Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

Well...

After 300 odd posts it has come down to the last two teams

Dublin v Roscommon

In many ways I feel that game against Cork will do wonders for the Dubs... there was always that doubt regarding the quality of Leinster?

That can be put to bed now. We've beaten a very decent Cork outfit and we looked good but without hitting top form.

Very much looking forward to this one...

Dubs 2-14

Roscommon 0-16

Butt sure who knows... All the best to the two teams.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/04/2012 21:12:03    1157304

Haha.. fair play! We have to stick together man.

It's an increible achievement. Jim Gavin I reckon is a dead cert for a future senior call up. He bloody deserves it... you must be all very proud of him.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/04/2012 21:15:12    1157306

Hmmm... Rory?

Samuel is on the cards

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/04/2012 21:19:53    1157310

people have to remember kilkenny still has two more years u21,(serious talent if he stays) thought nearly all the team looked strong and comfortable on the ball, jack mc caffrey played well and philly ryan had good game, emmet oconghaile is another to watch for.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/04/2012 21:25:11    1157317

Ah he's a legend in our club, we were proud before after his all Ireland in '95 and even more now. He's a class act and very smart man defo next Dublin manager. If you don't have pace in the modern game your wasting your time. Some of our boys should give the london Olympics a go.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/04/2012 21:33:59    1157330

The 21s were incredible again today...some amount of talent in that team...Jim Gavin a brill Manager but I have to add Jim Brogan a fantastic Coach, Seniors could do with him now that Whelan is gone...

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 21/04/2012 21:40:50    1157335

Dublin v Roscommon has the makings of a good final, the teams are currently on two U-21 All Irelands. No doubt the dubs will huge favourites for this final but we are in it to win it looking forward to it already.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 21/04/2012 21:58:32    1157352

Good luck to Dublin and Roscommon in the final, hopefully it will be a good tight game. Being from Cavan I am disappointed with yesterdays result, but the better team on the day won. It's a great competition and so many GAA fans turn out every year to support it, long may it continue.

I can't let it go however without saying that the referee had a poor game yesterday- a penalty should have been awarded to Cavan early on, it wasn't and that set the tone for the remainder of the game. O'Reilly went on to award 16 frees to Roscommon, as opposed to Cavan's 2 in the first half. He was very harsh on certain Cavan players, and not a single scoreable free was awarded to Cavan throughout the game. He brought the ball forward into more scorable positions 4 times for Roscommon, only one occasion merited it. I'm not blaming the referee for our loss, but it did not help us in d long run.

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 277 - 22/04/2012 08:44:55    1157358

What goes around comes around....

tyronefan22 (Tyrone) - Posts: 183 - 22/04/2012 16:37:04    1157590

I watched the dublin/cork game and I think that the rossies will find it extremely tough to beat the dubs. I thought kilkenny would be their main man on the day but he was kept very quiet and whoever was marking him had a great game. The pure size of the dubs compared to the rossies is very dominating and they do have the footballing skills too. Im going to be rooting for the rossies but im afraid I think its the end of the road for them. The rossies same year in minor contained a qualter and leydon who were key players for them and are now switch over to the rugby but if they had them flying fit for the dub game it would make a huge difference. I dont want to write the rossies off but sadly I dont think they will do it .

Leitrim4conn (UK) - Posts: 24 - 22/04/2012 17:04:13    1157610

Nobody has come within 3 points of Dublin.
Nobody has come within 4 points of Roscommon.

The 2 standout teams by some distance.

Smith v Kilkenny.

Bring it on.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 22/04/2012 21:04:21    1157857

realdub

1157171 Gammy, reveal your loyalties, must be very frail, do you suffer from an inferiority complex?
_________

Here, Here

Pot. Kettle. Black.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 22/04/2012 21:11:34    1157865

Dublin should win handily, they had far too much football for Cork yesterday. It's all looking rosy in the capital!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/04/2012 21:11:47    1157867

Congrats to the Dubs. A great performance by them on saturday, they are a serious team. Our own lads were very poor at the back. Still most of the team are U21 agin next year & hopefully they will go one step better.

I havent seen Roscommon play, but it will be some going if they stop this Dublin team. Hope its a good final anyway.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 23/04/2012 08:40:23    1157922

i watched the cavan v roscommon game live on the net, it was a terrible game.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/04/2012 10:48:06    1157994

Great win for Roscommon on Sat, defense was immense. But was a very poor game, too much pulling and dragging and little niggly stuff. First ten minutes I thought we were going to get nothing of the ref. Then all of a sudden he changed and we started to get some pretty soft free's. Can understand why the Cavan fans were annoyed. Most people seem to be saying no point in us turning up for the final, but same was said about Tipp in last years minor final.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 23/04/2012 13:10:05    1158114

what price would you get on roscommon -20 ?

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/04/2012 14:40:30    1158244

Great win for Roscommon on Sat, defense was immense. But was a very poor game, too much pulling and dragging and little niggly stuff. First ten minutes I thought we were going to get nothing of the ref. Then all of a sudden he changed and we started to get some pretty soft free's. Can understand why the Cavan fans were annoyed. Most people seem to be saying no point in us turning up for the final, but same was said about Tipp in last years minor final.
23/04/2012 14:40:30
Gammy_Knee
County: USA

-------------------
Your comments are woeful each worse than the next! cleary more than just a gammy knee you have.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 23/04/2012 15:01:05    1158270

Gammy_Knee

I'd say over 25/1 Gammy_knee wouldnt put the house on it but maybe put the car you'll get a good few pound back

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 23/04/2012 15:05:03    1158278

23/04/2012 10:48:06
Gammy_Knee

i watched the cavan v roscommon game live on the net, it was a terrible game.
------------------------------
Good for you. I like many people watched the Donegal v Dublin semi final live last august it was also a terrible game but the All Ireland winner came out of that game.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 23/04/2012 15:26:56    1158303