Championship dreams evaporated

September 02, 2002
SFC quarter-final Gaels 0-10 Dunboyne 1-10 Simonstown's dreams of championship glory evaporated at the quarter-final stage when they were downed by Dunboyne in Skryne on Sunday, September 1. Colm O'Rourke's side led by 0-5 to 0-4 at the break but Dunboyne were first out of the traps after the resumption and built up a six point lead before captain Ned Kearney hit the Navan side's first point of the second half in the 12th minute. Dunboyne goaled inside 30 seconds of the second half throw-in and followed that up with four points on the trot. To their credit, the team in sky blue refused to throw in the towel and points from Kearney, substitute Michael Cantwell and Paul Meade brought them to within striking distance of their opponents. Simonstown supporters then watched Paul Meade come agonisingly close to hitting the leveller; his shot appeared destined for the bottom corner of the net but rebounded off the butt of the post. The Navan team's woes were compounded when John Lunney missed a penalty shortly after. Lunney, Kearney and the full-back line of Tommy Flanagan, Ronan McGrath and Brendan Flood battled hardest for the team in sky blue. Simonstown - D Nolan; T Flanagan, R McGrath, B Flood; R Brady, A Meade, S Kenny; S Kennedy, H Traynor; HJ O'Reilly, C McGrath, P Meade (0-1); R Shiels, N Kearney (0-6), J Lunney (0-2). Subs - M Cantwell (0-1) for Shiels, D Gormley for Kennedy, D Murray for Cantwell.
JFC play-off Gaels 1-9 Meath Hill 2-5 Simonstown's second string gained revenge for their final group game defeat at the hands of Meath Hill when defeating the same opposition in the play-off at Nobber on Sunday, September 1. A first half goal from Mark McGuinness helped establish a 1-3 to 1-1 half-time lead and second half points from Colm Keys (3), Anto McCabe (2) and Eanna Donoghue helped pave the way for Simonstown's progress to a quarter-final meeting with Ballinabrackey. James Murray, Eanna Donoghue, Paul Reilly, Anto McCabe and John Smith were most impressive for the winners. Simonstown - G Lynch; J Smith, J Murray, J Casserly; J Kelly, E Donoghue (0-2), M Gorman; C Monaghan, P Reilly; C Keys (0-3), A McCabe (0-3), C O'Brien; K Brady, G Cooke, M McGuinness (1-1). Subs - A Brady for Casserly, A Faulkner for K Brady, P Traynor for McGuinness Visit for all the latest club news

Most Read Stories