Blessington club notes

September 09, 2019

Lotto –Next draw 10 Sep. Jackpot €5600. Tickets available from players, committee members and businesses around the town.

Bingo – The nights are closing in and time to pencil in your local bingo every Wed evening. Next Bingo on Wed 11 Sept at 8.15pm sharp in The Avon. Cost €10 includes jackpot and flyer sheets. Jackpot now €3200! Please spread the word and support.

Seniors – The lads meet Tinahely on Sun 15 Sept in the Quarter Finals in Aughrim at 1.15pm. Please come out and show your support to the lads.

Juniors – Our Junior A team are up against Shillelagh/Coolboy in Ballinakill on Fri 13 Sept at 7.45pm. Please come out and support the lads.

Physio - Upstairs in the clubhouse this coming week on Tues 10 Sep at 7pm. Adults needing full physio appointments MUST go through Pat Molloy and Juvenile through Barry Cotter.

Ladies

Wicklow Ladies Adult Finals - What a massive success hosting our Ladies Finals on Sat 7 Sept. It wouldn’t have happened without the Trojan work put in and such brilliant club camaraderie. Thank you so much to everyone that helped out to make it a super event with so much praise for us as the host club. From Maura organizing the schedule of events (top notch), to all the volunteers that contributed with the following: parents and coaches clean up before & after, providing refreshments for all officials & teams, car park stewards Annmarie Michael & Paddy O’D & co (I think it’s the busiest I’ve ever seen the pitch so massive credit the parking system was excellent). Our kitchen helpers, umpires and Kim for helping with the mini games & scoreboard. Our shop was a huge success and wouldn’t be without 3 amazing ladies Noreen Lisa & Irene fair play ye are some women!Thanks, a mil to Conor Finan for having the pitch looking superb & Pa Brophy & Tommy O’Hagan for marking it. Thanks to Ivan Smyth who provided our sound system for the day excellent job as always.Our young program sellers were on hand all day.Just a massive buala bus all round as it’s impossible to individually thank everyone. Our U8’s U10’s & U12’s was fantastic in the mini games. Great to see so many young Blesso players up getting a feel for the occasion they’ll be spending many a year to come playing in!! Please god it’ll be Blesso taking part in the football side next year.Thank you all. Jess. Well done to the winners – Baltinglass won the Junior title, Valleymount won the Intermediate final and finally Tinahely won 5 in a row. Hard luck to AGB and St Pats.

Juniors – At home v Ballymore on Tues 10 Sept at 6.45pm.

U8’s – At home v Kilcullen x 2 on Tues 10 Sept at 6.30pm.

Gaelic 4 Mothers & Others – G4M team is looking for new members. If you fancy trying something new and meeting some new people, please come along and try it out on Tues evenings at 7pm.

Juveniles

Leinster Blitz –Blessington GAA hosted our 4th annual boys’ blitz for U8,9,10,11 on Sunday 8th September with 32 teams taking part from all over Leinster. Kill, St Marys Saggart, Celbridge, Edenderry, Hollywood, Thomas Davis, St Kevin’s, Cuala, Eire Og, Dunlavin, St Judes, Two Mile House. It was a brilliant day with emails of thanks from the clubs saying that they had a superb time and delighted in taking part in a blitz that was so well organised. Photos are on our Facebook page. Thanks to David Boothman for the photos. Report next week.

Rounders - Blessington GAA are looking at the possibility of starting Rounders teams for juvenile ages (boys & girls). It's an official GAA sport and even has own Féile. If any parent is interested in training and attending coaching, please contact Kevin Gilmore on 0872324197.

U17’s –Next game Rd 2 on Mon 9 Sep at home v Baltinglass at 6.4pm.

U15’s – Blessington GAA U15 lads had a great time on Sat 6 Sept kayaking in Russborough ahead of the final couple of championship games. Big thank you to CP Sports for a really enjoyable day on the lakes and to Annmarie Gough and Julie Ann Williamson for organising the day. Div 2 Championship Round 2 (back match) away v St Kevins’s at 6.45pm. on Wed 11 Sept.  

