The Dubs this weekend Hope not ruthless. I'm a bloody pessimist anyway :) It should make for a good evening's entertainment anyway. Joxer , 11/03/2010 at 21:43
The Dubs this weekend Well said joxer and you even got the result right ruthless , 11/03/2010 at 21:33
Is Monaghan v/s Dublin all ticket Joseff you obiously haen't been to United Park or Oriel Park since the 80s if you think that United Park only sees 500 for an AIRTRICITY league match. As a Bohs fan and 2 times a season attendee at United Park and Oriel, I can confirm that Drogs get roughly 2000-3000 at their home games. So please don't make a fool of yourself by coming out spouting stats when you clearly don't have your facts right. And yes it takes a Dub to point out statistics about sporting events happening in your own county. Pay some attention son!! Joxer , 11/03/2010 at 21:33
The Dubs this weekend Muineachan Abu you shouldn't "expect this kind of abuse" every time that you play Dublin. I've been going to PP for more than 20 years and I have rarely seen abuse. The last game in PP was a bit physical and it is normal for a heated atmosphere amongst fans. In fact three of your own in the main stand were giving a lot of abuse to Dublin fans around them with women and children close by. So please get the balance right before tarring us all, Monaghan fans are no saints either believe me.Anyway, on the game, I think Gilroy's blanket defence tactics will backfire here. We have the tightest defence in the league but we are shot shy while relying on the counter-attack. I think that we are going to be found out on Sat. I was in Castlebar last week and Mayo could have beaten us by a cricket score. If the game had been played on a pitch instead of a beach then they probably would have.Anyway the best of luck. Monaghan by 2 I think. Just remember that if you give abuse in PP then you will probably get it back. Most Dubs are fine but like all counties we have a few who are not. Joxer , 11/03/2010 at 21:16
Carrickmacross for League and Cup double? lads is there any truth in the rumour that the mcnallys have fallen out with carrick management and are lookin to transfer out of monaghan??????? milltownlad , 11/03/2010 at 19:35
The Dubs this weekend I would like to state that I will be attending this game and if Monaghan have a man sent off I will no longer post under this username as I will use squidword instead. 2faced , 11/03/2010 at 18:54
The Dubs this weekend heres to victory number 2... i seem to have stepped on a lot of peoples feet when posting my comments regarding the current team/hopes. I did not come on the site to slag off any particular player/team or the aspirations that many seem to have. I am just airing my thoughts on the issue. I sincerly hope that my pessimism is short lived and that i am awoken to a breadth of talent unrivaled in this country. i do think that our team has peaked and that our fringe players and new recruits will struggle to fill the gaps in the immediate future. However I can foresee some of these players developing immeasurably in the next three years and then we could rise above our current status. However my oulook at the minute like the weatherman most days is bleak. I pray that i am wrong and will be in parnell park hoping for a positive result and just as importantly a positive performance. Best of luck lads. MonMan111 , 11/03/2010 at 11:23
Aaron McCarey good point there , let each club decide what sports or anything should be allowed to happen if duffys circus or man utd, want to perform in any ground let it happen i say, with regard to splitting from the catholic church re, parish boundries, this is the right time to break from an organisation with the disgraceful record they have at present asterix , 11/03/2010 at 10:01
The Dubs this weekend Yes I can remember that abuse alright. But we have to expect this sort of stuff when playing Dublin. They give abuse to everyone but their own however some times they can even turn on their own. I would hope Banty combats some sort of plan to conquer mid field. We need to have a foothold there otherwise we are in trouble from the get go. MUINEACHAN ABU MuineachanAbu , 11/03/2010 at 10:01
The Dubs this weekend PearseBroCounty: MonaghanPosts: 226584654 Hmm Adler, I too along with some friends got abused all the way out of the small terrace behind the goals last time out, even though we were only minding our own business !!! Indeed we were PearseBro Adler , 11/03/2010 at 09:34
