye brought a great crowd and enjoyed watching our lads getting heckled when they took the frees WHATS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE HA HA.

Absolutely...

You wont hear us whinging about it....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/05/2012 20:21:45    1166937

Dublin really are producing some top class teams underage in both codes with the structures they have in place. Fair play to ye

tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 06/05/2012 20:21:50    1166939

Thats it jimbo ,

we love the banter . theyve every right to try and help their team anyway theycan ,it shows their passion.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/05/2012 20:36:42    1166969

Well done Dublin fine win. Today's game was a good advert for U21 football some great scores,defending,skill & high fielding. No doubt we deserved better on the FT scoreboard but we gave a good account of ourselves & i have a feeling we'll be back with another U-21 team to go one better than today.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 06/05/2012 20:42:13    1166980

cheers ispeakwisdom,

It was a great game, that roscommon team will be strong next year if lads are eligeble.love good atmospheres at matches and to be fair ye brought it. what do you think of the dub playing for yous.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/05/2012 21:05:10    1167008

"what do you think of the dub playing for yous." A fine talent that played very well today why was he overlooked in Dublin? Brian Carthy would have mixed feelings today with his county losing but his son's team winning.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 06/05/2012 21:14:12    1167026

well done the 21s well played both teams and its actually good reading the posts here today about a good game of ball

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/05/2012 21:31:15    1167050

ah thats it, a lot of dubs have country parents , think the young fingallions man didnt thnk he was getting a fair shot at it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/05/2012 21:32:00    1167051

1166937 ye brought a great crowd and enjoyed watching our lads getting heckled when they took the frees WHATS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE HA HA.

Absolutely...

yeah yeah yeah........if dublin had lost you'd be on here whinging about it.........

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 06/05/2012 21:59:17    1167071

Guarantee gammy knee there would be no whinging, most dubs love the banter and craic and that is all it is. fair play to roscommon they brought a big crowd and it just means your voices are heard better with a bigger crowd ,thats why its usually the DUBS that are heard.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/05/2012 09:43:53    1167091

Have to say fair play to the Dubs, had some great subs to come in and I was delighted to see a team play good direct football, when they got the ball to midfield there was no short hand pass, made plenty of space in front of the full forward line and let good quick accurate ball into them. Was very impressed with Kilkenny, the man is a beast and a great footballer, won every 50/50 ball he went for and rarely gave up possession. But the two key men to the win were No8 and 24. Some great fielding by 8 but our keeper was guilty of not kicking away from him. Also 24 when he came on gave great drive to the Dubs and wrecked havoc whenever he got the ball. Think when you looked at all the Dublin panel you can see why Keane didn't make he, was tiny compared to them. But fair play to all the Rossie players but on a great performance and did the county proud. Only disappointment I had yesterday was the behaviour of some of the fans behind teh goal towards the Dublin supporters.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 07/05/2012 10:31:03    1167102

Gammy_Knee
County: USA

1166937 ye brought a great crowd and enjoyed watching our lads getting heckled when they took the frees WHATS GOOD FOR THE GOOSE HA HA.

Absolutely...

yeah yeah yeah........if dublin had lost you'd be on here whinging about it.........

Booooooooooooooo!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/05/2012 12:10:50    1167144

Rosineri1
County: UK

Only disappointment I had yesterday was the behaviour of some of the fans behind teh goal towards the Dublin supporters.

Would this be the supporters that set the Dublin flag alight much to the amusement of the stewards I might add?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/05/2012 13:03:40    1167168

couldn't really see, but there was some sort of altercation, young Roscommon fans taking down Dublin flags, sadly you get a few idiots everywhere.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 07/05/2012 13:29:59    1167182

Ye they burnt the Dublin flag alright. Idiots. My problem isn't with the Ros lads as you're right there's that element in all counties but rather with the stewards who did nothing but laugh about it. They're supposed to be there for our safety.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/05/2012 14:03:27    1167191