Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

Kerry have had poor enough minor teams over the last few years and last years under 21's were, well lets be honest hammered by Cork there last year. This year Eamon Fitzmaurise is in charge with Darragh O'Se and the ex Crokes manager Harry O'Neill.

If manager's and selectors can win ye games the three above will have some input into the team, the nucleus of a good side is there so hopefully they will unearth a few gems for the future.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 28/02/2012 14:03:19    1119051

Leinster starts to tomorrow. Longford have never won a tital at this level. Football seems to be going well in the county at the minute two wins in the NFL. We were very unlucky to lose the Leinster final last year. However its a new year, while we should beat Louth the semi final looks a bit daunting.

bullring (Longford) - Posts: 204 - 28/02/2012 19:04:23    1119303

A few of our players (including our two senior midfielders) are underage this year and those two midfielders (Flynn and O'Curraoin) are actually underage again next year too. However I don't think this Galway side is as strong as last years, I hope to be proven wrong but we have a tough run to even get to a Connacht Final.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 28/02/2012 19:43:55    1119321

Kerry have no chance this year, it's the poorest U21 panel we've had in quite some time. They were well beaten by Dublin in a recent challenge match and could only draw with Offaly................not looking good.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/02/2012 11:06:53    1119513

Lads im telling yous put your money on tyrone. They are sure fire.

Goals_Will_Come (UK) - Posts: 375 - 29/02/2012 11:26:43    1119531

Interesting to see that 4 of the Dublin minor team that lost to Tipperary in the All Ireland Final are in the team to play Wexford (Leinster Champions) to night. The 4 are Small, McCaffrey, O Conghaile and Kilkenny. Two more of last year's minors are on the bench.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 29/02/2012 11:50:59    1119549

Kildare and Tipp are serious dark horses. Kildare are a very physical side while Tipp have a very quick forward line. Offaly to beat Meath tonight!

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 29/02/2012 13:59:53    1119668

Tipp wouldn't be dark horses any longer in underage.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/02/2012 14:06:32    1119681

dublin have a great chance with the likes of philip ryan , gary sweeney and ciaran kilkenny making up the forward line , galway could do it too

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 29/02/2012 14:32:09    1119719

Tyrone granted have a chance, but dont rule out Down, could have a sneaky outside chance. Mayobridge unlucky to be defeated by Omagh and a few of those boys will make a great impact on the county side, with the likes of Cormac Linden, son of magnificant Mickey, Ryan Brady and Keith Quinn.

rflynn781 (Down) - Posts: 24 - 29/02/2012 15:00:55    1119754

limerick are making nice progress in challenge matches . beat mayo and beat galway by 6 points last nite . luimneach abu

west18 (Limerick) - Posts: 210 - 29/02/2012 15:36:39    1119791

27/02/2012 21:49:09
fredrickwood
County: Roscommon

That's true ahsure,Ros were very poor in Hastings cup.
------------------------------------
The opening game v Cavan (the eventual hastings cup winners )was the only match we got the chance to play close to a full team & it was a match we threw away in the final few mins. So i wouldn't be read too much into that competition.

We didn't do ourselves justice in the Connacht final last year, the highlight was beating Mayo in Castlebar but we simply didn't turn up for the final. Mayo/Galway have the advantage of game under there belts before they play us but we'll have home advantage, Nigel Dineen has very talented panel to choose from & if he has everyone available where more than capable of winning another Connacht title.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 29/02/2012 15:39:21    1119798

Fancy Offaly to upset Meath tonight!

lukeFitz (Offaly) - Posts: 100 - 29/02/2012 17:07:13    1119912

Tipp working well in their warm up games and training sessions so far. theyve been doing good work on sunday mornings in thurles. Not sure how much other work they are doing apart from those sessions

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/02/2012 17:22:01    1119933

bullring
County: Longford

Leinster starts to tomorrow. Longford have never won a tital at this level. Football seems to be going well in the county at the minute two wins in the NFL. We were very unlucky to lose the Leinster final last year. However its a new year, while we should beat Louth the semi final looks a bit daunting.

Ye were bloody lucky to be there !

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 29/02/2012 17:35:50    1119944

I think offaly will win tonight . Wouldn't call it an upset though .

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 29/02/2012 17:58:09    1119958

Louth had a record breaking 6-35 to 0-2 win over Kilkenny in Ballyragget. The Cats had no substitutes as 11 of their players didn't turn up on the night. Are they having a laugh or are they really that useless?

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 29/02/2012 21:41:42    1120100

Longford to win Leinster. Mark my words.

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 01/03/2012 09:47:17    1120150

Westmeath with Heslin back will be bough to crack

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 01/03/2012 16:09:13    1120528

Dublin are the team to beat in Leinster with Ciaran Kilkenny leading the line. I would fancy Mayo in Connacht (they have Galway at home) Munster Cork again while in Ulster i'll go for Armagh.

Semi final line up

Armagh v Mayo
Cork v Dublin

Final

Cork v Armagh

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 01/03/2012 18:16:08    1120660