Big scorelines?

What is going on in Meath with these massive scores in club football lately. Cilles 4-17, Na Fianna 2-20, Kells and Duleek Simonstown and Dunshaughlin, Dunboyne and Skryne all getting mad tallies

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 31/07/2016 15:55:27    1892862

Replying To Brownepat:  "What is going on in Meath with these massive scores in club football lately. Cilles 4-17, Na Fianna 2-20, Kells and Duleek Simonstown and Dunshaughlin, Dunboyne and Skryne all getting mad tallies"
Yes i notice a pattern of massive scores and big beatings (Seneschalstown 0 - 4, Donaghmore/ Ashbourne 1 - 17.)

I know its only the league but is it a good sign "big Scoring " or a bad sign "bad defending " ?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 31/07/2016 21:29:50    1893206

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Yes i notice a pattern of massive scores and big beatings (Seneschalstown 0 - 4, Donaghmore/ Ashbourne 1 - 17.)

I know its only the league but is it a good sign "big Scoring " or a bad sign "bad defending " ?"
Its probably more a sign of holiday season and teams missing a good few players and also some lads only back from the Galway Races and they are blowing a lot of black smoke!!

Thunderstruck (Meath) - Posts: 467 - 01/08/2016 15:52:43    1893567

Navan giving a walk over would be more of a concern. That's scandalous the senior champions doing that, it should be teams like this that should be relegated for that kind of thing

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 01/08/2016 16:13:52    1893583

The league is organised poorly with matches fixtures still not listed by a yearly planner system. We have situation where county players play few if any league matches thus lowering the value of the competition. Look at all the weeks this year when there were no club matches and then we fix for a holiday week end. The only clubs who are now interested in the league are the ones trying to stay up and the ones who have a chance to get into the final. I am aware of clubs playing league matches missing up to 10-12 players for various reasons and matches like that usually end up with very large scores (in Donegal the reverse is the case!). I think that club football inside every county is being neglected/eroded for the sake of county teams- could we have county teams without clubs?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/08/2016 17:00:25    1893614

Replying To Keeks:  "Navan giving a walk over would be more of a concern. That's scandalous the senior champions doing that, it should be teams like this that should be relegated for that kind of thing"
3rd year in a row Omahonys gave walk over in last round

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 01/08/2016 18:06:17    1893663

Ye are spoiled ye should be in Cavan ....headline in Celt no game for 53 days and then 4 in 13

League last weekend
Bank holiday weekend full round league on Friday and another full round bank holiday Monday

championship next weekend

noelpconnon (Cavan) - Posts: 209 - 01/08/2016 18:18:20    1893671

O mahoneys have a habit of giving walkovers alright. Total disrespect to all other teams in the division. They didn't even have the courtesy to inform their opposition in advance. There is a round still.to be played

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 01/08/2016 18:32:58    1893678

Replying To Keeks:  "Navan giving a walk over would be more of a concern. That's scandalous the senior champions doing that, it should be teams like this that should be relegated for that kind of thing"
Maybe we should have someone like yourself running the football inside the county and you could draw up the rules as you go along

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/08/2016 18:46:04    1893688

Replying To browncows:  "Maybe we should have someone like yourself running the football inside the county and you could draw up the rules as you go along"
by the sounds of it you think it's acceptable for a club to do this kind of thing? Maybe you know where lads were and not available? Galway races perhaps?

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 01/08/2016 19:24:56    1893705

Replying To browncows:  "Maybe we should have someone like yourself running the football inside the county and you could draw up the rules as you go along"
He's dead right, they gave 2 points to a team that would have been in a relegation scrap. Very unfair on the teams at the bottom

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 01/08/2016 19:33:26    1893711

Yeah holidays is the problem everyone knows all the good backs and the bad forwards along with most goalies gone on the holliers only the bad backs and the good forwards stay around that's why the scores are so high everyone knows that

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 01/08/2016 19:39:33    1893715

Replying To numberedjerseys:  "Yeah holidays is the problem everyone knows all the good backs and the bad forwards along with most goalies gone on the holliers only the bad backs and the good forwards stay around that's why the scores are so high everyone knows that"
Keeks: I do not know where any players are nor do I care, but I would guess that players do go on holidays when the have time off. Why are matches fixed over the biggest holiday weekend of the year? Some posters need to get a life and stop complaining about players. Most teams are only interested in championship football and you can win the senior championship if you are good enough when playing div 2 league football- I think!.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/08/2016 20:22:15    1893738

Navan giving walk overs is scandalous and should not be tolerated, attitudes such as that are a good part of the reason why football in the county is the way it is.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/08/2016 22:34:11    1893807

Navan giving walk overs is scandalous and should not be tolerated, attitudes such as that are a good part of the reason why football in the county is the way it is.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/08/2016 23:06:34    1893820

Replying To browncows:  "Keeks: I do not know where any players are nor do I care, but I would guess that players do go on holidays when the have time off. Why are matches fixed over the biggest holiday weekend of the year? Some posters need to get a life and stop complaining about players. Most teams are only interested in championship football and you can win the senior championship if you are good enough when playing div 2 league football- I think!."
Browncows I think the point is that not playing the game means Skryne have lost a fighting chance of staying out of the relegation play offs. Going down partially because of another team pulling out is a bitter pill to swallow. Every single other club was able to manage even if they had to move the fixture

Goldback (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 02/08/2016 16:19:45    1894122

Goldback- I take your point but a team should not be relying on another team to keep them in Div 1. The have lost 8 out of 12 played so far, so who is responsible for them losing those 16 points? I hope they do stay up as I think that they are a good side who on their day could beat anyone. Whether the go up or down is in their own hands but it will not effect their championship this year or next year which is important for them. Some other guys getting carried away with silly posts. One guy even thinks it has an effect on the county team- what's he on. My point is that the August holiday weekend should have been observed as a holiday weekend for all club players.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 02/08/2016 21:20:35    1894316

Replying To browncows:  "Goldback- I take your point but a team should not be relying on another team to keep them in Div 1. The have lost 8 out of 12 played so far, so who is responsible for them losing those 16 points? I hope they do stay up as I think that they are a good side who on their day could beat anyone. Whether the go up or down is in their own hands but it will not effect their championship this year or next year which is important for them. Some other guys getting carried away with silly posts. One guy even thinks it has an effect on the county team- what's he on. My point is that the August holiday weekend should have been observed as a holiday weekend for all club players."
browncows all that's expected is that they fulfill the fixture, pathetic thing to say they're relying on other teams to keep them in Div.1... It's shameful and not something you expect a club with 3 adult teams and current county champions to do. stop defending it.

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 02/08/2016 23:41:54    1894423

Yeah that's disgraceful carry on by o'mahonys. Should be docked 10 points and relegated themselves. They'll never pull a stunt like that again and I'd say neither would anyone else.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 04/08/2016 16:09:11    1895682