Antrim SHC final: Shamrocks make it four-in-a-row

September 30, 2013

The Loughgiel's team celebrate with the cup. INPHO
Loughgiel 3-14
Cushendall 2-6

Loughgiel sauntered to a fourth Antrim SHC title in-a-row with an 11-point victory over Cushendall yesterday.

It was a surprisingly comfortable victory for the 2012 All-Ireland club champions as only a puck of the ball separated the sides in their previous two final meetings.

Benny McCarry and Shay Casey found the back of the Cushendall net to help establish a 2-6 to 0-5 lead for the PJ O'Mullan managed outfit.

Cushendall enjoyed the better of the exchanges in the early stages of the second half and a goal from Paddy McGill, just 38 seconds after the restart, helped them cut the deficit to one point by the 35 minute mark.

But that proved to be as good as it got for the challengers and the holders subsequently embarked on a scoring spree that yielded 1-7 without reply.

McCarry netted his second, and Shamrock's third goal, to seal the silverware while Shane McNaughton scored a late consolation goal for Cushendall.

Loughgiel - D D Quinn; P Gillen, N McGarry, R McCloskey; M Scullion, Johnny Campbell, O McFadden; M McFadden (0-1), T McCloskey (0-1); J Scullion (0-4), D Laverty, E McCloskey; B McCarry (2-1), S Casey (1-0), L Watson (0-6, 5f). Subs: B McAuley (0-1) for T McCloskey, D McCloskey for McCarry, D McKinley for Casey, James Campbell for Scullion, T Coyle for R McCloskey.

Cushendall - R Kearney; M Burke, A Graffin, R McCambridge (0-1); P Burke, N McManus, D McNaughton; E Campbell, P McNaughton; P McGill (1-0), C Carson (0-3), K McKeegan (0-2f); S McNaughton (1-0f), E McKillop, E Laverty. Subs: A Delargy for Laverty, S Delargy for McCambridge.

Most Read Stories