U13’s – The U13 boys had a great training session on Thurs 5 Sept with Wicklow GDA Paul Garrigan. The lads really enjoyed the session. Thanks to Paul for coming up to Blesso.

U13’s – On Mon 9 Sep both U13 teams are out. At home Div 1A Group 2 play St Pats at 6.45pm. Div 3 Group 1 play away to Eire Og in Laragh at 6.45pm. 

U12’s – Away v Maynooth 2 on Tues 10 Sept at 6.45pm.

U11’s – Blessington GAA U11 White squad battled to a hard-fought win away to a good Bray Emmets team. With conditions being very windy, good football was hard to play but the lads dug deep to finish out on the right side of the score. Blesso 4-8 (28) Bray 7pt (21) The Man of the Match award was shared with top performances from Fiacha Duffy and Oisín Quigley. Blessington GAA U11 Blue team had a win v Eire Og in a windy Greystones on Mon 2 Sept. U11’s NKL at home on Sat 14 Sept at 4.30pm.

U10’s – Our U10’s was back in NKL action against a very good Balyna team on Fri 6 Sept at home. The lads started well but the opposition then got on top in the middle third but Blesso finished out the stronger team in the end winning 2-14 to 2-4. Callum Dempsey gave an exhibition at full back in the second half. Well done lads and the Blues look forward to the Leinster Blitz on Sunday and we are hoping for a big support from everyone in the club.

U9’s – At home v Naas x 2 at 3.30pm on Sat 14 Sept.  

U7’s – At home v Maynooth x 2 at 2.30pm on Sat 14 Sept. Last football Go Games U7 ONLY Monster Blitz of the year takes place on Sat 14 Sept in COE Ballinakill starting at 10am.

Academy – Only a couple of weeks left of our academy. Depending on weather it will wind up around Halloween. If your child is 4 or over, please send them down to the astro at 10am on Sat to try out for free.

Hurling

County U15’s – Well done to the Wicklow U15 hurling team who beat Meath in the All Ireland intercounty Hibernia Cup on Sat 30 August in Leixlip. There were 6 Michael Dwyers players incl 4 from Blessington GAA - Sam Gough, Austin Brennan, Adam Williamson and Conor Richardson. Also well done to Coach Pat Brennan.

Minor Hurling – The Michael Dwyers Minor team had a great win over North Wicklow Gaels 1-11 to 8-8 and are now in the semi final on 21 Sept. The club lads on the team are Jake O’Kelly, Oisin Brogan and Conor Gilligan.

U13’s – Fantastic win tonight by the U13 Hurlers in a brilliant display of hurling with Martin Walsh at the helm. Final score: Michael Dwyers 5-11 Eire Óg White 1-1. Well done boys especially our club lads Luke Higgins, Dean Carey, Philip Hopkins, Patrick Balfe, Max Keogh, Ronán Smyth, Thomas Walsh, Senan Gardner and Oisin O'Neill.

U11's – Western Gaels v Eire Og White in Blessington for double points at 6.45pm.

U7/U9’s – Well done to our players, coaches and parents who took part in the Monster hurling blitz in Ballinakill on Sat 7 Sep.

U8’s – At home on Sun 15 Sept at 10am v Clane.

Clothing Collection ongoing - collecting good quality second-hand clothing suitable for re-use. Please fill as many black bin bags as you can – the more we collect, the more our club receives. If you are unable to bring them to the GAA grounds, we can arrange collection. Please contact: John Magee Snr 086 871 7483 or Breda Brophy 087 225 3892. Thank you for your support.

Online shop – https://www.oneills.com/shop-by-team/gaa/ireland/blessington-gaa.html. 

Blessington GAA is now on Instagram. Keep up to date with all the action by following us - Username @blessingtongaa.

Remember to keep updated on what is happening in the Club log on to Blessington GAA on Facebook and on Twitter @blessingtongaa. If you wish to be on the Blessington GAA Supporters Whats App please text your name to 087 2858375. 

Most Read Stories