Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Football Hurling Hurling Counties

Sligo Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Under 21s
The Connacht U21 final between Roscommon and Sligo has been fixed for Saturday, April 3rd ,in Markievicz Park ,Sligo with throw in at 5pm.

The final will be preceeded by the Connacht minor league game between Sligo and Roscommon with throw in at 3.15pm

Double header, Good luck to both Sligo sides.

Sligonian , 19/03/2010 at 15:34

Under 21s
Fair play to the boys on Wednesday! well done maye and hynes, james clarke should be starting the next day.

footie2fan , 19/03/2010 at 14:30

Sligo V Cavan
Perhaps your talents would be better utilised as a fourth selector. Perhaps Kevin Walshe could draft you in as you seem to be a know it all when it comes to Sligo football.
I think its a gamble starting 3 rookies for their first Sligo league game in what is a very pivotal game. If the gamble pays off and we win then great. At lease it makes for some competition in the squad.

Anto , 19/03/2010 at 12:30

Under 21s
Well Paul, Ive nothing against him, I just dont rate him despite what hes won. He hasnt been a success every where either. Hes got a very talented group of players and is very lucky to be there manager imo. In fairnes though his late appointment wasnt a help so credit there. In his team selection there were a few mistakes that will hopefully be rectified for the final. He seriously needs to use Maye and Gilsenan better from play. Maye was feeding off bread crumbs, and if Gilsenan was isolated would of destroyed his man. The defence was too loose for me. The Extra Time was the best thing that could of happened as we got a longer look at Hynes, Greene, Clarke, Brady and Daniel Maye. I alway judge a manager on is maximising the potenatial of team to get the best of them, and on the Galway game I see alot more in our lads. Which is a good thing but analysing the manager it doesnt reflect well when there are holes in the team selections. If he picks the right team for the final, and has a gameplan for maye, and we win and I will change my view on him but weve won nothing yet and he could cost us.

Sligonian , 19/03/2010 at 11:16

Sligo V Cavan
Sligo team named,

Greene, Harrison, McGuire, Donovan, Donal McGlynn, Mark Quinn, J Davey, TT, Gilmartin, David Maye, Brehony, Gaughan, Colm McGee, Sweeney, Kelly.

You know Ive done alot of whinging lately about the team selection, but Im delighted with this selection. Ewing, Costello and Coen all dropped and none can have any complaints. Now lads fight for yere place. Pretty much all the changes I was requesting have happened.

Well done to the management, it takes a while but ye cop on eventually. I heard earlier in the week EOH was away due to work commitments just for this game so not sure he'll even be on bench.

Sligonian , 19/03/2010 at 11:02

Under 21s
johnston must of done something on you sligonian to really piss you off cos every chance you get you have a pop at him. he is in a position where he has to make decisions that could win or lose games year in and year out he has proven that he can do that and has the silverware to prove it. if he has got a response from the bench im sure he will be delighted with the headache that brings.
may i say that in the short period of time he has had to work with this group of players he has done an excellent job to get them to where they are and with a bit of luck will win

paulthebarber , 18/03/2010 at 22:04

Under 21s
Well done to the Sligo U21s. Very proud of you. I am delighted that ye reached the final. A great achievement. Keep up the good work. Fair play to you Sligonian for going to the match

Isle of Innisfree , 18/03/2010 at 21:25

Under 21s
Curry is his club Mod, you know its not the aussies we are worried about poaching down there but Maye is a loyal lad and has pride in where is from, nice characteristics to have pity more dont have it, so no worries for us with him. Looking forward to seeing him over the next few yrs. One of the many excuses made for a certain player playing with Mayo is he would not develop as well with Sligo, Curry and Sligo seem to be able develop players fine with the likes of marren and maye stepping up.

Sligonian , 18/03/2010 at 20:47

Under 21s
mayo might poach maye first

culmore , 18/03/2010 at 19:34

Under 21s
Well done Sligo VERY surprised at the result. Best of luck in the final. This Maye lad seems to be very useful hope he is not poached for aussie rules. What club does he play for?

mod , 18/03/2010 at 17:09

Under 21s
For me my starting team for the final would be McGovern, Gaughan, C Davey, G Gilsenan, McGarrigle, O Boyle, K Cawley, Burns or Greene, Clarke, P Kelly, Hynes, D Gilsenan, Judge, P Clarke, Maye.

The risk for me is if we dont start the lads that came on, ros may pull away if they start strong. We need to improve on our tackling especially if we get a a ref like neary, judging by the rossies there ref was worse. Shine will punish us with frees. I was disappointed with the corner forwards, there workrate was fantastic, but jees someone would want to tell judge not to shoot outside 30 as he doesnt have the power. Dunne the same. Clarke for me would be a target man in there and maye plays off him. Look yday Maye was never really in a scoring position from play enough for me, need to get him in the game more and in scoring positions. Darren Gilsenan was underused aswell, but did an immense amount of chasing back. On burns in the 1st half he did well but his legs went far too early in 2nd half for me, no critisim just a fact, the ref was harsh on him i agree but hed ran out of steam. Conor Davey is not a midfielder and Gilsenan looked too loose for FB so I start him in the corner. Look it was a big ask of Johnny kelly marking cummins a senior player, kelly is very young but will hopefully learn from it.

Blue waffle by your analysis everyone played well when I dont think that is the case. I see where improvements can be made and im making my point with a Connacht title in mind. By your logic more of the same will do and I can tell you now we need to improve alot to beat Roscommon. Weve won nothing yet and ydays performance my feet are firmly on the ground as we were lucky yday at times but deserved it.

