Blessington club notes

September 03, 2018

Lotto - No winner of Blessington GAA lotto. Numbers 1-5-7-21. One winner matched 3 numbers. Steven McManus receives €600 (rollover from last draw). Next draw 11th Sept in Mick Reids. Jackpot €2400. Thank for continued support. Div 1 - Renault Senior Championship - Blessington v St Patrick's in Joule Park, Aughrim on Sun 9 Sep at 4pm. Please support the lads for this very important game.

Ladies

Blessington GAA Ladies 25 Anniversary Celebrations - Blessington LGFA Celebrated 25 Years of Ladies Football on Saturday 25th August. With the sun shining we had the most enjoyable event at our pitches from 2-6pm. With an action-packed afternoon and a massive crowd in attendance, we started proceedings with an opening parade around the grounds led by our wonderful bagpiper Eoin Hanratty with our juvenile girls singing Amhrann Na bhFiann.

Kicking off the first of our match schedule was the hilarious Mothers vs Daughters game. With neither side willing to let themselves be defeated this was a game of bragging rights for the youngsters who came out winners, which I assure you had nothing to do with the fact they outnumbered the mammies!! Featuring plenty of laughs and battles, it was the perfect start to the football action. Great to see so many taking part and no doubt there were a few sore bodies afterwards!

Next up was the Coaches vs G4M&O match. This one had as much tempo much to the surprise of everyone! From Damian Flanagan kicking the score of the game to divorce proceedings for Roisin & Ruairdhi O'Brien after a dirty tackle, this was a most enjoyable contest. The coaches proved too strong and won by a few scores AND with the help of referee Tom Fisher sending Jess Brennan to the sin bin!! Card happy he also gave Maura Reid her marching orders just before full time.

The afternoon continued with many activities, mini matches at all age groups U8, U10, U12, U14 and U16. Also busy was our games corner with Obstacle Courses run by Glen O'Kelly and helpers, plus much more fun including human hungry hippo, caterpillar game, tug o war and penalty shootout. Thanks to Kim Connors for looking after the penalties and donating one of her Wicklow jerseys to the winner Anna Carlyon.

While all the events were taking place ,we had plenty more going on around the grounds, with Sinead Carroll and her crew doing lovely blue and white face painting and nail polish. We had grandparents corner, a memorabilia shop with great items for sale to mark the occasion. Our amazing Nostalgia gallery compiled by Maura Reid, Seanna Pender and Karen Walsh was one of the highlights of the day, where everyone had a look down memory lane with the large amount of photos, newspaper clippings, match programs, old team kits etc. We had a giant poster to sign as a keepsake for the clubhouse and it is well & truly full of signatures. Guess the amount of blue and white bon bons game was a popular one and the big jar of 2506 was won by Stephen Hanlon. Thanks to all our food providers on the day, Wilson's butchers, Donut wall, Tiger ice-cream and our ladies in the club shop Ann-Marie Nolan and Noreen Keegan Kavanagh.

The main match of the day was a "save the best for last" battle! The Silver Stars vs Blesso Babes game was a 90's selection team against the 2018/more current team with the current team playing in willies. What a ding dong battle it was. With the wellies proving difficult to play in for the Blesso Babes with many of them slipping and losing boots, the Silver Stars were able to take control. Having a huge number of big name players returning to play football together one more time, these ladies proved they have never lost it. You would never think from looking at the "oldies" that it has been as long as 10-15 years since some of them played! We think some of them might have slipped referee Noel Kinsella a few bob, as every decision went in their favour. Although the youngsters proved to be the fittest, it was the Silver Stars who really outclassed them in the football department and won on a scoreline of 2-8 to 1-5. Great to see how well these ladies still gel as a team and fine performances from Mary Whelan, Marie Kavanagh, Julie Fitzmaurice, Caitriona Grace, Brid O'Neill, Jill Heatley and Sharon Kelly. Best for the Blesso babes were Emma Reid, Amy Ryan, Anna Vas, Shona O'Connor, Molly Cullen and Niamh Cullen. Club Chairman John Williamson presented the Cup to captain Sharon Broderick. Massive thanks to our managers who also returned for one day only - Paddy O'Connor, Mickey O'Connor, Steven Bohan and Kevin Hanlon.

