Waterford name side for Dublin opener

February 12, 2011

Waterford hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald
Waterford hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald has announced his side for Sunday's Allianz National Hurling League opener against Dublin at Walsh Park.

With a host of players injured or unavailable, the team includes seven of those who started last summer's Munster hurling final replay against Cork.

That sextet is goalkeeper Clinton Hennessy, corner back Noel Connors, centre back Michael 'Brick' Walsh, midfielder Shane O'Sullivan and forwards Stephen Molumphy, who captains the side, Richie Foley and Seamus Prendergast.

Among the big name absentees are veteran Tony Browne, who has only just returned to training, the injured Eoin Kelly and John Mullane, who is concentrating on De La Salle's All-Ireland senior club semi-final against Clarinbridge next weekend.

Throw-in at Walsh Park on Sunday is at 2.30pm.

Waterford (SH v Dublin): C Hennessy; D Fives, J Maher, N Connors; S Fives, M Walsh, J Nagle; S O'Sullivan, Philip Mahony; S Molumphy, R Foley, Paraic Mahony; S Casey, S Prendergast, T Ryan.

Most Read Stories