Sligonian , 18/03/2010 at 16:20

Under 21s
was at the game in tuam taught it was a great display although galway were poor enough, great to be in a final though great chance now lads....

taught mc govern in goals was brilliant his kick outs against the wind were consistent and obviously a great penalty save
full back line did well enough felt sorry for kelly hes a good player but his man was out in front everytime
cawley was sublime picking up breaks spraying ball tackling never stopped running
o boyle playing centre back i taught was dodgy but taught he played very well aswell very strong
think yer being very harsh to burns he sacrificed his own game to mark conroy who is probily the best midfielder at this level and burns still caught 1 or 2 kickouts and did alot of work off the ball, also taught the 1st booking was very harsh so early in the game
half forward line did well taught paul kelly was brilliant worked very hard scored a nice point
david maye obviously was outstanding dunne did very well judge showed well and worked hard but had 5 or 6 easy wides taught he should have been hauled off he could have cost us the game
subs did well hynes scored 2 nice points clarke aswell, was surprised harris didnt get on for judge for a bit of strength and scoring power when it was needed in extra time

anyways though a good win but could have thrown it away, i dunno what game sligonian was at being so critical in fairness its a connaucht final lets build them up not put them down!!!

bluewaffle , 18/03/2010 at 15:39

Sligo hurlers
Sligo WILL get relagated.

ondabutton , 18/03/2010 at 14:42

Under 21s
Well done yesterday lads.A great win and I for one was not that surprised.I remember ye beat Galway U-21 in 07 I think and should have beaten us in Kiltoom the same year and ye were in last years final,also had decent minor teams over the last few years who maybe did'nt get the luck they deserved.Any news on the time that final goes ahead?Like I said a repeat of the 99 final.Fantastic for both counties.Mayo and Galway have been havin it all their own way for too long,ye should see the Galway forums they think the world has ended because they lost to Sligo,such arrogance.
The main worry for both teams now will be complacency.

fredrickwood , 18/03/2010 at 12:57

Under 21s
Well done lads!
Huge credit to the management team for instilling belief in a Sligo team for once! It really paid off in those final minutes of extra time when we held on!

Galway weren't poor as such, they just failed to capitalise on their scoring opportunities. Remember the majority of this u-21 Galway team were minor All-Ireland champions, that same year they only beat Sligo in the Connaught stages by 2 points because the lads did not have the belief and the confidence.

Special mention must go to the Sligo goalie Mc Gov for saving the peno, that was a huge boost; to Curry's Maye for his excellent free taking ability; to James Clarke who came on in the latter stages of the second half and for the first time in the whole game cleanly caught contested ball and to James Hynes who brought renewed strength to the HF line.

Re the substitutions in the HF line, P Clarke only back a week from injury so couldnt be match fit, thought P Kelly should have been left on, but it was great to see for once a Sligo team with decent depth in the subs bench.

Sligonian you may think that the manager picked the wrong team but if you look at it in a positive light, we are now through to a Connaught final and a Sligo manager now actually has a selection headache -that can only be good for the county!!
Up Sligo!!

u21fan , 18/03/2010 at 11:26

Under 21s
galway were shockingly poor, we definitely rode our luck but we won, and we're in the final. we can only beat whos in front of us and we did just that. keep the heads down and we could be champions. well done lads, you did good

sligo0708 , 18/03/2010 at 10:27

Under 21s
its not often we get a result in Tuam so credit has to go to the management team for giving the team belief, something we lack when playing up in Galway. Would not be too critical of starting team as this is championship and they are young lads, it always easier to play well coming on as a sub when you have not had the same pressure in the buildup. Hopefuly we will have learned from it and be better for the final.

TimtheEnchanter , 18/03/2010 at 09:03

Under 21s
Sligo V Roscommon Connacht Final in Markievicz April 3RD

Sligo 0-13 Galway 0-12 AET, Roscommon 2-9 Mayo 1-11.

Congrats to both. I was in Tuam and it was a strange feeling coming home, fantastic to beat to Galway in Tuam but the game was so poor at times and a Galway team that was poor its hard to know where we stand for the final.

David Maye was outstanding and to me is still looking the part. Cawley immense at wing back, the 2 corner forwards were erratic but good with ball in hand just not a scoring threat outside 20 metres. Wasnt impressed with my clubmates performance. Keeper was outstanding and made a great peno save. We rode our luck at times and our defence was too loose. Galway never really punished us and looked a poor side. Paul Kelly and P Clarke did well for long peroids but like burns ran out of steam. Subs made a huge impact, Hynes, Greene and brady all dominated midfield. FB line looked dodgy at times and kelly was out of his depth. 2 more yrs underage, but cummins today was a big ask. N Gaughan steady enough and daniel maye did well when he came on. Darren Gilsenan was underused, and never ran at his man when he had the pace for him, pity but a missed opportunity there. Hopefully cut loose the next day. Conor Davey is not a midfielder, FB or nothing. I wouldnt start burns the next day. He did ok at times but didnt do enough and went out of it 2nd half.

Before the jonston fans come on, he had the wrong team out as the subs did alot better than all there replacements.

Still an awful lot of work to do for the Final imo, but doable once jonston picks right team.

Sligonian , 17/03/2010 at 20:46

Sligo v Offaly
Now that's what I call a mature response but while Clancy had presence he was too accident prone especially when under no pressure.

pajero , 17/03/2010 at 12:12

Sligo v Offaly
Why would I not like to hear it? Its not far off the truth. Quinn is ordinary enough, i know that, but he is better than mcnamara or phillips there, he makes up for it with his atitude, reading of the game imo. He is worth persevering with. But your right in terms of presence and influence there we are lacking. In recent times Nigel Clancy under moran was the last CHB that had serious presence imo. I thought Quinn did ok the last day. He was a bit fidgety on the ball but his man did no damage. As long as he sticks to his defensive duties and I think he will hold his own there.

Sligonian , 17/03/2010 at 11:23