Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Football Hurling Hurling Counties

Waterford Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Hurney - what's the story?
Very well said trenchman,the effort the waterford footballers are putting is immense,they are away from their family's up to four times a week and anybody who doesnt get behind them is a disgrace.I dont think that Gary Hurney will just walk back in but he will be there for the rest of the year,do you think its a disgrace also that spme of the hurlers can just walk back in after two months off when all the others gave such commitment?Also Gary Hurney had an argument with Davy Fitz and left training early,nothing to do with numbers being cut

theriddler , 17/03/2010 at 09:14

same thing i Kerry when it comes to hurling never going to get the same coverage as football. Sunday only a few hundred showed up for the game with Meath a game were Kerry scored 3-30 not many teams get that kind of score at any level

kerryhurling , 16/03/2010 at 18:23

Hurlers v Limerick
just to say we had a brilliant time in waterford last sunday, had great craic with waterford supporters. disappointed with the result but we couldnt live with ye in the second half and mullane was looking sharp. another disappointment though was the delay in getting our keeper stretchered off. the medics couldnt go any slower if theytried, but fair play to deise fans, the craic after the game was mighty!!

drogba , 16/03/2010 at 17:14

Well said Trenchman fair play,i wouldn't be huge into football at all but i always have a look out for the footballers results and its great to see them doing better this year be great to see them promoted,anyone who wears the Waterford jersey should be encouraged no matter what code it is.

UptheDeise , 16/03/2010 at 16:15

The sad truth is that for years the Waterford footballers were the ultimate in poor relations within the national scene and also within their own county.Our proud tradition of hurling meant that all resources and efforts were put in to success in the small ball game, which was fair enough. Waterford had produced some great football teams and some outstanding footballers down the years, but through the barren period that was the '70's and the '80's any 'fanbase' that was there was eroded mainly because the teams being produced were simply not good enough. I'm glad to say that this has changed; the senior football championship is played to a high standard and the county champions always acquit themselves well in Munster championship, a good barometer for the standard. The county board has placed a greater emphasis on preparing the football teams of the county better. In fairness to John Kiely, love him or loathe him he did make Waterford junior and senior footballers competitive within their grade, and John Owens has picked things up and drove the team on even farther. Division 3 football was only a pipe dream even as recently as three years ago; it is a realistic target now. And as for those within the county who criticise and belittle the footballers, that's a real shame lads. That team trains as hard as any inter-county team around and the least people could do is at least encourage them. If you've got nothing positive to bring to this age old hurling v football debate, then say nothing. They wear blue and white same as Dan and the lads, they tog and train three/four times a week representing us and they want nothing more than to bring a bit of pride back to Waterford football. Now let's get behind them and give them some support......

Trenchman , 16/03/2010 at 14:48

the footballers are flyin and wont be far away from promotion....people should give the lads more support....at the end of th eday they wear d jersey the same as the hurlers and do it without the support or exposure the hurlers get....

airport_ace , 16/03/2010 at 14:22

Its nothing to do with him not being good enough for the hurlers, but on the other hand he could be just what the footballers need to move up a Division which would be great for them.

PortL.abu , 16/03/2010 at 12:44

What is the story with Waterford and your comments about footballers. Your footballers are flying and your not supporting them. Apparently only 15 or 16 Waterford supporters in Limerick for a brilliant win on Saturday night. I think its disgraceful.

soreilly , 16/03/2010 at 08:42

My info is that the panel had to be reduced and a few including Hurney went, personally i would not drop him i think he adds strenth to the forward line and he is fearless, agree he is not the most skillfull player one will ever see but by god if every hurler gave his commitement then we would have a fair team,
I dont think we have 30 better however we have to get on with it now.
Regarding the footballers no interest other than to keep hurlers fit

shrewdjudge , 15/03/2010 at 20:13

He's not bloody good enough for the Waterford hurling team and thats the bottom line, I'd be fair disgusted if I was one of the footballers and he just marched back onto the team!!! All he has is height and strenght and thats not enough on first team championship hurling, perhaps it is in Football, it is only a secondary sport after all.

Deise_4_2010 , 15/03/2010 at 20:03

hurney didnt quit the hurling panel he was thrown off it,and know he is going back to the footballers,some addition.And people are right why is there a lack of posts on your footballers..

theriddler , 15/03/2010 at 17:58

Why has he quit the hurling panel?

alice1 , 15/03/2010 at 14:17

Footballers chances against London?
not many posts here on your team?? our game with yous could be the decider

curnew , 15/03/2010 at 12:38

How can we stop Kilkenny?
Keep the ball, run at them, play the wings. High ball or any physical scrap and the odds are that any team will lose against them.

freetaker1 , 14/03/2010 at 20:03

Seo Spoirt
Check out this weeks show.

Special preview of the All Ireland Club championships and player-profile on Damien Hayes as Port Omna face Ballyhale Shamrocks in one of the most anticipated hurling game in years. We also take a look at how Kilmurray-IBrickane are preparing for their 1st ever All Ireland Final.

Join Dara Ó Cinnéide, SBB, Donal O'Grady and Ruairi Mac Con Iomaire for this weeks show.
Also check out De la Salle College attempt to win 'Thar an Trasnán"

www.tg4.ie/seospoirt
Friday 8:30pm on TG4

Seo.Spoirt , 11/03/2010 at 10:22

GAA Team Training & Bonding Weekends
An update on how some recent weekends went. Ahoghill Camogie Team had a great weekend in Downings in Donegal. Their pics can be
viewed at: http://www.breakforball.com/gallery/images/?id=11

The 3rd last photo in the set is a real clinker that really does the beauty of the place justice.

Here's what the manager of the team had to say about their weekend:

"A fabulous weekend in a stunning location. Who needs Spain when you have Donegal! Everything was so handy with the pitch and beach so close to the hotel. The sessions on and off the pitch with Emmett McKeever were top class and has really focused the squad for the months ahead. Following that the lads from Turf'n'Surf were great craic and the activites on and off the beach had everyone in great form. The day was finished off with a lovely group meal and some karaoke singing that went on into the wee hours. I think it has had the desired effect and there is a great buzz around the squad. Thanks again to Breakforball for organising an excellent package and Sinead who helped the day run smoothly onsite."

Mark Friel - Senior Team Manager, St. Mary's Camogie Club, Ahoghill

Breakforball , 10/03/2010 at 21:08

Football in Waterford
and getonwithit is allways talking rubbish no matter what site he is on

bottles , 10/03/2010 at 18:40

Beating kilkenny is only half the battle for the year, ye would have to beat limerick then to have any chance of winning the all ireland. This year's championship is ours to lose............And so is the lory meagher cup in 3 years time!!!!!! Seriously though, i think waterford's chance may have gone in 07. If ye were ever to beat kilkenny it was then. They just have too much strength in all areas as it stands but here's hoping im proved wrong

mike03 , 10/03/2010 at 10:49

deise,do you seriously think that Tommy and JJ,2 of the best half backs of all time and Jackie or Brian would buckle under pressure,you may as well be throwing biscuite to bear

mooncat , 08/03/2010 at 21:40

Even after watching yesterdays game between Tipp and Kilkenny Im still inclined to think Cork in the first round of the championship will be a tough one for Tipp! To be fair Kilkenny were missing all the Ballyhale boys too so I wouldnt be getting carried away if I were a Tipp man. And I must say Ill be shouting for Cork against ye in the first round of the championship, (it's hurt to do so, but rather beat them in the Munster final) :) :). Nice to see Tipp beating the cats yesterday though.

Deise_4_2010 , 08/03/2010 at 15:47