SFC: Summerhill earn runaway win

August 13, 2012

Summerhill's Sean Dalton
Summerhill 1-20
Moynalvey 1-11

Moynalvey went down to near neighbours and current Keegan cup holders Summerhill by a nine point margin in this local derby played at a well presented Dunsany pitch on Sunday evening August 12th.

Summerhill were quickest off the mark clocking up two points in the opening five minutes, but found themselves a point behind after a trio of points in a five minute period from the impressive Cillian O'Sullivan. However the reigning Senior Champions stepped up a gear or two in the second quarter and restricted Moynalvey from scoring again in the opening period while reeling off seven unanswered points to hold a commanding 0-10 to 0-3 half time advantage.

Moynalvey pointed the opening two scores of the second period courtesy of the Donoghue brothers, Stephen and John to narrow the deficit to five points, leaving the score reading 0-10 to 0-5. The 'Hill rattled off another four points to leave nine between the sides after 40 minutes. Two Moynalvey points from Cillian O'Sullivan and Darren Brennan left Moynalvey trailing their opponents by double scores 0-14 to 0-7 at the three quarter mark. Whatever aspirations of a Moynalvey recovery were severely dented in the 45th minute when a centre from Barry Dardis was kept in play by Sean Dalton whose fisted effort found its way to the net off Moynalvey keeper Ollie Regan. Three more points from Summerhill left 12 points between the sides with ten minutes remaining. With little but pride left to play for, Moynalvey added 1-3 to their tally in the final minutes, with points from Padraig Donoghue, Mark O'Sullivan and Stephen Donoghue while the goal came from Dan Treacy, leaving the Keegan Cup holders comfortable nine point winners at the final whistle.
Summerhill - Paul Comey, Paraig Jennings, Caolan Young, Michael Gorman, Padhraig Geraghty, Brian Ennis, Adrian Kenny, Damien Byrne, Conor Gillespie, David Larkin, Maurice Kennedy, Micheál Byrne, Paul Rispin, Sean Dalton, Barry Dardis.

Scorers: David Larkin 0-03, Brian Ennis 0-1 (1f), Micheál Byrne 0-3 (3f), Paul Rispin 0-3, Adrian Kenny 0-1, Sean Dalton 0-4, Maurice Kennedy 0-2, Barry Dardis 0-3 (2f) Goal was an og.
Moynalvey: O. Regan, R. Kiernan, P. Weldon, P. Donoghue (0-1), A. Forde, B. O'Keefe, D. Treacy (1-0), S. Donoghue (0-2), D. Smith, C. O'Sullivan (0-4), J. Donoghue (0-1), D. Donoghue, M. O'Sullivan (0-2), K. Hyland, P. Harnan. Subs: D. Brennan (0-1) for Kiernan, W. Mahady for Smith, J. Kelly for Hyland.

Most Read Stories