The biggest of thank yous to all our volunteers on the day, parents, players, past managers and the following people: Ivan Smyth for the wonderful job on sound system as always. Barry & Phyllis Hamilton for capturing everything on camera for more memories to the collection and David Boothman for taking drone footage of the whole day. We say sincere thank you to our Sponsors of the event, Heart Safety Solutions, Alan & Brigid Auld, Murphy's Bar and to all who donated to Blessington LGFA.

On to the night part of the celebrations in Avon Ri, we had a really wonderful evening. Joined by Special Guests, Brendan Martin and his lovely wife Mairead, Dominic Leech president of Leinster LGFA and Paraic Corbett 1993 Chairman of Wicklow Ladies County Board when Blessington Ladies was founded. Ladies Chairperson Jess Brennan welcomed everyone to the venue and thanked everyone for their support & contribution to the club over the 25 years and all who helped mark the tremendous Silver Anniversary occasion. Everyone joined in a round of applause for our good friends no longer with us, in particular special mentions went to John O'Connor, who was one of the three amigos O'Connor brothers who founded the club and were the first management. Also gone but not forgotten are proud club men and friends of the Ladies section, Mick Curran and Jack Boothman. Proceedings were then handed over to Michael Sargent who was our excellent MC. Michael gave a run down of the history of the Ladies club and spoke of the remarkable successes and achievements over the years. Our special guests all gave fantastic speeches and credited the work done and continuing to be done. A mighty achievement and amazing milestone to reach with so much to celebrate in that time.

Presentations followed, first up was players of the match- both sponsored by Mae Curran. For the Coaches vs G4M&O game the player of the match was Michelle Richardson. Silver Stars vs Blesso Babes player of the match was the evergreen Julie Fitzmaurice.

A big feature of the night was our Silver All Stars Team. Not an easy job to pick but the 15 players selected by all ex managers from the 25 years were: No.1 Emer Miley No.2 Breda Reid No.3 Sharon Broderick No.4 Shauna Byrne No.5 Marie Kavanagh No.6 Carly Ellis No.7 Maura Reid No.8 Caitiona Grace No.9 Julie Fitzmaurice No.10 Jess Carroll No.11 Niamh Carroll No.12 Molly Cullen, No.13 Jill Heatley No.14 Breda McEvoy No.15 Jenny Foster. The ladies were presented with lovely Blue sashes by Brendan Martin Dominic Leech and Paraic Corbett. Our awards finished up with Kim Connors presenting Michael Sargent with a football signed by all the players in recognition of Michael being a fantastic Chairman for 17 of our 25 years.

Massive credit to Avon Ri for the stunning venue so well decorated and for the lovely food. We also had a beautiful cake made by Tanya Vas. We danced the night away with amazing band Vintage Vibes and DJ.

ON CELEBRATING OUR 25th ANNIVERSARY, Blessington LGFA sincerely thank each ans every one of our players, managers, coaches, supporters, Sponsors, friends and fellow members for your wonderful support and contribution in helping keep ladies football well and truly alive in our fantastic club…..here's to many more memorable days in the BLUE & WHITE

G4M&O - Mon 3 Sep at home v Nurney 7.30pm.

U14's- It was a roller-coaster of a week for our two U14 girl teams. From the highs of Tuesday night with great wins over Baltinglass and AGB to the lows of the county finals on Saturday 1 Sep in Bray.  Our Blue team had an excellent game against a strong Baltinglass team on Tuesday night to quality for the County Final on the 1st of September. It was a strong team performance with some great individual performance. Final score Blessington 10 - 05, Baltinglass 4 - 09. On to the final where we faced our old rivals Tinahely in the U14 A Cup Final in Bray. We started brightly and were unlucky in front of goal while Tinahely got a couple of scores at crucial times. Our girls kept battling right to the end but Tinahely retained their title.

Our White team also put up in an excellent performance on Tuesday night vs AGB. It was a very tight first half with both defences on top. Blessington went into half team leading by the minimum on a scoreline of of 1 - 01 to 0 - 03. Our team started the 2nd half very strongly, battling for every ball. The entire 15 girls playing brilliantly with a final score of Blessington 4 - 11, AGB 1 - 3. The White team qualifying for the U14 B Shield final following this win played a physically stronger and faster team from An Tochar. Roundwood led from the start to finish but our young team kept tackling and battling all the way to the end with some great scores at the end of the second half. We want to wish Orlaith, Leila and Caelann a speedy recovery from injuries picked up in the finals. We would like to thank all the parents and supporters for coming out to Bray to support our U14 squad and for their support throughout the season. Training continues on Tuesday & Thursday nights at 7pm.

