IFC: Kells goals stun Na Fianna

April 20, 2009

Na Fianna's Declan Brennan and Gaeil Colmcille's Robbie Flanagan fight for possession during the Meath IFc at Boardsmill.
Gaeil Colmcille 3-9 Na Fianna 2-11 It was a case of 'de ja vue' for Na Fianna against Gaeil Colmcille in the first round of the Intermediate Football Championship played in Boardsmill last Sunday. Gaeil Colmcille ended Na Fianna's 2008 campaign last year in the quarter final with a one point win in extra time. On Sunday Na Fianna lost by the same margin thanks to a Gaeil Colmcille point in the last minute from substitute Thomas Shine. Both teams served up an excellent display of football in the sunshine with the Kells men taking a five point lead midway through the first quarter scoring two goals and a point to Na Fianna's two points. However the second quarter was Na Fianna's strongest sector of the game when they turned the five point deficit into a five point half time lead on a score line of 2 -6 to 2-1 - the Na Fianna goals coming from Dan Queeney and Harrison Silke while Dean Barrett and Jamie Queeney scored two excellent long range points. The second half was a much tighter affair as the more experienced Kells team began to get vital scores - their third goal coming from Justin Carry Lynch, who followed up with a point, to put Kells two up. However further points from Silke and Queeney leveled matters before Kells got the late winner from Shine. Best for Gaeil Colmcille were Michael Foley Cormac Keegan, Jim Gallagher, Matin Barrett, Brian Hanlon and Justin C. Lynch. Gaeil Colmcille - David Drew, Stephen Hanney, Robert Flanagan, Barry Tormey, Cormac Keegan, Philip Ward, Michael Foley (0-1), Jim Gallagher, Denis O Neill, Stephen Reddy (1-1), Justin Carry Lynch (1-1), Stephen McManus, Brian Hanlon (0-3, 2f), Martin Barrett (1-0), Garry Arkins (0-2, 1f). Sub - Thomas Shine (0-1) for Arkins. Na Fianna - David McCormack, Robert Walsh, Christy Cosgrave, Davy Lyons, John Baldwin, Shane Burke, Diarmuid Bailey, Brian Queeney; Jamie Queeney (0-3); Ailbhe Mahon; Dean Barrett (0-1); Eoin Murray; Daniel Queeney (1-2); Declan Brennan; Harrison Silke (1-5).

Most Read Stories