St. Patrick's Club notes

February 20, 2017

Congratulations to our County Hurlers who were rocked by a Mayo goal just before half time to leave the halftime score 1-11 to 0-08 in Aughrim. A good showing in the second half saw the hurlers victorious over Mayo 2-17 to 1-17. Well done to our own lads Eoghan O'Mahony, John Connors, Andy O'Brien, George O'Brien, Gerry Connors, Michael Connors, Christy Moorehouse, Coach Michael Neary and S+C Shay Dunne on another win.

After their recent win against Carlow, our ladies county team made the long trip to the North West to play Fermanagh on Sunday at 2pm in St Patrick's GAA in Donagh (close to Enniskillen). Congratulations to all involved in an excellent result up North with the final scoreline of 3-17 to 1-06 having led at halftime 2-10 to 0-05 especially our own Niamh McGettigan and selector Michael Kavanagh.

Congratulations to our own ladies secretary Stephen McNulty who took charge in Sunday's Lidl Ireland LGFA Round Three League fixture between Wexford and Limerick in St. Patrick's Park.

It's with great honour we present our ladies Senior Captain 2017 Sarah Delahunt congratulations Sarah and best wishes to Robert Hollingsworth and his management team for 2017

MESSAGE FOR GIRLS HEADING TO MANCHESTER

All those going on Manchester trip are requested to pay the balance on/before 10th March. This should be given to John McGettigan. There are a few places remaining if anyone else is interested. Reminder that we leave Wicklow on Sat 8th April and return Mon 10th

Best of luck to our own Ian Murphy and all involved in the County U21 footballers when they take on Louth in Baltinglass on Wednesday, February 22nd.

We are looking for a volunteers to run the club gear shop at the club Nursery every Saturday in Dunbur. If you can give an hour every second Saturday please contact Club Treasurer Treasurer.stpatricks.wicklow@gaa.ie .

Any Individuals interested in been involved with our club teams for 2017 should contact the Club Secretary at: Secretary.stpatricks.wicklow@gaa.ie.

Do you want to Coach on our Kellogg's GAA Cúl Camps 2017? If yes complete the Coaches Application Form. Job Description: Coaches must be over 18 years old on the first day of the camp on 3rd July 2017. NOTE: Coaches must be a paid up member of their local GAA club. A Coaching Qualification, code of ethics, Garda Vetting and/or Coaching experience and/or evidence of voluntary coaching/work is mandatory in applying for this position.

Closing Date for return of all fully completed Coaches Application forms is Friday 7th April 2017. All selected coaches will be paid a weekly wage and put through the revenue system in accordance with Croke Park regulations. You may include any further information in support of your application if necessary.
Note: Late applications will not be accepted or considered and canvassing will disqualify. Selected candidates will be contacted directly on or before Friday 14th April and given dates for mandatory two day training prior to commencement of Kellogg's GAA Cúl Camps 2017. If Coaches are not Garda Vetted please apply ASAP through your clubs Children Officer.

SUCCESSFUL APPLICANTS HAVE TO BE 18 YEARS OR OLDER

Go Games Referee Courses: Please see below times and venues for all next week.

Wednesday 22nd Feb

6.30pm (note time change) St Pats GAA Dunbur East Clubs

Cost of Course is €20 per referee and can be paid on the night. Participants must be over 16.

Each referee will get a whistle and referee top when course is completed. It is important all clubs have Go Games referees in their clubs to assist in the running of games (U7-U9) for 2017.

GRMA (go raibh maith agat) is the new GAA Membership Card programme providing benefits and rewards to GAA members. It is a 'thank you' or 'go raibh maith agat' for your involvement in your GAA club, engagement in GAA activities and attendance at games.

Membership Cards will only be distributed to members who have signed up to GRMA online www.grma.gaa.ie. The programme is only available to adult members (over 18's).

If you have any further queries contact the GRMA team. http://gaa.ie/grma  or Club Registrar Eddie Leonard

Dublin LGFA senior Inter County management team are hosting a coaching workshop in DCU St Clare's on Sunday March 5th.

The aim of the workshop is to help club coaches introduce the key skills of the game in an innovative stimulating fun way. The coaching workshop will run from 11:30am to 15:30pm in St Clare's DCU - with registrations taking place from 11:00am. Workshop fee is just €50 which includes lunch. The Dublin Ladies Senior football team will be demonstrating the skills on the day.

