Meath v Cavan

Well now this game has taken on a whole new importance. For me Cavan are a better side than either Fermanagh or Armagh.
Yes we have home advantage and hopefully the rest will have done the lads some good, win and we still have a shout at promotion (even if remote) get beat and we staring relegation and div 3 right in the eye.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2016 10:15:23    1823799

Would you wake up royaldunne, we don't have a prayer of promotion even if we beat Cavan by 50 points. It's time you took off the rose tinted glasses

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 09/02/2016 13:03:10    1823921

RD

Honestly we have no chance of promotion.If we cannot beat an average Fermanagh display how do you expect us to win at least two for Derry,Galway,Tyrone?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/02/2016 14:33:26    1823971

Jaysus RD, you really need to check your medication. Seeing as we couldn't get anything from Fermanagh, there's about as much chance of promotion as me getting a call up to play for Kerry. As for the Cavan match, they were unlucky not to get something from the Derry game and at this stage I'd make them fav's to beat us.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 12/02/2016 10:27:01    1824866

I see alot of people here on the high horses, perhaps a clear explanation of what I writ might help, if we win against Cavan then yes we still have a chance of promotion, ie its still in our own hands, I never wrote we would get promoted, so down off those horses lads

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/02/2016 11:36:05    1824877

I've always felt that if we were to have any chance of promotion we'd have to win the first 3 games. That hasn't happened so as far as I'm concerned, promotion is totally off the table. If we don't beat Cavan we're going to be in a fight to avoid relegation. I haven't seen any progress in the 4 years of MOD's tenure. Unfair to heap all the blame on him (has to take some of it though) as the players just ain't there. Probably as weak a Meath squad as I've ever seen.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 12/02/2016 16:38:52    1824964

Look the show is over I said we would only win 1 game in the League I picked the Cavan game. I also said if we did not win last week we would be looking over our shoulders for the rest of the League. That is fact now. While we are not as bad as The Fermanagh result signals The Sending off lost the game for us we are not a lot better and I reckon will beat us. In fact I am sure of it

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1108 - 12/02/2016 19:11:29    1824993

Fair play to Royaldunne. The most optimistic Meath supporter that you will find on Hoganstand. He never gives up. Cavan and Meath is a rivalry that goes back decades.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/02/2016 20:20:16    1825009

I think we can win this one I taught we needed a bit luck with 15 to Fermanagh to honsest. So when we went down to 14 so early It was lights out at time ii taught it was going to an rout, but that was prevented at least. For me there was positives I taught a lot players worked hard on and off the ball. And there was noticeable increase in work rate when we went down to 14. Hopefully we can get back on track against Cavan. There nothing between the teams and a win necessary to remain in Div 2. But I think if we can show the effort a lot of players showed the last day we take this one. This game might suit the two Wallaces or Mc Mahon, I would like one of them to start the game.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 13/02/2016 10:16:25    1825039

Joey won't be starting any game soon as he has opted off the panel.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 13/02/2016 13:07:45    1825068

Fair play to Royaldunne. The most optimistic Meath supporter that you will find on Hoganstand. He never gives up. Cavan and Meath is a rivalry that goes back decades.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts:8725 - 12/02/2016 20:20:16 1

I agree with you Ollie. However it wouldn't be hard to more optimistic than this lot here, never seen such a miserable glass is half empty group of people in my life. Are we in a good place at the moment, not really, have we time to turn it around, absolutely. Lets get behind them and push on from here.
UP THE ROYAL

hootervillian (Meath) - Posts: 308 - 13/02/2016 14:11:42    1825079

Hootervillian maybe a lot of the posters were used to success during the 80s and 90s?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/02/2016 17:58:02    1825117

Its mostly frustration and worry about what the current management are learning etc..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/02/2016 18:04:03    1825120

Yea hootervillain, let's all grab a basket of flowers and dance around the fairy fort while we're at it, will ya give over.....people are all doom and gloom on here because the realisation has set in that we are a very poor side and there's not much to be optimistic about bit if I want too ignore the facts and stick with blind optimism that's ur choice

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 13/02/2016 18:20:41    1825123

Mod isn't all too blame either, there's a woeful lack of fight grit determination by the players when there out there....particularly when they go behind. These are attributes in a player that can't be trained or dragged out of by a manager, either ya have these in ur nature or ya don't...too many of our lads don't.....but sure they get the gear and can wear it down in the palace and get a few slaps on the back so happy days for them

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 13/02/2016 18:26:43    1825124

I wouldn't say there is a lack of grit and determination, These players are training 3/4 nights a week putting there life's on Hold! These players are trying there best but simply are not good enough!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 15/02/2016 08:54:24    1825372

Joey won't be starting any game soon as he has opted off the panel.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts:513 - 13/02/2016 13:07:45 18250

God that's a loss, from what I gather Menton is doing the same. What's the story with Davy Dalton anyone know ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 15/02/2016 09:06:25    1825374

Joey was brought in far too early,I remember saying it may do him more harm than good.Andy Tormey had a good game for D/Ash in the full forward line at the weekend.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/02/2016 12:37:51    1825464

I have been saying for a while tormey should be played at 14....a massive lack of a good target man in there plus he hasn't got the mobility for out the field....play players where there strengths are utilised. Also send out a massive SOS for bray.....I know people will say we have to move on, that may be the case of we weren't talking about comfortably still the best scoring forward, quickest out to the ball and strongest forward on the ball at the minute in the county.....only 34 i think. Retired too early altho I know its other commitments that forced him

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 15/02/2016 13:57:35    1825511

Agree about Bray,his movement is by far greater than any other Meath forward.But he won't be back.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/02/2016 14:17:05    1825520