Blessington club notes

April 08, 2019

Lotto –Next draw on Wed 10 April in The Avon. Jackpot €3400. The Lotto will be held this Wed to coincide with our bingo.  Thanks for continued support.

Bingo - Our Bingo will commence at 8.15pm in The Avon. Shuttle bus available from various locations in Blessington €2.00. Books and flyer sheets €10.

Club Registration – For anyone who has not registered yet forms are available on our website. You can pay online https://member.clubforce.com/memberships_cart_m.asp?LL_ID=646&intMF_ID=3313.

This is a new website and Google have not replaced the old website address yet so Blessingtongaa.ie will not work. Please use the link above.

Seniors - Our Seniors played Rathnew at home on Sunday morning in the league. Although both teams were missing players, we still had a strong team out and were looking forward to the game. In fairness, both teams made somewhat of a shaky start with both losing possession and getting turned over. The scores did come with Rathnew opening with a point from a free. We settled in then ourselves and opened up a 0-7 to 0-3 point lead at half time. As the saying goes, a game of two halves! This was it! We seemed to take our foot off the gas and let Rathnew gradually back into it by giving away 3 goals again crucial stages with some poor defensive errors. Against Rathnew you can't afford to do that. We managed to still tick on 6pts but ran out of time to lose by 3.09 to 0.13. Up next is Baltinglass in 2 weeks. S.Carroll 0- 2, A. McLoughlin 0-2, J Nolan 0-.2, P. O'Connor 0-2, K.Hanlon 0-1, K.J.Rogers 0-1, M. O'Connor 0-3.

Juniors Div 3 – After trailing in the first half the lads really upped their game. They were 3 points up when the visitors St Pat’s rattled the back of the net in the last kick of the game to level. Blessington 2-11 St Pats 3-08. Next up is a home match v Eire Og on Fri 19 Apr.

Juniors Div 4 – Blessington home v Dunlavin on Thurs 18 Apr at 7.15pm.

All Ireland PPS Senior A Decider- Such hard luck to CBS Naas to lose the Final v St Michael’s Enniskillen by the bare minimum. 1-12 to 1-11 on Sat 6 Apr in Croke Park. Our club lads are a credit to Blessington GAA – Conall O’Gallchobhair, Ethan Cotter and Kevin Quinn. Thanks to Billy Lenehan from Billy’s Bus who ran a free bus to Croke Park on the day to bring supporters to the match.

Physio - Upstairs in the clubhouse on Weds at 7pm. Adults needing full physio appointments MUST go through Pat Molloy and Juvenile through Barry Cotter.

Ladies

Wicklow Seniors Ladies – Hard luck to the ladies who were beaten away v Longford on Sun 7 Apr. Well done to Kim Connors.

U14 girls - Brilliant win for our U14 Blue team Tuesday night at home v Tinahely 3-8 to 3-2. An excellent team performance EVERY single player put in a fine display - just outstanding, the work rate the determination the turnovers the blocking the forward link up play, lovely football to watch a massive well done girls. So many could have got the POTM but the well-deserved recipients were the brilliant Aoibheann and Aisling. Super start to the league and great home support in baltic weather conditions.

Team & Scorers: Anna Carlyon, Grace Swan, Orlaith Ni Gallchobair, Roisin Doyle, Erin McMahon, Elaine O’Dwye, Aoibheann Bailey, Emily Rose O’Toole, Leila Shannon, Aisling Brennan 2-2, Sadhbh Fisher 0-3, Aibhe King 1-1, Caoimhe Gilligan, Robyn Brennan 0-1, Aoife Cullen 0-1, Holly Byrne, Ava Jordan Dempsey, Emma Stynes, Juliette Gough, Clara Keane, Ava O’Driscoll.

Juveniles

Blessington GAA Easter Camp – Mon and Tues 15 and 16 Apr 10am to 2pm. Cost 1 Child - €20. 2 children €35. 3 children €55. 4 children €70. What to bring – Packed lunch, Runners/Football boots, Playing and wet gear, gumshields. Age 5 – 13 welcome. All member and no-members welcome. To register contact Jess 0868602822 and Kim 0852079649.

U15’s – U15's played 1st League game away on Wed Apr against An Tochar on a wet cold night windy night. Blessington lads played some good football with good passing and retaining possession considering the conditions and came away with a win on a scoreline of 6:09 to 4:06. A good start to the season and hopefully it continues. 8 players scored and 3 players scored of their weaker foot which is testament to the work they are doing on both sides. Well done to Brian Richardson and Finn Behan from the U14's who played on the Michael Dwyers team who qualified for Feile and also to Thomas Walsh from the U13's. Next game is Wed 10 Apr at home V St Kevins. Training Wed 7pm and Sun 6pm. 

U13’s – We had a great win on Sun 7 Apr at home v Ratoath in the Leinster Cross Border League Shield Semi Final.  The lads started very strong and took a good few scores, but Ratoath battled right to the end in a very entertaining game and Blessington won the match by 6 points. Thanks very much to Ratoath for travelling and Pat Dunne for refereeing. On Mon 8 Apr the lads are straight back at it with the first games of the U14 Wicklow League with the blue squad away to An Tochar and White squad home to Eire Og. Good luck to both teams and coaches.

U10’s NKL – The U10’s travelled to Carbury in our second NKL fixture. They put in a very strong performance to dominate from start to finish. Special thanks to the U9’s who helped out on the day due to a lot of 10’s squad being away. 2 wins from 2 now and 2 players really stood out on the day team captain for the day Fiacha Duffy led by example and Jake Wilson who scored 2-1 for himself. The lads are back training Monday night looking forward to the fixtures

U8’s NKL - We played Clane in U8's NKL on Sat 6 Apr. It was probably the toughest match we have had this year but showed great work rate and came out on top in one match and drew the other. Well done to all. Next week we head to Croke Park to play in the Leinster blitz.

