St Patricks club notes

April 03, 2018

Congratulations to the County Senior Ladies on their 100% winning record having made the trip to Stabannon in Co Louth on Sunday for a 2pm throw in of their final match in the Lidl NFL Division 4. Leading at half time 0-08 to Louth 0-05. The girls maintained their 100% record to run out worthy winners with the final score Wicklow 0-12 Louth 0-07. Well done to our own Clodagh Fox, Saoirse O'Reilly, Rose Fagan, Niamh McGettigan and Mick Kavanagh on an excellent league campaign.

Well done to the U16's county ladies with a 14-24 to 1-2 emphatic win in Tinahely against Kilkenny having lead at half time 9-15 to 1-0. Congratulations to our own Lucy Dunne (Team Captain) and Zoe Armstrong, Siobhan Gorman, Niamh Caffrey and Naoise O'Reilly.

Our senior ladies headed to Dublin on Wednesday night to take on Ballinteer in the Dublin league. A very strong performance put in by our girls who led at half time 2-04 to 1-03. In the second half with their Captain Sarah Delahunt driving them on they were worthy winners with the full time score of St. Patricks 3-11 Ballinteer St Johns 2-07.

Scorers: Erynn O'Brien 1-02, Ashling Hayden 1-02, Luci Hobbs 1-01, Capt. Sarah Delahunt 0-03, Niamh O'Brien jnr 0-02 and Laura Manley 0-01. Well done to Robert and his team.

Two happy boys after U7 football training this week were our players of the week Rian Kavanagh and James Carroll  - well done boys!

Hard luck to our U17 hurlers in the Minor Hurling Division 1 game in Dunbur on Thursday. Final Score: St Patrick's 1-06 Emmet Carn An Bhua 1-09

Congratulations to Casey and the Senior lads who travelled to Blessington on Sunday morning for an 11am throw-in. At halftime the lads went in a point down Blessington 0-04 St Patrick's 0-03. In a games where the scores were level with ten minutes to at 4 points each. The lads finished strongly scoring 1-02 to run out deserving winners with the final scoreline of 1-6 to 0-05. 
Team: Ian Murphy, Patrick O'Keane, Sane Murley, Aidan Dunne, John Crowe, Padge McWalter, Simon Bouchier, Dean Healy, Ronan Murray, Jack Dunne, Stephen Duffy, Johnny Delahunt, Jordan Petticrew, Eamonn Wolfe, Paul O'Brien, Rossa Marron

Scorers: Johnny Delahunt 1-01, Stephen Duffy 0-04(2F), Shane Murley 0-01

On Saturday our Junior A footballers made the journey south for their 5pm Division 3 Football League game the Junior A travelled to Coolboy who after a dramatic week for the south Wicklow Club an EGM was held on Thursday, it was agreed that they would be fielding a team this year. We wish Coolboy all the best for their endeavours on the field of play this year. In an entertaining game the home side prevailed in the end with final score line of  Coolboy 3-13 St Patrick's 1-5 
Team: Ian Murphy, George O'Brien, Rosa Marron, Robert Moffat, Andy Jameson, Aidan Dunne, Mikey Griffin, Joe Quinn, Ronan Murray, Jack Dunne, Ciaran McGettigan, James Kavanagh, Simon Alexander, John O'Brien, Evan Dunne,

Subs: Gary Duffy, Andy O'Brien, James Bonner, BA Franey,

Scorers: Joe Quinn 1-01, John O'Brien, Jack Dunne, Simon Alexander and Ciaran McGettigan 0-01 each.

We had a fantastic Easter Camp this week with almost 50 boys and girls taking part under the watchful eye of coaches, Paul, Sinead, Emer and Conor. We were lucky with the weather as they were mostly able to be outside - where fun games, making friends, and working on their skills were the themes of the camp! Pictured below are our younger group from 4-7 year olds.

Congratulations to Club member Stephen McNulty who celebrated a milestone birthday last week.

Rory's Stories for the first time in Wicklow Presented by St Patrick's GAA Wicklow organised by the Ladies Committee in The Grand Hotel, Wicklow on Friday 27th April at 8:00pm

Tickets €20 available from Whistlers, Fitzpatrick's pub, Dooley Poynton Auctioneers or any ladies committee member. We will have tickets on sale next Tuesday 13th March and Friday 16th March from 7:30-8:45 in clubhouse hall. Do not delay in getting your ticket!

ALL WELCOME PLEASE SUPPORT

Our development committee now have the Greenhill Road Playing Pitches Planning Application drawings on view for all members in the Clubhouse. Committee members will be available on Saturday mornings to discuss the application. All members are welcome to view the club's future!

St Patrick's GAA Club Registration Day on Saturday April 7th at 10.30am until 13.30pm in the Clubhouse Dunbur with the club tuck shop and Club Shop both open. All members new and old welcome

Anyone wishing to register their son or daughter is welcome to call to club, Adult players from all teams are also invited to come along and pay their annual membership fee.

