'Sparrow' reveals first selection as O'Connell retains captaincy

January 15, 2010

Clare's Ger O'Loughlin
New Clare hurling manager Ger 'Sparrow' O'Loughlin has named his team for Sunday's Waterford Crystal Cup opener against Waterford IT at Meelick. His first selection includes four of last year's victorious All-Ireland under 21 team, namely Cian Dillon at full back, Domhnall O'Donovan at right half back, John Conlon at right half forward and Colin Ryan, who broke into the senior team last year, at left corner forward. Gerry Quinn is named at left half back after being axed from the squad by former manager Mike McNamara last spring. O'Loughlin has confirmed that Brian O'Connell will captain the team for a third successive year, while Crusheen's Pat Vaughan has replaced Gerry O'Grady as vice-captain. Clare (SH v Waterford): P Brennan; P Vaughan, C Dillon, A Brigdale; D O'Donovan, B O'Connell, G Quinn; D McMahon, P Donnellan; J Conlon, G O'Grady, A O'Brien; M 'Ogie' Murphy, F Lynch, C Ryan.

Most Read Stories