Ladies contact details for 2017 and training times

Please note that starting dates will be confirmed by Managers to players/parents.

Nursery: Joanne Kavanagh 0851682619 with Gary Duffy, Sophia Kavanagh

Saturdays 11am to 12pm

U8:      Mark Donoghue 0868527767 with Maria Lawlor, Margaret Leonard

Saturdays 11am to 12pm

U10:    Rob Greene 0861676270 with Stephen McNulty, Damian O'Brien, Suzanne Lawlor and Tara Treanor

Saturdays 11am to 12pm

U12:    Liam Keogh 0862120100 with Sean O'Brien, Trina Keogh, Clara Jenkinson and Anne O'Keane

Saturdays 10am to 11.30am and Tuesdays 6.30pm to 7.30pm

U14:    Eddie Leonard 0868349272 with Tara Gorman, Garett O'Reilly and Gerry Walsh

Saturdays 9.15am to 11am and Tuesdays 6pm to 7.30pm

U16:    Brian McSorley 0862996799 with Brendan Kavanagh, Martin Byrne, Patrice Evans and Georgina Cruise

Saturdays 9.30am to 11am and Thursdays 6.30pm to 8pm

Adult Ladies:  Robert Hollingsworth 087 617 4046 with Lee Watters, Dave Fitzgerald, Rebecca Hollingsworth and Liz Malone

Wednesdays 7.30pm to 9pm, Fridays 7.30pm to 9pm and Sundays 9am to 10.30am

Underage Team Contact details for 2017              

Football

Nursery Willie Carey 083 8570491

U7       Bosco Guinan 087 7965284

U9       Christian Czwalina      087 4184677

U11     Steven Farrell 086 8147999

U13     Paul O'Brien  087 9088779

U14 (Feile) Paul O'Brien 087 9088779

U15     Paul Fox 087 9447982

U17     John Smith 086 8130477

Hurling                      

Nursery Willie Carey 083 8570491

U7       Gary O'Leary 086 021 9447

U9       John Joe McCoy 087 2388139

U11     Alan Lawlor 086 2784498

U13     Brian Gleeson 086 8281124

U17     John O'Brien 086 4058605                

Online Foundation Hurling course that is being run in the County over the next few weeks. If you would like to do this course please follow the instructions below and complete the online material. On completing the online material Wicklow Coaching & Games will email coaches the date and time of the practical session in their region.

You will first need to register on the E-Learning GAA website http://learning.gaa.ie .

Upon registering on the website, please complete the following steps

- Click on the E-Learning tab on main page.

- Click on the coach option on next page.

- Click Leinster and then Wicklow on the map of Ireland.

- Click the E-Learning tab, open the course Wicklow E-Learning All County Foundation Hurling Course 2017 029 and register

Coaches must complete all sections of the theory online as well as attend a practical session to receive certification.

Please note there is a monitoring system online that will let us know if coaches have engaged with the material online and the course cannot be completed on a tablet device.         

Award 1 Youth/ Adult Football Course will take place in St Patricks GAA Clubhouse on the following Dates & Times:

Tuesday 21st February 7.30pm 10.00pm

Saturday 25th February 10.00am 2.30pm

Tuesday 28th February 7.30pm 10.00

Contact: Paul Garrigan to book your place on this course at paul.garrigan.gda.wicklow@gaa.ie or Mobile: 083 436 6801

CONGRATULATIONS Alan & Suzanne Lawlor Family Membership who are the Winners in our Second Membership Draw this evening.

2017 MEMBERSHIP:

You can pay your membership subscription directly into the club bank account by electronic transfer if you wish. Simply enter the club bank account details and attach a message with your name and membership type e.g. Smith Family, or your membership number if you know it. Please notify Club Treasurer James Phelan (treasurer.stpatricks.wicklow@gaa.ie) or Club Registrar Eddie Leonard when you have done this so that your membership payment can be recorded as paid"

Bank of Ireland

Main St., Wicklow

IBAN: IE22 BOFI 9067 3461 6931 54

BIC: BOFIIE2D

Dates for your Diary:

Fixtures in Dunbur for April:

08/04: 2-00pm County Wicklow v County Louth - U14 Ladies Football

09/04: 11-30am St. Patrick's v Coolboy Div.3 Junior A Football

11/04: 7-00pm St. Patrick's v AGB U16 Ladies Football

15/04: 5-00pm St. Patrick's v Blessington Senior Football League Div 1

25/04: 7-15pm St. Patricks v Blessington U16 Ladies Football

27/04: 7-15pm St. Patricks v A.G.B. U14 Ladies Football

U17 Players and Parents meeting in the Clubhouse on Wed 22nd February at 8:45pm. All players born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 welcome.

