Kerwick chopped as Ryan swings axe

January 31, 2012

Tipperary's Pat Kerwick
Pat Kerwick is one of seven players axed from the Tipperary senior hurling panel.

Manager Declan Ryan has re-jigged his squad ahead of the Premier County's involvement in the Waterford Crystal Cup (they face UL in a quarter-final on Saturday) and 2010 All-Ireland winner Kerwick has failed to make the cut.

The Killenaule clubman played in the 2009 All-Ireland final but was a non-playing substitute as Kilkenny were beaten the following September. He has been blighted by injury in recent times.

Others deemed surplus to requirements by the Tipp boss are Stephen Lillis, Paddy Murphy, James Barry, David Collins, Gerry Walsh and Kieran Morris.

Replacing the seven, Shane Maher, Conor O'Brien and Timmy Hammersley are all recalled while Donagh Maher, Johnny Ryan, Sean Curran and Adrian Ryan come in.

Michael Gleeson has withdrawn for personal reasons, Benny Dunne has retired and Seamus Hennessy is injured.

Most Read Stories