Cavan Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Predictions for 2009
Jesus Meg you are one confused son of a! 3 weeks ago Drumalee are a junior club,now they are gonna win the Intermediate Championship. Confused or wha

boojangles , 04/12/2008 at 00:08

Regional games!!Any emerging talent?
McNulty why shouldnt the like of Martin Reilly or Sean Brady or any other county player not have to come in and prove themselves in the Regional games? We have a new manager in Cavan that should be picking a panel from scratch.Thats whats wrong with Cavan football, too many lads allowed live off their reputation from Minor level.We'r still waiting on some lads to perform at County level and they have been on the panel 5 or 6 years. If the County Captain can turn up for all the games then why shouldnt everybody else.If they dont show up for Regional games or Trials then they shouldnt be picked. But we all know that wont happen in Cavan.

boojangles , 04/12/2008 at 00:04

Predictions for 2009
Bennybunny, something similiar for Cork if their not on strike !!

Cavan_Slasher , 03/12/2008 at 23:38

best minor team next year
it will be tight we'll see what happens. i'd say that there could be a few surprising results and the league could be blown open.
the top four teams will all be tough to beat and we should expect some good games. home advantage could be a key factor this year. who knows. but one thing is certain. the gaels will finally not with the league or champioship for the first time in how many years?

it starts on feb the 15th. thats when round one begins and its a saturday or a sunday.

fooligan , 03/12/2008 at 22:32

Virginia College
your obviously just a gauson that has bags of potential and wants recognition..go do your study.
Dont really know the team any way. but i will guess.
Crissy sheils, jack brady, emett fitzsimons, gary denning, maybe theres more?
honestly, silly trend.

galoping gazele , 03/12/2008 at 22:13

Mickey Graham - Ballyhaise
Gramham has alot of work to do with that haise team---They have a massive attitude problem.....

house rules , 03/12/2008 at 21:54

Larry to be recalled to the senior cavan panel
>>People thought Pele was great because he played for Brazil in the World Cup when he was seventeen. When Larry was seventeen he was playing with Knockbride minors, Knockbride junior B's, the odd senior game, St. Brigids u21's, Bailieborough schools u18's, the Cavan Vocational schools team, AND the Cavan Minors.
>>Maradona may have used the hand of God to beat England, but only Larry could get away with hoping the ball twice and scoring the equalising point in an Ulster final.

>>Pele and Maradona would run the length of the field, go around every opposition player including the goalkeeper and tap it into the empty net, Larry just runs to the corner and scores from there.

>>Because there's only one great team play in blue and white, and it's not Argentina.

>>Pele and Maradona had some of the world's greatest ever players playing alongside them. Who had Larry?

>>I've never seen Pele bust through two Aussie Rules players and come out with the ball.

>>Pele and Maadona played in some of the biggest and finest stadiums in the world, but you'd never see them scoring 1-8 against Killagarry of a winters evenin'.

>>There'd be no point in ringing Maradona if you had a pipe leaking .

>>Larry Reilly says shin gaurds are for babies.

>>Pele and Maradona may have come up against defenders from every corner of the world but did they ever skin Francie Bellew?...Larry sure did.

>>You always hear players being branded 'the new Maradona', or 'the new Pele'. You'll never hear anyone being called 'the new Larry'. You know why?...Because there'll only ever be one Larry Reilly.

house rules , 03/12/2008 at 21:51

What is the [b]best[/b] preperation before a game?
Fill up on redbull n skittles-------i always put redbull in my gumshield....

house rules , 03/12/2008 at 21:49

tough but joe’s r favourites.(i’m not 4m joes )meant to have 10 startin underage again dis year.a few will on be county.still licking their wounds 4m minor and u16 finals defeat.that will motive them.mightnt have bottle though as shown in u16 league final.bailieboro dominted u16 last 2 years.but talk an amalgmation shows a lack of confidence in the players.ballyhaise will be in the mixer too but the county knows they they’re a div2 without without tierney.their u16 team dis year was poor.ne talk of annalee gaels again?ramor r d dark horses.good team on paper.they’ll have a good chance but if they’re complaining about being outmuscled good luck to them.cavan gaels:worst gaels team eva.not in the top 10 never mind 7 .apart 4m sexton blessing & oconnor.they’re so useless dat sum of them wouldnt make the paraolympic gaa team.hanly and fortune 4 county minorr.jog on will ye.mullahoran have sum of the county’s best but an obvious lack of strenght in depth if they decided to play div2 last year.as a lover of gaa i hope kingscourt do not win anything.everyone knows especially joe’s dat they dont play ball!interestin 2 see who comes out of the group of death.alot can happen until then,players lose interest,drink,dubs come in 2 team.ne talk of amalgmations?

00babyblue00 , 03/12/2008 at 21:34

Predictions for 2009
Cavan will finish midway in Division 3, lose the first round of the Ulster championship and get blown away when you meet a team in the qualifiers. Nothing new for you really, just making sure none of you are getting ideas above your station.

bennybunny , 03/12/2008 at 21:27

What is the [b]best[/b] preperation before a game?
yeah denn man its gives you a complex conjugate alright.

tomo1 , 03/12/2008 at 21:25

Seanie Johnstons wristband!
id say ryan you might know because the foucus should be on football not poseing.football is about football not media or getting pictures in the paper..you obviously arent much of a footballer if this is what interests you..

tomo1 , 03/12/2008 at 21:23

Any predictions on cavan minor team 09???
no im from ballinagh but where did that come up from. sb this topic is for writing about next years minors not not looking out where people are from

frankthetank1 , 03/12/2008 at 20:53

Predictions for 2009
NOT A HOPE OF MOUNTNUGENT WINNIN D JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP NXT YEAR!!!WZ I D ONLY 1 AT DIS YEARS JUNIOR FINAL!!!ND AS 4 DRUMALEE WINNIN D INTERMEDIATE THEY LL BE LUCKY 2 WIN A GAME AFTER WAT I SEEN 4RM DEM DIS YEAR!!!

howya , 03/12/2008 at 20:41

In my opinion heres the best minor teams that will be competing next year, 1 being the strongest
1.Balieboro
2.st.joes
3.kingscourt
4.ballyhaise
5.Ramor
6.Gaels/mulahoran
7mulahoran/gaels

galoping gazele , 03/12/2008 at 19:39

Virginia College
In recent years Virginia College have dominated school football in Cavan.....
In your opinion what players from Virginia College will make the county team in coming years???

mmcf , 03/12/2008 at 19:35

between st joes ballyhaise kingscourt and baileborough next year.........any1 agree? mullahoran could challenge it too and redbridge too....certainly wont be dominated by 1 team like this year

mclovinxx , 03/12/2008 at 18:47

Predictions for 2009
Has to be Shercock for Junior - Shercock lads on here can't be wrong for 5 years on the trot

opa01 , 03/12/2008 at 18:35

Regional games!!Any emerging talent?
MacAweeny is only 18 but is a good player. A lot to learn yet but one for the future.

Jecht , 03/12/2008 at 18:31

Any predictions on cavan minor team 09???
Do you play for Castlerahan frankthetank?

S..B , 03/12/2008 at 18:30

©2008 Lynn Publications