Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu
Home Football Football Hurling Hurling Counties

Offaly Forum - Latest Posts
Click on the subject to bring you to the thread where the message was posted 
(this page is sorted differently from rest of forum in that the latest messages are at the top of the page)

Big Weekend for Offaly Gaa
if the footballers cut out the silly short handpassing and giving possesion away to easy then they have a good chance. fire it into nialler and play off him.coughlan will win his fair share of ball in the middle and if scotty plays centre forard he'l be out there to help out.
wont pretend i know a great deal about the hurlers but if they play with the same pride and passion as last year then of course they have a chance. If i dont go to Sligo i'l definitly be in tullamore.Its great to feel optimistic again....
on a side note, whats the point in doing up the county ground and then not playing matches in it. Tullamore is a fine stadium and pitch.and i think there will be a lot of intercounty matches played in it this year.

Rhodejim , 12/03/2010 at 10:08

Green Isle Foods strike
I remember a big Green Isle Foods factory outside Banagher years ago... just shut down, putting 100's of locals out of work. Still standing derelict to this day. They have a history!

Milic1888 , 12/03/2010 at 10:00

footballers will be a shock if they get a win ... hurlers have better chance . put it this way if we win we will stay up lose and we are certs for relegation...... tullamore is county ground and a fine one at that end of storey

townblue , 11/03/2010 at 20:52

Well folks, how are we going to fare this weekend?? Realistically, we need to beat Sligo away to have any chance of promotion I think. It's not beyond the bounds of possibility as they got a bit of a hiding from Wexford last time out. An away win in the league has been elusive for our footballers for some time, do we have a chance to beat them? They might have O'Hara back - do we have a midfielder to handle his runs and influence? The hurlers MUST WIN against the Dubs for us to have any chance of staying in Division 1 i think. It will be tough after the hiding the Dubs inflicted on Tipp, but I think they can do it. Oakley back is a big plus for me. I'm from the north of the county...what do the lads from the south think about these games being moved from Birr to Tullamore? I think it's a bit of a shame to be honest. There's more hurling people down there, and I always enjoyed the trip down to Birr on a Sunday afternoon.

So predictions lads? I'll say Offaly 1.13 Sligo 1.11 and Offaly 1.17 Dublin 1.15. Maybe it's just wishful thinking, but they're will capable of winning these two...especially with the hurling at home. Hopefully the Dubs will be a bit complacent...Anyway, go on the Faithful!!

offalyfaithful , 11/03/2010 at 18:44

Erin Rovers
I was just given the video of the game! Kevin Lynam kicks 2 points in the second half! |Buckley plays wing back in the game. It was a Clara man who brought them over, Kevin Kelly. I hear he has approached a player or two about moving over to different clubs in other parts of London more recently.

offalygaaman , 11/03/2010 at 12:01

GAA Team Training & Bonding Weekends
An update on how some recent weekends went. Ahoghill Camogie Team had a great weekend in Downings in Donegal. Their pics can be
viewed at: http://www.breakforball.com/gallery/images/?id=11

The 3rd last photo in the set is a real clinker that really does the beauty of the place justice.

Here's what the manager of the team had to say about their weekend:

"A fabulous weekend in a stunning location. Who needs Spain when you have Donegal! Everything was so handy with the pitch and beach so close to the hotel. The sessions on and off the pitch with Emmett McKeever were top class and has really focused the squad for the months ahead. Following that the lads from Turf'n'Surf were great craic and the activites on and off the beach had everyone in great form. The day was finished off with a lovely group meal and some karaoke singing that went on into the wee hours. I think it has had the desired effect and there is a great buzz around the squad. Thanks again to Breakforball for organising an excellent package and Sinead who helped the day run smoothly onsite."

Mark Friel - Senior Team Manager, St. Mary's Camogie Club, Ahoghill

Breakforball , 10/03/2010 at 21:15

Offaly vs Roscommon
The reason Lynam was nowhere near his man was because he played the second half as a sweeper in front of sullivan and did collect some ball breaking from 50/50's. This is what he was asked to do and done pretty well.

