B FL Div 4: First win for Syddan

April 20, 2017

Syddan's Gary Farrelly


Syddan recorded their first win in division four of the B League when finishing much the stronger to overcome the visitors on Tuesday evening.

O'Mahonys travelled with just 14 players and they ended the game with 13 following a second half injury. 

They were well in contention for two-thirds of the match but their challenge faded as they ran out of steam in the final 20 minutes.

The town side led 1-10 to 2-6 by the 40th minute but were outscored seven points to one after that.

Gary Farrelly netted from the penalty spot while wing back Stuart Fedigan contributed two points as the hosts led 1-6 to 1-5 at the break.

O'Mahony's hit the opening four points of the second half to go three clear but then Ronan Mooney found the net for Syddan to leave it level, 2-6 to 1-9.

The visitors regained the lead momentarily before Gary Farrelly levelled from a free.

Darren Smith, Fiachra Ross (two), Cathal Dardis, Mooney and Eoin Lynch Duff were all on target for Syddan after that as they eased to victory.

SYDDAN - Conor Dillon; Anthony Smith, Paddy Rafferty, Dylan Smyth; Kevin Carry, Andrew Garland, Stuart Fedigan 0-2; Cathal Dardis 0-1, Robbie Farrelly 0-1; Eoin Lynch Duff 0-1, Paddy Farrelly 0-1, Darren Smith 0-1; Fiachra Ross 0-3, Gary Farrelly 1-2. Subs - Ronan Mooney 1-1 for P Farrelly, Gary McManus for Carry, Michael Sweeney for Smyth, Michael Fedigan for D Smith, Graham Garland for A Smith, S Clare for G Farrelly.

Most Read Stories