Gary Mc Quaid Not surprised by the decision of the two boys to withdraw from the panel-however i feel that by taking them back at a later date will only served to isolate further players and create more resentment among the panel.I think that the Banty has put himself under serious pressure to win something this year- has to win something in what is probably his last year and is expected to do so with the acquisition of Grimley to his backroom team. Given wthe time he has put into Monaghan football this past few years and how he has raised its profile would love if this was to happen but dont think it will be the case. Perhaps this pressure has rubbed off on his players and maybe some of the boys of have been there a long time or who are not getting a regular run simply aren't enjoying this pressure? Can see further drop outs in the comig weeks!!! Watch this space...... alottodo , 10/03/2010 at 21:54
The Dubs this weekend Jaysus we got savage abuse the the last time we won there, we were right along the pathway leading from the field to the dressing rooms and we were congratulating the players as they came off and some of the obsceneties shouted by the Dublin crowd was shocking....especially from the females!! Don't mind more of the same so long as were the right side of the result! blueblood , 10/03/2010 at 21:34
GAA Team Training & Bonding Weekends An update on how some recent weekends went. Ahoghill Camogie Team had a great weekend in Downings in Donegal. Their pics can beviewed at: http://www.breakforball.com/gallery/images/?id=11The 3rd last photo in the set is a real clinker that really does the beauty of the place justice.Here's what the manager of the team had to say about their weekend:"A fabulous weekend in a stunning location. Who needs Spain when you have Donegal! Everything was so handy with the pitch and beach so close to the hotel. The sessions on and off the pitch with Emmett McKeever were top class and has really focused the squad for the months ahead. Following that the lads from Turf'n'Surf were great craic and the activites on and off the beach had everyone in great form. The day was finished off with a lovely group meal and some karaoke singing that went on into the wee hours. I think it has had the desired effect and there is a great buzz around the squad. Thanks again to Breakforball for organising an excellent package and Sinead who helped the day run smoothly onsite."Mark Friel - Senior Team Manager, St. Mary's Camogie Club, Ahoghill Breakforball , 10/03/2010 at 20:58
The Dubs this weekend Hmm Adler, I too along with some friends got abused all the way out of the small terrace behind the goals last time out, even though we were only minding our own business !!! PearseBro , 10/03/2010 at 20:31
Monaghan Minors 2010...! here pibull, are you having alaugh? myles treanor from scotstown? whats that about? thebigfool , 10/03/2010 at 20:02
The Dubs this weekend Stephen and thomas are free to play saturday night,if the get sent of again in the league the miss the next game even if its a second yellow.This will be a tough game im hopein for a good start as it will quietin the crowd, with the young players on the team now, a good dublin start could be dangerous for us so its important to get a couple of early scores to settle everybody down.Think we might shade it by a point or two,hopefully the dublin fans will be a lot more friendlier than the last time but i wouldnt hold my breath. hardcore , 10/03/2010 at 19:25
Monaghan hurlers They hammered Fermanagh. 5-14 to 3-7 and the beat south Down by 7 or 10 points the weekend b4 that! Not lookin too good for you Longford lads at the weekend either! oriel.fan , 10/03/2010 at 18:40
The Dubs this weekend I watched the last game behind the bottom goals in the small terrace. Nearly got bate out of the place. It was pretty funny actually. Adler , 10/03/2010 at 17:33
The Dubs this weekend an oversight on my part..thanks for clearin that up..many goin to the game..or is setanta and the pub too good an offer? ballyoisin_bomb , 10/03/2010 at 16:55
The Dubs this weekend Gollogly will defo be available for Sat night. He only got 2 yellows so is ok to play. Tommy is in the same situation due to 2 yellows but I'm not certain if him being suspended last summer has any bearings on whether he gets a ban or not. Nothing mentioned on radio since last sunday so I reckon he is ok to play. Tim_NicebutDim , 10/03/2010 at 16:54