Time to call a halt

I have read enough bull scutter from a certain few on here. Have ye no idea of what is going on in Meath football that you are so one tracked that you do not see what is happening.

1. Meath football is in transition every county even Dublin has gone through the like of this
2. Meath football is heading back the right way and will be a force in next 5/6 years
3. Remember Meath did not win a Leinster from 1970 to 1986 and back through the decades long barren runs this was a regular experience
4. Meath while one of the stronger Leinster counties have no right to be always considered a Top County because they are called Meath
5. Of the 30 or so inter county players at least 20 have only 1 or 2 years intercounty experience
6. Our top player Donal Keoghan is 24 and has 4 or 5 years inter county football played
7. Graham Reilly has a little more but is still mid 20s
8. Add in players like Micky Burke, Paddy ORourke and Micky Newman and you struggle to find another player that can be called experienced
9. Harry Rooney our great hope in midfield has barely a year playing with Meath and has played 7 League games with Meath. SEVEN where was John McDermott at the same stage probably not as advanced as Rooney but he McDermott had players like Harnan, McEntee and Hayes to support his development. Rooney will be a star for Meath yet if our Loyal band of supporters don't drive him away. McEntee Cassells Lyons and co played in the days when Longford and Wexford knocked us out of the Leinster Championship in the 80s but stayed around to be LEADERS under Boylan.
10. Our other good young players will also be stars for Meath if they are given the chance to develop and they will be Leaders for Meath in the future Padraig Harnan, Cillian OSullivan, Bobby and Cian OBrien, James and Shane McEntee, The Wallaces, OCoileain, Dara Rowe and other players from Sean Barrys U21s and Barry Callaghans minors.
11. The present Meath management are working towards leaving a decent panel of players for the next Meath management and the things said on these forums is bad form at times.
12. We are still recovering from the setup under Banty that set Meath football back a Decade at least in my own opinion.
13. Mick ODowd is pointing the Meath ship in the right direction he will not be around when we Finally win the Leinster again but he will have had a lot to do with taking the steps to get there.

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 19/03/2016 20:30:52    1836015

An awful lot of ifs/buts there to be honest..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 19/03/2016 21:33:27    1836034

Brownpat..........good solo run there,sounds like a wind up though. You might even start to believe it yourself someday! As you said in your opening sentence....you got through a good bit of "bull scutter " there yourself.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 20/03/2016 11:41:09    1836066

6. Our top player Donal Keoghan is 24 and has 4 or 5 years inter county football played
7. Graham Reilly has a little more but is still mid 20s

All lot of inter county players are retiring at around the 30 mark and you don't blame they with the amount of effort it takes. So tick tock there only 5 years to win all them Leinster's your talking about there. That's if they don't walk before that.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 20/03/2016 16:08:36    1836117

Brownpat,, all that is missing is "they all lived happily ever after" and it would be a great fairytale.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/03/2016 16:16:55    1836119

Just to give you an indication of how far we have we have fallen. Donal Keogan considered our best player was given his chance in the O'Byrne cup in 2011 as an injury time sub. Back then he was considered an unknown on the county scene that had decent players such as King, Sheridan, Farrell and Ward that were well known to other counties . How many players do you see impressing early on in the year now that look like they could go on to do well for themselves? none bar Alan Douglas and even he isn't being given his chance. The production line looks to have jammed and hopefully not permanently.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 20/03/2016 17:46:09    1836158

Finally someone with a bit of perspective. Fair play Brownepat.

Rome wasn't built in a day. Rome was built through having faith in young lads who were bursting themselves carrying concrete slabs, tiling with fine marble and having the bravery to work without scaffolding or any supports. I've been to Rome in the winter and I tell you something it's nowhere near its former glory. Do the Romans start complaining? No they continue with restoration work until the big days of the summer.

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 21/03/2016 11:36:33    1836340

Finally someone with a bit of perspective. Fair play Brownepat.

Rome wasn't built in a day. Rome was built through having faith in young lads who were bursting themselves carrying concrete slabs, tiling with fine marble and having the bravery to work without scaffolding or any supports. I've been to Rome in the winter and I tell you something it's nowhere near its former glory. Do the Romans start complaining? No they continue with restoration work until the big days of the summer.

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 21/03/2016 12:47:38    1836373

Thats fair enough JohnJoeRoyal but the Romans were also architectural geniuses that created aqueducts that were so advanced they could support an empire and are still modelled on today. The Romans would never proceed without proper planning and a structure in place in advance. Surely that is what is needed?

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 21/03/2016 12:56:44    1836378

Not only were the Romans architectural geniuses they were also experts at laying pipe

Don't compare Meath to rome

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 21/03/2016 19:07:54    1836527

The Roman thing does serve to take the mind off the real issue i.e. lack of leadership on and off the football field.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 21/03/2016 19:24:20    1836536

"Not only were the Romans architectural geniuses they were also experts at laying pipe"

Were they any good at putting up floodlights?

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 21/03/2016 20:24:48    1836560

Ha! The Romans would do a better job with floodlights but only after laying plenty of pipe

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 21/03/2016 21:09:14    1836572

As John Cleese once said: "Aside from the roads, sewerage system, education, law and order, what have the Romans ever done for us"?

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 22/03/2016 10:31:05    1836639

They make nice curry chips!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 22/03/2016 14:08:52    1836743

@moylagh. The aqueduct??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/03/2016 14:33:12    1836760

RD: Just had to go look up the actual line, so here it is:

REG: All right, but apart from the sanitation, the medicine, education, wine, public order, irrigation, roads, a fresh water system, and public health, what have the Romans ever done for us?

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 23/03/2016 09:55:44    1836965

Some games under Mod on reapeated games in either leauge or championship.

Dublin Played 2 won 0 Lost 2 ( we where never going to compete here, nothing to say really )
Monaghan played 3 won 0 lost 3 (Abysmal perfomacne here alltogether some very bad loses. Monaghan also where div 3 team now div 1)
Tyrone played 3 won 0 lost 3 ( Played fairly well but ultimately lost all 3)
Loais played 2 won 1 draw 1 ( Lost a 7 point lead to end up with a draw)
Armagh Played 3 won 1 Lost 2 ( Good win this year, but the lost in the champioship was one of the worst I ever seen)
Roscommon played 3 won 1 lost 2 (Roscommon are div 1 team now and that status is confirmed the where in div 3 with Meath)
Westmeath played 2 won 1 lost 1 (nine points up at half time in the won we lost)
Wicklow played 2 won 2 lost 0 ( narrow victory on both against a div 4 team)

What I am getting at here MOD doesn't learn anything form previous meetings. Also Both Roscommon and Monaghan where div 3 teams with Meath and now are div 1. We look like we are heading back div 3 again.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 27/03/2016 10:45:45    1837961

Apart from the Cavan game a good solid league from our young eager team.
Still 2nd best in Leinster and getting better. Well done Micko

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 03/04/2016 18:51:54    1841031

Brownepat

A joke?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 19:18:54    1841054