Very Strong NFL Division Two Group

Ziggy were all Ireland champions we don't need to prove anything to anyone.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2012 19:50:03    1106044

Yes, Kildare were very poor but I was completely shocked with the team that started. Playing Tyrone in Croke Park you should be playing your strongest possible 15. Leaving Callagahan, Doyle, McGrillen and Morgan O'Flaherty on the bench was ridiculous. Getting Bolton, Lynch and Foley back to match fitness has to be an immediate priority also. We'll see an improvement then I hope. For some reason for the last few years we've gotten thumped by a northern team in the first day of the league - Down two years ago and Derry last year. Come the summer time we've always managed to match those teams in Croke Park. Kildare will definitely improve on yesterday's performance but why McGeeney didn't pick what he knows is his strongest side is beyond me.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 05/02/2012 20:25:14    1106092

Doublehop we played sarsfield of newbridge this morning in a friendly and I got talking to one of there selectors after the match and I asked him about earley, he said that he won't play for Kildare ever again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2012 20:47:13    1106122

1106122 Doublehop we played sarsfield of newbridge this morning in a friendly and I got talking to one of there selectors after the match and I asked him about earley, he said that he won't play for Kildare ever again.

strange i was reading an article recently saying he would be back in the jersey towards march time,must be only lately he decided against it probably wont be long id say before its made official then????.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/02/2012 21:12:38    1106160

That's what he said to me Dave. Maybe he's got it wrong but he seemed certain that he won't be back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2012 21:17:52    1106165

1106165 That's what he said to me Dave. Maybe he's got it wrong but he seemed certain that he won't be back.

dont be getting me wrong not doubting or calling you a liar mate ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/02/2012 21:22:32    1106174

Meath to beat westmeath and go top. The game against Kildare in Navan will be huge. 3 wins from 3 would keep us safe and with Louth the last team we play who knows Meath could possibly gain promotion. One can dream :)

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 05/02/2012 21:24:46    1106177

Ah I know that Dave, roll on castlebar

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/02/2012 21:28:38    1106180

Tyrone looked good in the second half last night and some Tyrone people are very optimistic about the current squad developing; they could surprise some people this year. Peter Harte finally looks to be finally fulfilling his talent while Stephen O'Neill looks to have got his hunger and more importantly his fitness back. Galway were very good as well, an away win in Derry is pretty scarce for most sides.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 05/02/2012 21:29:38    1106183

1106180 Ah I know that Dave, roll on castlebar

it will be a long enough drive up and down the same night cant wait all the same there will be plenty of improvements for this game serious of shaping up to do,hows your aim for the points for if they play like they did last night you may bring your boots too ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/02/2012 21:38:35    1106191

Doublehop we played sarsfield of newbridge this morning in a friendly and I got talking to one of there selectors after the match and I asked him about earley, he said that he won't play for Kildare ever again.

I was talking to him in the gym on Friday and he was flying and all set for a return. No mention of not playing again.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 05/02/2012 21:54:16    1106213

I think he might have trying to be cute enough with you there. As far as I am aware Earley is still determined to get back and play football this summer. Whether a fella from Sarsfields wanted a Dub knowing that is another matter!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/02/2012 09:44:42    1106257

Doublehop I wouldn't be too worried about losing a league game. As you said you were missing a lot of players. Plus maybe Geezer is getting a bit cuter not showing his full hand in feb. Could work in your favour. I'm delighted Giller didn't play the Brogans. We need to see how far off the top teams we are without them. Obviously our scoring ability halves so I'd be worried about that. However midfield is my massive worry!! Cleaned out we were. Still we've plenty to work on both Kildare and Dublin.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/02/2012 09:56:18    1106264

If Meath don't beat Westmeath well we are going nowhere lads

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2012 10:54:58    1106307

Doublehop maybe McGeeney didnt put out his strongest side , but you were in effect playin a Tyrone U21 team. Only 6 players started yesterday from the team that took to the field against Dublin in July.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 06/02/2012 13:23:07    1106472

Well only 8 players starting for Kildare on saturday started against Donegal last year and Eoghain O'Flaherty was in the forwards then. Either way, it doesn't make a difference, I'm not trying to make excuses. It's not like those players were unavailable they just weren't picked so the team we went with was the Kildare team on the day and were not good enough. We can improve although a win on Sunday away to Monaghan is a must now though.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/02/2012 13:47:09    1106498

doublehop

Monaghan away is a must win for Kildare alright,they where not that bad against Meath,they win a lot of breaking ball around the middle,but they where also fairly cynical against Meath when Meath turned the screw,if Kildare start well you might see more of the same

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2012 14:08:05    1106517

Funny how when Kildare beat Dublin in the O'Byrne all the talk is about how these games do matter and its good to get wins in early to build confidence etc. but when they lose it's 'its only the league' and 'we were missing such and such' and 'this wont matter come summer'. Make up your minds lads, they either matter or they dont...

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 06/02/2012 14:53:21    1106579

Funny how when Kildare beat Dublin in the O'Byrne all the talk is about how these games do matter and its good to get wins in early to build confidence etc. but when they lose it's 'its only the league' and 'we were missing such and such' and 'this wont matter come summer'. Make up your minds lads, they either matter or they dont...

Is this aimed at me? If so you've got it completely backwards. I never said anything about the Dublin game being important, anf of the Dublin posters will agree with me there. The Tyrone match was a much bigger game. Not the other way around. It's because this game mattered that I'm giving out about McGeeney's team selection.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/02/2012 15:28:50    1106621

I think ye are all reading far too much into Kildare's defeat(even Kildare fans),if I was McGeeney I would have taken the opportunity to play some new players in front of a big crowd in Croke Park,he is clearly looking at the bigger picture..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/02/2012 16:02:22    1106665