Dubred08 , 10/03/2010 at 11:59

Green Isle Foods strike
I am a member of SIPTU and received an email from their website giving a hstory of what has happened. I must say if it is true what his alledged to have happened by employees has happened and I have only heard one side of the argument granted, it is unforgivable and highlights how unscrupulous and morally corrupt large business can be in this country.

gianfranco , 10/03/2010 at 10:45

Green Isle Foods strike
May be an extra page in all games programmes to remind people whats going on, or a suitable poster outside the enterance to the grounds on match days, or be selective about what we buy in the shops.

supersub15 , 09/03/2010 at 21:21

Offaly vs Roscommon
any idea are any of the club league fixtures up on the web yet, or whats the story there, even the division layout for the league

burgandy1 , 09/03/2010 at 19:33

Offaly vs Roscommon
was at the roscommon match... i thought niall mac and reynalds were excelent massive work rate and very little ball got out easy from the full forward line...

the back line on the other hand was extremely worrying all over the park nobody seamed confident to do anything no1 on their men poor comunication from mulhall in my opinion dosnt have it, now you can argue me but thats my opinion... ?? ( i would love to know what the defender was at for roscommons last goal in the second half extremely poor????? )

also no:10 lynam is it??? was cronick i would have had em off after 5 minutes was nowere near his man through the whole match in fairness dont think hes up to county level.......

and just wondering what the celebrations on the sideline after the match was all about.... they were nearly beaten by ROSCOMMON after being 8 points up 10 minutes before the end?????............

faithful4ever , 09/03/2010 at 18:33

Offaly vs Roscommon
any reports on the U21s v Carlow?

Dessie15 , 09/03/2010 at 09:14

Kilcormac V St Killians (Galway)
Am ya New Inn

AllStar00 , 08/03/2010 at 19:27

where are st killians from in galway? new inn?

old yellar , 08/03/2010 at 19:01

Any predictions on this All Ireland Vocational Schools (B) Semi Final on Wednesday??

AllStar00 , 08/03/2010 at 17:15

Offaly vs Roscommon
Lads will ye ever give up, coming on here complaing about our support, We know its crap what about it? its not gona get any better if we keep wingeing on about it, on hoganstand. it is what it is so shut up. I was at the game sunday and i have 2 say the second half performance was terrible. How can offaly nearly let a game slip away wen we were in full control and 8 points ahead at one stage. Hopefully ken casey an pj ward will be back soon we could do with them badly, Another thing anyone with half a brain can see that 2 players shouldn't be even on the pitch..alan lyman and conor carroll, their just not up too the standard of county level football in my opinion. i'd say will still be playing division 3 football next year with Antrim gettin promoted an maybe louth or wexford. anyway we cant get any worse than this time last year wen richie connor was manager, things can only get better under Cribben in which i think he could be a bit more vocal during a game i found him rather quiet maybe thats just his style of management.

OffalyRover , 08/03/2010 at 16:34

Offaly vs Roscommon
the brother was on the hill yesterday.kinda injured , id say dissilusioned if i knew how to spell it!!! yea mac is a classic act.davy egan did well too.

Rhodejim , 08/03/2010 at 16:28

Offaly vs Roscommon
Deserved win for Offaly yesterday.Offaly have a full-forward line and not much else.Roscommon have nothing full stop.
It is a joy to watch young McNamee in action.He is easily in the top ten forwards in the country for me,and deadly accurate as well.Where was the brother,is he finished or injured?Im afraid to say Ciaran McManus best days are well behind him tho.

fredrickwood , 08/03/2010 at 15:19

Offaly vs Roscommon
Was at the game yesterday and firstly would like to metion the pathetic support we had again.

On the playing side, we played some good football at times, the first score of the match was football in its simplest form. McNamee worked harder than Iv seen him, as did the whole full forward line who put their markers under pressure coming out. Despite the good points, the last 10 mins showed worrying signs.
Too may players hiding on our own kickout and taking no responsibility. Our half-back line of Carroll, Dalton and Kiely is extremely weak and I would be suprised if any of these start come the championship.

On another note, can anybody remember the last time we beat a meaningful county away in the league? Even in Div 4 we lost to Clare and drew with leitrim and Antrim(before they improved). I do not expect it to change in Sligo

Dubred08 , 08/03/2010 at 11:55

Offaly vs Roscommon
offaly were poor and roscommon were poorer...
wasnt a terrible game of football but theres a couple of offaly lads just not up to it. have backline was non existent. thought cribben was slow to make changes in the second half. coughlan played well but faded out of it. again the star man and the difference between the teams was nialler, fire it in on top of him and he'l likely win it. also did great tackling in the second half

Rhodejim , 08/03/2010 at 10:42