U12's - Topping off our wonderful 25th Anniversary, the celebrations continued in Ballinakill on Sun 26 Aug when our U12 girls claimed their respective Championship titles.

First up was our brilliant White Team vs Ashford in the B Shield final. Our girls already unbeaten in the whole campaign proved too strong for a great Ashford team. From start to finish we dominated the match with some excellent defending and tireless work in midfield. Special mention to U10 player Katie Behan who was outstanding with a personal score tally of 2-8, this was only Katie's second U12 game! Having been beaten in last years final this meant the world to us when the final whistle went. The shield was presented to Captain Michaela Garvey who made a lovely speech with three cheers for Ashford. Score 2-11 to 2-1. Team & scorers: Ciara Tracey, Lauren Richardson, Michaela Garvey, Shannon McDonnell, Cria Cullen, Clodagh Nugent, Katie Quinlan, Abbie O'Riordan 0-1, Asia Duggan 0-1, Olivia Quigley, Emma Carpenter, Aoife Kinsella, Emily Cully, Katie Behan 2-8, Katelyn Elliott, Ciara O'Neill 0-1, Aimee Hill, Ciara Whelan, Erin Buttner, Holly Teague and Ellen Williamson.

Our Blue Team v Tinahely in the A Cup Final was an absolute thriller of a game. Our girls were out of the traps like something possessed as they played with sheer determination and battled hard and first to every ball. We got an early lead but Tinahely being a great little team pulled it back and left only 2 points in it at halftime. The second half was as gutsy as the first and we couldn't be prouder of our girls with the pride and passion they showed as a team. It truly was one of the best performances they've every given. Each and every one played a huge part in the victory on a score line of 4-5 to 1-7.  Team & scorers: Anna Carlyon, Grace Swan, Ava Jordan Dempsey, Caoimhe Gilligan, Roisin Doyle, Erin McMahon, Niamh Brennan, Leila Shannon 0-1, Ava O'Driscoll 0-1, Robyn Brennan, Aisling Brennan 2-2, Aibhe King, Aoife Cullen, Sophie O'Driscoll 2-1, Clara Keane, Ella Richardson, Leah Richardson, Paige McDonald, Eilis Reid and Susie Cronin. The Cup was presented to Captain Aisling Brennan who also gave a great speech and thanked everyone involved and Tinahely for a great sporting game.

What an achievement two years in a row reaching both finals and this time taking the double. We couldn't be any prouder of these amazing young ladies. They have worked so hard and deserve every bit of the success. It was a credit to Ladies football to see the performances they gave. We had an incredible entrance back into Blesso with a convoy of possibly 40 cars beeping the girls through the town!! The girls enjoyed pizzas and food from Apache in Mick Reid's thanks so much to both for everything. We had our Player of the Match presentations (which were the most difficult ones we ever had to pick!) and thanked everyone who in any way was part of the fantastic season. White Team POTM was the amazing Lauren Richardson. Blue Team POTM was outstanding full back Ava Jordan Dempsey. What a year thanks a mil to all. 

U8's - Super performance from both U8 teams in the blitz in Kilcoole on 1 Sep winning all 6 matches. Great teamwork, passing and effort. The hard work they put in at training is really paying off. The future of ladies football is in safe hands.

U10's - What a morning of football in Kilcoole for our U10 girls in Kilcoole on 1 Sep.  Well done to everyone who travelled. A few injuries along the way against a tough Rathnew side, but the girls never gave up at all. A great bunch altogether. Best wishes to Cria (bang on the head) Orlaith T (bang on the arm) Leah Ricker (bang on the tooth) and Eimear Doyle (burst lip). Ye are all superstars. 5.5 Wins out of 6, isn't too bad.

Juvenile boys

Blessington GAA Leinster blitz - Blessington GAA are hosting our annual Blitz for U8, U9, U10 and U11 boys on Sunday 9th September. Registration will be from 10:00am. Games starting 11am sharp and everything will be finished on time so supporters can travel to Aughrim to watch our seniors in action at 4pm. In total, 32 teams from four counties will play with eight matches in play at all times. Please come up to the pitch and show your support. We would also like to thank everyone who supported our bag pack in Dunnes Stores over the weekend which raised funds to run the blitz. A special thanks to Gillian and Susan together with coaches, parents and kids who helped out and to Dunnes Stores for facilitating us.