Academy – The Academy has started off really well this year with an average of 40 kids per week. We are getting great support from both men’s and ladies senior teams who come in and do some great work with the kids so thank you very much. Our new healthy eating drive has gotten fantastic feedback from both kids and parents. Thank you Lisa for the fruit each week. Everyone (coaches included) are absolutely loving it. Academy for boys and girls aged 4 to 6 is held every Sat at 10am. There is no charge for the first couple of weeks for new kids. Further info from Graham 0876393125.

Hurling

Feile 2019 - Michael Dwyers are Wicklow Feile 2019 Winners. Well done to coaches (esp David Richardson) and team especially our lads Finn Behan, Brian Richardson and Thomas Walsh.

Match 1 - HT. Michael Dwyers 2-5 - Glenealy 0-1. FT. Michael Dwyers 5-7 - Glenealy 0-2.

Match 2 - HT. Michael Dwyers 2-2 - Northern Gaels 0-3. FT. Michael Dwyers 2-5 - Northern Gaels 0-4.

Match 3 - Michael Dywers 5-7 to Northern Gael’s 1-0. Dwyers Wicklow feile champions!

Hurling – Girls and boys of all abilities aged 6 and upwards are invited to join the Blessington GAA Hurling Club where you will learn to play an exciting sport in a fun and relaxed environment. All ages train regularly. If any child is interested please join our WhatsApp group b sending your name and phone number and email to Jack Whelan @0876678936 and we will keep you up to date with everything that is happening with hurling in Blessington, Valleymount, Kilbride and Lacken. Volunteers are always needed, so if any Mums or Dads wishing to relive their glory days on the pitch are welcome to help. Send your details to Jack and register your interest. All welcome. We look forward to meeting all our new players.

Wicklow Cul Camps 2018 – www.wicklowculcamps.gaa.ie. Only 200 places for football camp (8 July) and 150 for the hurling camp (22 July).

Wicklow Hurling Academy Easter Camp - Wicklow Coaching and games are hosting an Easter training camp for all boys Under 13 / 14 and 15. Thurs Apr 18 and Thurs Apr 25 in Ballinakill COE 11am - 3pm.  

REGISTRATION on both mornings at 10:45. Players will need to bring •Hurls / Helmets •runners (for the gym) •boots (for the field), •training gear, •rain gear, •change of clothes, •Lunch and Water. For further information please contact Jonathan (083) 364 5136 Philip (086) 044 2762.

West Wicklow Wellbeing Workshop - Lisa Jackson - Blessington GAA new Health and Wellbeing Officer would like to promote the West Wicklow Wellbeing Workshop among our members and the wider Blessington Community. The first workshop was held on Thurs 4 April and it was very well attended. The second session which will cover Stress Anger, Anxiety and Stress will be held again in The Avon at 7.30pm – 8.30pm. There will be 3 more sessions over the next 3 Thursday evenings. This is FREE OF CHARGE to attend but places need to be booked. Please contact Lisa on 086 3767534 to book a place. Over 18's only. This is a terrific workshop and for it to be held in Blessington is a great opportunity for everyone to avail of it. Many thanks to Barry and The Avon for providing the room and refreshments on the night.

Wicklow GAA Race Day - Blessington GAA will reserve a table for 10. If anyone is interested in attending, please let Noreen know asap as there is only 2 seats left. 0872858375. WH Scott Lifting Wicklow GAA Race Day takes place in Punchestown on Saturday 4th May. Tickets are €150 each. This fundraising event is a crucial part of our overall commercial strategy for the year, and its success will benefit all facets of Wicklow GAA.

Scor Sinsear 2019 – Good luck to Pat Brennan, Barry Behan, Pat Molloy and Tommy McDonnell who will represent Wicklow and Blessington GAA at the Scor Sinsear quiz in Castlebar on Sat 13 Apr. The very best of luck to you lads.

Condolences – Sincere sympathies to Gerry Devlin and family on the passing of his Mam Joan. Ar dheis De go raibh a h'anam.

Comhghairdeas to Austin Brennan, Caoimhe Kinsella and Craig Maguire on winning €150 grants towards their trip to the Gaeltacht 2019.

Confirmation – Best wishes to all the girls and boys from Gael Scoil na Lochanna who celebrate their confirmation on Thurs 11 Apr.

Car parking at the pitch - Can all who use the Blessington GAA Astro and Pitches please Reverse In, Drive Out please? There are a lot of children who use the grounds and they have a habit of just running out. Please respect the job that our Health and Safety Officer Annmarie (or anyone else assigned to assist with parking) must do and if you are asked to move your vehicle and park correctly please do so without a fuss.

New website – Log onto our new website Blessington GAA. (https://sites.google.com/view/blessingtongaaclub/home?authuser=0)

Clothing Collection ongoing - collecting good quality second hand clothing suitable for re-use. Please fill as many black bin bags as you can – the more we collect, the more our club receives. If you are unable to bring them to the GAA grounds, we can arrange collection. Please contact: John Magee Snr 086 871 7483 or Breda Brophy 087 225 3892. Thank you for your support.

Online shop – https://www.oneills.com/shop-by-team/gaa/ireland/blessington-gaa.html

Remember to keep updated on what is happening in the Club log on to Blessington GAA on Facebook and on Twitter @blessingtongaa. If you wish to be on the Blessington GAA Supporters Whats App please text your name to 087 2858375. 

Most Read Stories