Blessington GAA notes

October 13, 2014

Senior Notes: 

Senior - What a weekend for the club! On Friday night 10 Oct our Seniors played Baltinglass in the Campus Oil Division 1 league Final. After a great game they won by a score of 2-14 to 0-09. Well done to Patrick Magee who was Man of the Match.

Jun A - On Saturday 11 Oct all roads lead to Arklow for the Junior A Football Final. At half time, Blessington were down by 5 points and the game seemed beyond them. The lads came out in the second half with a different attitude and turned the game around. In what Peter Keogh described as "one of the greatest comebacks he has ever seen", Blessington made a resurrection and came back to win the game 1-09 to 0-14. Barry O'Donovan was inspirational and was a worthy winner of Man of the Match.

Jun C - The team would like to thank Kevin and Kathleen for everything they did for the team during the year.

Gaelic For mothers and others (G4M&O)

Blessington's Gaelic for mothers and others team will be playing in the All Ireland Blitz on Saturday the 28th Oct . It's sure to be a big day out with more than 1200 players participating. The Blitz is in Portmarnock's  Naomh Mearnog Club starting at 12:30. For anybody interested in joining the G4M&O's,  training will continue throughout the winter on Wednesday evenings at 7pm on the Astro. Open to anybody age 18 or over no previous playing experience required.

Juvenile Notes:

U8's - We have a challenge match next Sunday 19th against Baltinglass. Match starts at 11am in Baltinglass. Please arrive early. Both clubs are playing an U7 and U8 team. No training next Saturday due to match next day. Congrats from U8's to Senior and Junior A teams on their respective wins.

U8/U9's - U9s and U10s had a very busy week this week. The U9s played two matches this weekend. First up was Eadestown in a friendly. We were missing a few regulars so had a number of U8s stepping up, David, Ben,Tony and Luke who fought like tigers. All bodes well for next year's U10 team! After 40 minutes of great football it was a draw.

Training again this Wednesday at 6pm. The U9s have their final match this Saturday in Sallins. Details to follow. Coming to the end of a great season and the coaches are busy preparing for hibernation. Congrats to the Junior As in Arklow. They gave an inspirational performance in the second half and it is a great lift to the young fellas to see Finn Behan parading the trophy among his peers...

North Kildare League

U9 - Hurling - Blessington U9 hurlers played their last game in the NKL away to Kilcock this morning. Kilcock started well and led 4-3 at half time. Kilcock then pushed on and build up a 6 score lead in the third quarter. Blessington to their credit never gave up and finished the stronger team, but in the end lost 12 scores to 9. Great performances for Blessington from Max Kehoe, Finn Behan, Senan Gardner and top scorer Brian Richardson.

U9 - Football - We played Allenwood in the North Kildare league on Sun 12 Oct. A tough match and again missing a few lads who were tied up in an important hurling match this morning in Kilcock. But our charges gave it their all. Man of the match performance from Finn Jordan who scored 7 great points and special mention to Dylan Friel who ran himself into the ground. Well done to all.

U10 - Football - The U10's had their match on Sat 11 Oct in the North Kildare League away against Ardclough. All told it was a relatively easy victory 2-10 to 1-05 and again the lads put in a great display. Man of the Match James Dooley with Rory Cullen outstanding in defence. Upfront Adam Williamson and Alex ponies did well.

U11  - Hurling - Blessington had a 1 score win over Rathangan. The team played very well in the first half and led by 6 points. In the second half Rathangan came back and levelled with the final appointed free by Austin Brennan sealed the victory. Sam Gough did very well in goals and was well assisted by Marc Keogh,  Jack Sargeant and Conor Richardson

Juvenile Fixtures at a glance: 

Sat 18 Oct - NKL - U11 football at home to Carbury at 11:30

Sat 18 Oct - U7/U8 football challenge away to Baltinglass at 11:00

Grand Prize Draw - The club is running a major fundraiser for the club. The Grand Draw tickets are €20 and 3 for €50. Ist Prize is a Dacia Duster, 2nd Prize 1 years shopping in Dunnes Stores Blessington to the value of €2600 and 3rd Prize is 1 years Motor fuel from Topaz to the value of €1800 plus other fantastic prizes. The ticket also entitles you to entry into the races in Punchestown for the Juvenile Race Day on Sunday 16th Nov. Tickets are available from all committees or your team mentors. Your support would be appreciated and someone will be driving a beautiful Dacia Duster. If you're not in you can't win.

Club Development: Pitch advertising is going very well, if you would like a sign on the pitch fencing please contact Breda Brophy 0872253892 or John Magee Snr 086 8717483 for all the info.

Lotto: Our club lotto was NOT won on Tues 7 Oct. Numbers drawn were 5, 10, 13 and 18. There were 6 lucky people who matched 3 numbers and each receives €50 - Veronica and Susan Kilmartin, M and B Bawn, David Reid, Cillian Behan, Maura and Breda Reid and Eoin Howlin. Our next jackpot will be €8200. Next draw is on Tues 21 Oct in Bealins. We thank you for your continued support returning your tickets and don't forget you can also buy tickets online at www.blessingtongaa.ie. 

Development Draw - Our club draw for tickets bought in the county development draw $50 winners as follows: Jim and Betty Keogh, Darren Cusack, Frank Grogan, Paddy Murphy (Ballymore), Ronan Hennessy, John Coogan, Breda Hudson, Davy Ryall, The Big Five, Bernie Dunne, Jim Schofield, Sinead Johnston, Nick Sheerin, Rob and Christy Walsh, Terry O'Dwyer. John Cremin, Frank Byrne, Ivan Smith, Derek Brogan and Patricia Bereton. The draw was done at the recent lotto draw. Well done to all and thank you for your support.

General club notes

·   Birthday wishes to Dessie Nolan, Fay Tyler, Alex Walsh, Jake Wilson, Jordan Finn, Kate Loughman and Caoimhe Gilligan.

·   Please remember little Conor Clow (Pete Nolan's Grandson) in your thoughts and prayers who has returned to hospital after getting an infection and he was operated on yesterday. The club sends best wishes to Conor and his family and we hope he has a speedy recovery.

·   Remember to keep updated on what is happening in the Club log on to www.blessington.gaa.ie or Facebook. We have a new Club Text Phone for all alerts on Fixtures, Lotto and Club Events, if you wish to be added please text the phone 085 1607808 with your name, you must be 18 or over to receive the texts.

·  If anyone has anything they would like to include in the notes please email Noreen by 8pm on a Sunday night - [email protected].

Most Read Stories