Rates :

Adult player €120

3rd level student €90 , with your current student card

Apprentice €90

Mentor - non playing adult €70

Family membership (A) €190 (includes national and secondary school children)

Family membership (B) €260 (includes above and also 3rd.level students)

Juvenile up to and including under 10 boys and girls €50

Juvenile from under 11 to under 18 boys and girls €80

Our "Little Warriors" will continue on Saturday April 7th at 10am for Boys and Girls age 4-6. Fun games, getting to meet new friends and learning new skills, are what our nursery is all about. we look forward to welcoming those back from last year and meeting our new recruits!
Thanks to Gallagher's Super Valu for their continued sponsorship of our club nursery.

U7 (Born 2011/2012) Hurling continues on Tuesdays at 6.45pm to 7.45pm in the Hall, Dunbur. Coaches are Tomás Morrissey, Willie Carey, John Joe Mc Coy, and Alan Lawlor. Contact Tomás on 086 1933796 or Willie on 083 8570491. New players are welcome.

Our U7 boys (2011 and 2012) football continues on Saturday's in Dunbur from 11-12. New players are welcome. Contact Tomás on 086 1933796 or Willie on 083 8570491.

Ladies Gaelic Football continues on Saturday's subject to pitch inspection.

U12's-10:00am-11:15 Coach Rob Greene 0861676270

U8's- 11:00am-12:00 Coach Brian McSorley 0862996799

U10's- 11:00am-12:00 Coach Mark Donohoe 0868527767

All new members welcome

Camogie @ St. Pats for All Girls born in 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011at St. Patrick's GAA Club, Dunbur Road in the club hall on Thursday's at 6-35pm to 7-45pm.

Contacts: Margaret Leonard 087 782 7881or Jason Carey 086 897 4898

NEW MEMBERS WELCOME

St Patricks GAA Last Man Standing competition
We had 26 people remaining in our competition at the start of the weekend and by the time the Division 1 Final between Dublin and Galway was played it was down to 13 people who had successfully predicted that Laois, Armagh and Roscommon would each win their respective finals.  With Dublin winning the Division 1 Final by 18 points to 14 it was reduced to 12 people and we were down to the score tie breaker to decide our competition winner.

Congratulations John Slattery (Jnr) captain of our 2006 Senior Championship winners!  With a predicted score of 1-16 (19 points) to 14 points John was only one point away from the actual match scoreline.  Very hard luck to Shane Mitchell who had a predicted score of 1-16 to 0-13; only 2 points away.

Thanks to everyone for taking part and I hope it was a bit of fun and that you will all take part again in 2019.

Kellogg's GAA Cul Camp details out this week.

Coach Application form for the 2018 Cúl Camps now available. The closing date for applications is Friday May 4th. Applicants must be over 18 before the Camps begin on July 2nd.

Applications can be posted to Garrett Doyle, Wicklow GAA Cúl Camp Coordinator, Wicklow GAA Centre of Excellence, Ballinakill, Rathdrum, Co. Wicklow

or emailed to [email protected] or on 0834357460

DARKNESS INTO LIGHT - Pieta House's flagship fundraising awareness event - celebrates its tenth year this May in over 170 venues in Ireland and across the world. The event is being supported again this year by Electric Ireland. Darkness Into Light began in 2009 when 400 people came together in Dublin's Phoenix Park to raise awareness about suicide and self-harm. From these humble beginnings, Darkness Into Light has blossomed into a global movement against suicide and self-harm, with over 200,000 expected to take part on Saturday, May 12th this year. This unique event begins at 4.15am as participants walk 5km routes around the world and finish as the dawn is breaking, journeying together from Darkness Into Light.

Register now at www.darknessintolight.ie!.

The Grand Hotel in conjunction with An Garda Síochána present THE GAA CHAMPIONSHIP PREVIEW NIGHT on April 13, 2018 Grand Hotel, Wicklow Town at  7:30 PM
Special Guests & Prizes: Wexford's Tom Dempsey - All Ireland Winner 1996 Hurling Waterford's Paul Flynn - All Star & Waterford Legend, Dublin's Pillar Caffrey - former Dublin Manager and Many more and Special Guest MC
LIVE MUSIC IN THE BAR AFTERWARDS TICKETS €15 PER PERSON AVAILABLE FROM WICKLOW GARDA STATION & THE GRAND HOTEL

ALL PROCEEDS GO TO WICKLOW MENTAL HEATLH

St Patrick's GAA Club Lotto results Tuesday 26th March 2018
We had no Winners for our Match 5 or Match 4 Jackpots. We had no Match 3 winner.
Don't forget to buy your ticket this week. If you are not in you cannot win! 
Winning numbers: 3, 6, 15 and 20. The bonus number was 21.
Thanks to the weekly Club Lotto Sellers who give up their time to help raise funds for the Club. It's greatly appreciated. The next draw is on Monday 2nd April. March in the Clubhouse. Make sure you buy a ticket each week and you could be the winner of our Match 4 prize €5,400 or Match 5 €10,000 jackpot! 
As part of club development and potential additional playing facilities, we are requesting that each age group team support the lotto selling rota by providing a team of 4 on their designated Saturday. Are any of you available to sell in the pubs on Saturday nights from 9pm? Contact your team manager for details.

Please send any information for club notes to [email protected] before 9pm on Sunday evenings. You can contact St Pats at Facebook St Patrick's GAA Club Wicklow Town or Twitter @StPatsGAAWick

Most Read Stories