HL1A: dominant Tipp dismantle Dubs

February 13, 2016

Tipperary's Padraic Maher in action against David Tracy of Dublin

A finely-tuned Tipperary side eased to victory over Dublin in the Division 1A opener at Thurles tonight - 1-23 to 0-12.

The influential Jason Forde fired the game's only goal in the twelfth minute, making it 1-2 to 0-1, and further points from Conor Kenny, John McGrath (2), Forde (2) and Noel McGrath - making a welcome return to the starting XV - had the margin at nine, 1-8 to 0-2, with eight minutes left before the break.

Daire Plunkett and John McGrath (free) traded scores before the short whistle, as did Noel McGrath and Niall McMorrow upon the resumption.

When Darragh O'Connell pointed for the struggling visitors on 50 minutes, they still trailed by eight points, 1-14 to 0-9.

With Forde and McGrath missing nothing, the last thing the Dubs needed was John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer coming off the bench to clip over three lovely scores. The match was over as a meaningful contest long before the final whistle put Ger Cunningham's men out of their misery.

Tipperary - D Gleeson; C Barrett, T Hamill, M Cahill; B Maher, J Barry, Padraic Maher (0-2); M Breen, D Quinn; D McCormack, Patrick Maher, J Forde (1-5); N McGrath (0-2), C Kenny (0-3), J McGrath (0-7, 5f). Subs: D Fitzelle (0-1) for Patrick Maher, J Gallagher for M Breen, J O'Dwyer (0-3) for D McCormack, J Meagher for B Maher, L Ryan for D Quinn.

Dublin - C Dooley; J Boland, E O'Donnell, O Gough; C O'Callaghan, C Crummey, S Barrett; N McMorrow (0-2), J McCaffrey; D Plunkett (0-1), E Dillon (0-1), D Treacy (0-3f); D O'Callaghan (0-1), P Ryan (0-1f), M Schutte (0-1). Subs: C Cronin (0-1) for P Ryan, D O'Connell (0-1) for D Plunkett, O O'Rorke for D O'Callaghan, F McGibb for J McCaffrey.

Referee - C Lyons.

Most Read Stories