Please note that there has also been a change to the nights assigned to specific underage teams.

U13 and U17 matches will now be played on Monday nights

U11 and U15 matches will now be played on Wednesday nights.

Every Sunday Evening 6pm - 7:15pm St Pats U14 Boys football (anyone born in 2003 or 2004) for some fun games to get the season started in the clubhouse Dunbur. It will be in the hall so wear runners. All U14s welcome

Every Thursday for six weeks from 9th February: session 1: 6pm to 6-40pm and session 2: 6-45pm to 7-30pm. St. Pat's and the Camogie Association are running the very successful "Come Hurl with Me" programme for parent and daughters in the hall, Dunbur. This is for girls born in 2007 / 2008 / 2009 / 2010. Helmets and hurls will be available on the night for those who are trying camogie for the first time! For further details and if you would like to get involved please contact; Margaret Leonard on 087 7827881 or Jason Carey on 086 8974898

Starting on Tuesday 7th February U7 indoor hurling from 6-45pm to 7-45pm in the hall. All U7's welcome contact Tomás on 086 1933796

'Gaelic4Teens' Programme Day 1 on 25th February

Each Friday U11 hurling continues in Rathnew Soccer Club Indoor Arena from 7pm.Contact Alan on 086 2784498. Helmets and hurls will be provided for beginners!

Friday 10th February U9 hurling commences in Rathnew Soccer Club Indoor Arena from 6-7pm, contact John Joe on 087 2388139 Helmets and hurls will be provided for beginners!

Cul Camp dates 2017 in St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town this year are

Hurling Cul Camp 3rd July to 7th July 2017

Football Cul Camp 17th July to 21st July 2017

Code of Behaviour courses in Ballinakill Centre of Excellence on Monday 13th February and Monday 20th February at 7.30pm

Please note attendance at these code of Behaviour courses must be pre booked and bookings are taken on a first come basis.

The County Final of the Scór Sinsear (Senior/O.17) Performance and Quiz competition will take place in St Patrick's GAA clubhouse on Friday 3rd March. The Performance (Ceili Dancing, Set Dancing, Instrumental Groups, Ballad Groups, Recitation, Sketch/Dramatic Group Act and Solo Singing) Final will commence at 8pm with the Quiz Final beginning at 9pm.

St. Patricks GAA Club have launched the 2017 version of our Last Man Standing fundraising competition for our club. Hard luck to those of you who fell this week. There were 21 of you in total.  There are 75 people remaining.

For those of you remaining there are no fixtures next weekend Please select your team from the next fixtures round and send it back via text to 087 6214903 or email to [email protected] on or before next Friday 24th February please.  Remember if you chose a Division 1 team in Week 2 you have to choose a Division 2 team in Week 3 and vice versa.

We had no jackpot winners in our Club Lotto this week! Numbers drawn were 6, 9, 24 and 26. The bonus number was 16.

We had one Match three winner Betty Drennan c/o Leitrim Lounge.

Thanks to the weekly Club Lotto Sellers who give up their time to help raise funds for the Club. It's greatly appreciated. The next draw is on Monday 20th February in the Clubhouse. Make sure you buy a ticket each week and you could be the winner of our Match 4 prize €2,000 or Match 5 €10,000 jackpot!

Where are they all now? In 1984 playing Junior Hurling for St. Pat's 3-5 against Carnew 1-5. Kevin Delaney, Ray Hughes, Nicky Crennan, Noel Mooney, Damien Smullen, Martin Egan, Tommy McAulay, Aidan Doyle, David Bury, Shay Ryan, Mick Kinnealy, Ray Browne, Mick O' Reilly, Martin Bolger, John Dunne. Subs: Gerry Farrell for Kinnealy and Kinnealy for McAulay.

Seeing as Pancake Tuesday has "creped" up on us. Please support our Little Warrior Nursery Sponsor Gallagher's SuperValu Wicklow who have gone flippin' mad for pancakes.

Please send any information for club notes to [email protected] before 9pm on Sunday evenings. You can contact St Pats at Facebook St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town or Twitter @StPatsGAAWick

Most Read Stories