U17's - The Minors had a comprehensive win over Tomacork on Mon 27 Aug at home. 3-20 to 0-4. Mon 10 Sep at home v Clann na Gael at 7.15pm. Our lads are in the Semis of the championship. Currently joint top of the table with St Pat's. This is the last game of the groups and whoever tops the table will win the league. It's all to play for so please come out and support this great group of lads.

U15's - U15's training on Monday at 7pm. Friendly match away v Maynooth 5 Sep at 7pm.  

U12's - Wed 5 Sep at home v Clane at 7pm. U12's away v Naas 2 on Sat 8 Sep at 4.30pm.

11's - U11 squad today were away to Confey in first match of Autumn NKL on Sat 1 Sep. The team played well considering a lot played other sports in the morning. Well done to all players/parents for travelling and coaches Ben and Gerry who went with squad. Matches on Wed 5 Sep at 7pm - U11 Blue at home v Rathnew Green, U11 Blue at home v Coolkenno and U11 White away v AGB 2.

U10's - U10's at home v Cappagh on Sat 8 Sep 3.30pm.

U8's -Tues 4 Sep U8 team away v Kill at 6.45pm.

Hurling

Michael Dwyer's Hurlers - U13's started the Kildare League with a win against Clane and U17's also had a great win against Bray which puts them in the melting pot for the A Championship...well done to all!

U17's - Mon 3 Sep U17 Michael Dwyer v Avondale Parnells 7.15pm. On Fri 7 Sep MD v Bray in Ballinakill at 7.30pm.

U13's - Mon 3 Sep U13 Michael Dwyer Blue v St Pats at 7.15pm.

U8's - Tues 4 Sep U8's at home v Clane at 6.45pm.

Club physio - Physio will be at the clubhouse on Wed at 7pm.  Contact Pat Molloy regarding any enquiries/emergencies on 0868230130.

Fixtures - All our fixtures for the week can be found on the Blessington GAA Facebook page and the club website.

Condolences - Condolences to Denise O'Connell and familyon the sad passing of her brother Martin. Ar dheis De go raibh a anam dilis.

Isaac Geoghan Fundraiser - Isaac is a young member of our Juvenile club and he is running the Mini Mucker challenge in Punchestown on the 6th October, and he wanted to raise money for his hospital. Isaac has been attending Crumlin since shortly after he was born, and he has received the best of care from the dedicated staff in the hospital and he now wants to give something back. If you have a couple of euro to spare please donate using the link below or you can also join Isaacs team and run with him and raise funds if you like a mucky challenge, just follow the link. https://www.eventbrite.ie/e/mini-muckers-tickets-46234686191?team_token=2157413-4n7p9.

Coach to Maynooth - Would any of our members have any interest if there was a coach going from Blessington to Maynooth University. It would be available Monday to Friday, morning and evening, drop off and pick up. Est cost €40 per week, per student if over thirty travel and €50 if less than thirty. The more that uses the service the cheaper it will be. WIFI and charging ports will be available on the bus. Contact Andrew Auld 087 2438887

College Students - As the CAO offers are out, it is the perfect opportunity to remind anyone that may be interested in applying that the Katie Taylor Bursary closing date is Friday 14th of September. The aim of this bursary is to support a sports person who is entering college to continue playing the sport/sports they love while in third level education and is worth €1,500 per year for up to 4 years. In Order to Apply:
• You must be a resident of county Wicklow
• You DO NOT have to be studying a sports related course
• You must be entering 1st year of college
• You can be playing at a high level in ANY sport
• The bursary is open to Male and Female applicants
Please contact Wicklow Sports Partnership on 0404 20100 or [email protected] for more information & an application. 

Clothing Collection ongoing - collecting good quality second hand clothing suitable for re-use. Please fill as many black bin bags as you can - the more we collect, the more our club receives. If you are unable to bring them to the GAA grounds, we can arrange collection. Please contact: John Magee Snr 086 871 7483 or Breda Brophy 087 225 3892. Thank you for your support.

Online shop - https://www.oneills.com/shop-by-team/gaa/ireland/blessington-gaa.html

Remember to keep updated on what is happening in the Club log on www.blessingtongaa.ie
 and Blessington GAA on Facebook and on Twitter @blessingtongaa.

If you wish to be on the Blessington GAA Supporters Whats App please text your name to 087 2858375. 

Most Read Stories