Blessington GAA Notes

November 17, 2014

Senior Notes:

Seniors - Our Seniors play Rathnew in the Dunne Cup Final this Sat 22 Nov. Further info will be available on the Club website and supporters texts. The lads have had a brilliant year and it would be the icing on the cake to beat Rathnew. Please support our lads.

Leinster U-17 League - Team played Carlow on Wed night in Baltinglass. The result was Wicklow 0-11 to Carlow 2-09. On Sat 15 the team played Laois who had scored 12-36 in there two previous games. The result was Wicklow 1-07. Laois 2-11. Martin Shannon, Conor Kenny, Aaron Curran and Jack Cotter were part of the squad and got game time in all 3 games.

Ladies - The Ladies Juvenile Section had their presentation night in Blessington Community College on Thursday night. There was a great turnout on the night and the club would like to extend a big thank you to all parents who helped out throughout the year, especially to all our coaches. On the night our U8,10,12 and 14 teams received medals (and more importantly a selection box) from two of our club stars Molly Cullen and Stephen Bohan. Also on the night the winners and runners up of the U6 to U10 Skills Competitions were presented with their awards. The skills winners were: U6 Winner Leah Richardson, Runner Up Katie Behan. U7 Winner Robyn Brennan, Runners Up Erin McMahon and Abigal O'Riordan. U8 Winner Ava Dempsey & Leila Shannon, Runners Up Aisling Brennan, Michaela Garvey, Lauren Richardson and Aoife Cullen. U9 Winner Aoibheann Bailey, Runner Up Elaine O'Dwyer. U10 Winner Bryana Reid, Runner Up Kayleigh McGuire.

Ladies 7's - Results for Week 3 with two games to play and all to play for. Full round of 8 games next week. Matches must start at the scheduled time. Blesso 1 - 12 pts. St Pat's - 12 pts. Coolkenno - 12 pts. Tinahely - 9 pts. St Nicks - 9 pts. Eadestown - 3pts.Blesso 2 - 3 pts and Balto 0 pts. Schedule for next week is as follows - St Nicks v St Pat's @ 5pm. St Pat's v Tinahely @ 5.25pm. Coolkenno v St Nicks @ 5.50pm. Tinahely v Coolkenno @ 6.15pm. Balto v Blesso 2 @ 6.40pm. Eadestown v Balto @ 7.05pm. Eadestown v Blesso 1 @ 7.30pm. Blesso 1 v Blesso 2 @ 7.55pm.

Juvenile Notes

Feile Peil na nOg 2015 - Wicklow, Carlow and Wexford will be hosting the Feile Peile na nOg for 2015. Blessington GAA will be hosting an U14 Girls and Boys teams on the weekend of 26 - 28 June. We will not know who we will be hosting until April. In the meanwhile, there will be lots of planning to do and a Feile committee will be set up. This is a fantastic opportunity for Blessington GAA and the town of Blessington to showcase our facilities and our community. The national Feile is such a big event and the community and the GAA work together to make this a great event for our kids and visitors. It also benefits our local tourism and boosts income to the town. The boys and girls meet friends for life and it is an experience that stays with them all their lives. If any of our local businesses wish to become a main sponsor of the event please contact Martin Shannon on 087 1227045. There will be further updates in future notes.

U13's - Allen Cup - Unfortunately our match v Tinahely could not be played as our pitches were unplayable due to the harsh weather conditions and we had to forfeit the game. We play Baltinglass at home this weekend and our final match will be away to St Kevin's the following weekend. Watch out for updates on our supporters text and Facebook.

Hurling - Michael Dwyers beat Arklow Rocks Parnell by a huge margin on Sun 16 Nov in Tinahely to win U14B hurling Championship Final. There are 6 Blessington players on the winning team. Kevin Quinn, Christopher Murphy, Eoin Higgins, David Williamson and Davy Phibbs. Well done to Kevin Quinn who was Man of the Match.

Hard luck to the Michael Dwyers U16 team who were beaten in their U16A Championship final in Pearse Park, Arklow v Carnew Emmets 1-11 to 1-04 on Sat 15 Nov. The club is represented by David Williamson.

Juvenile Race Day and the Grand Prize Draw - The Grand Draw took place at the Juvenile Race Day on Sun 16 Nov. It was a brilliant day for all who attended. The kids had their faces painted by Jade Walsh and there were plenty of prizes on offer during the day. The results for the individual races will be included in next week's notes. We would like to thank all the sponsors of the Juvenile Race Day and all of the local business who gave spot prizes for the day.  Congratulations to Richard Burke from Hollywood who bought his lucky ticket from Martin Hennessy who won the Dacia Duster which was sponsored by Joe Mallon Motors, Naas. Mairead Murphy from Manor Kilbride won the Dunnes Stores shopping voucher for €2600 and Eoin Devlin who won the Topaz voucher for €1800. Many thanks to all the sponsors and all who sold tickets.

Club Development: If any business would like a sign on the pitch fencing please contact Breda Brophy 0872253892 or John Magee Snr 086 8717483 for all the info.

Lotto: Our Lotto jackpot was not won this week. Numbers drawn 7, 20, 25 and 28. There was 1 match 3 numbers for €300 which was Janet Hendrick c/o John Crimin. Next Lotto draw is in Mileys on 18 November. The jackpot will be €8600. Tickets to be returned by 9.30pm as draw will take place at 10pm during the winter months. We thank you for your continued support returning your tickets and don't forget you can also buy tickets online at www.blessingtongaa.ie. 

Club Gear - The club hope to sell club gear in the near future. We are in the process of putting some photos on the club website. Some people have been enquiring about the Adult hoodie and 1/4 zip tops. If anyone wishes to place an order for Christmas please call Noreen on 087 2858375 asap. Introductory offer - €35.

Training - Advanced Game Sense Football Workshop will take place in Baltinglass GAA Grounds on the 19 Nov at 7.30pm. The workshop will be delivered by Dublin Senior Football Team selector Mick Bohan and will be of major benefit to coaches in the club working with Youth and Adult players. Please contact Noreen if you wish to attend. [email protected].

Stewards Training Course 2015 - A Stewards Training course will take place in Aughrim County Grounds from 9.30am to 2.30pm on Sat 22 Nov and Sat 29 Nov. Anyone interested in taking part in this training please contact Noreen.

General club notes

Birthday wishes to Davy Phibbs. Jack Allen, Cria Cullen, Adam Dwan, Emily Jane Poole Williams, Robyn Charles, Jane Johnson, Ruairi Finan and Simon Creighton.

Remember to keep updated on what is happening in the Club log on to www.blessington.gaa.ie or Facebook. We have a new Club Text Phone for all alerts on Fixtures, Lotto and Club Events, if you wish to be added please text the phone 085 1607808 with your name, you must be 18 or over to receive the texts.

If anyone has anything they would like to include in the notes please email Noreen by 8pm on a Sunday night - [email protected].

Most Read Stories