Leinster club 2015

Curraha just about got through. they will have to keep 15 on the field to progress further.
OMahonys have nothing to lose these boys hammered them a few years ago I expect OMahonys to pass the test tomorrow
Ratoath have the ball at their feet Castledermot willbe a test but home advantage should see them home
Kiltale got a wake up call today Portlaoise will be better than Kilmessan but I think Kiltale may win

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 07/11/2015 18:06:31    1805194

Killoe will beat OMahonys easily, Meath club football is poor....

TheNotorious (USA) - Posts: 14 - 08/11/2015 13:14:09    1805301

Another bad day for Meath football,NOM easily the best team in the county,but can't beat a team, from Longford

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/11/2015 15:22:12    1805317

Very poor

JoeJoej (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 08/11/2015 15:27:51    1805319

its no wonder theres 7 ratoath lads on the panel, we will be asking for more the way things are going

domeanne (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 08/11/2015 15:48:19    1805322

1-6 scored over the entire game tells you all you need to know, very very dissapointing it has to be said

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/11/2015 15:54:23    1805326

Gave up this site for awhile after been accused of all sorts. But as Longford is not too far away from me (closer than navan) i ventured that far now i only managed to get second half of game but yet again nom were poor beyond belief, killoe are not a great team, no disrespect to them but they are run of the mill, nom are the best side in Meath and cant beat a average side from Longford this is not a first .
Depressing times ahead, then i get slated for asking is Meath football in crisis? I think the answer is yes. Unfortunately.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/11/2015 16:40:28    1805343

Once again navan omahonys have proven an embarrassment in Leinster

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 08/11/2015 17:11:50    1805357

royaldunne, How can you say killoe are not a great team, they have been in the last 4 of leinster a few times now, think we need to get real and realise Meath football is not what it was 15-20 years ago and we are not much better than some of the so called "weaker" counties any more

TheNotorious (USA) - Posts: 14 - 08/11/2015 17:18:40    1805360

I going to temper my anxiety by reminding myself that O'Mahony's record in Leinster is consistently awful, they have never reached a Leinster Final let alone win one despite having some of the best players around, I can't understand it personally. Only Summerhill, Walterstown, Senchelstown, Dunshaughlin and Skryne have ever reached the final and only Summerhill, Walterstown & Dunshaughlin have one it so it's not today or yesterday that Meath clubs have struggled here somewhat but I really thought today that O'Mahony's would up their game and gain revenge for a couple of years back but alas no, and then to put up the miserly score of 1-6 in the process is really depressing from the supposed best team in the county. And people wonder about players not on the Meath squad, wake up boys and girls our best players are no longer coming en masse from the traditional sources and if you ever needed proof then today was it, over to you Curragha and Ratoath

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 08/11/2015 18:18:24    1805376

The depressing attitude of this forum is lamentable and quite honestly sickens me. Killoe are a forbidable outfit for any team and would put it up to any of the big Dublin clubs. Fair enough the county setup is a shambles but targeting a club side for being beaten narrowly in a leinster q/f in the context of the county.team is laughable.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 08/11/2015 19:33:49    1805405

I was at the game today and it could have gone either way. People commenting on the scorline of 1-6 by our county champions might not have realised there was a 30mph cross breeze and the pitch was in poor condition. Also Navans best player, Stephen Bray got a knock to the knee very early on and should probably have been taken off, as he was clearly not fit. Having said that the better team won. Only stand out player for Navan having seen them in the Final and today has been James O Reilly. He would be a good addition to the county set up. Just another thing when was the last time O Mahonys had a home draw in Leinster? I can't remember them playing in Navan in Leinster having won our Championship at all in recent years? They would be a far harder team to beat in Navan in my opinion.

Jgc81 (Meath) - Posts: 195 - 08/11/2015 20:43:10    1805442

As for Longford being a weaker footballing county. We're slowly getting into that group

JoeJoej (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 09/11/2015 08:07:30    1805470

It doesn't really matter what way you look at it, it's still a poor result and it doesn't say much for Meath football. Our attitude towards the NFL is changing (not before time) and our attitude towards club football really needs to change with it, it's no good saying 'ah well sure we were never great at club level', we got away with that in the 80s and 90s but it won't wash anymore.

Hopefully we'll see some change to the Meath championship structure soon, there was talk about it 2 months ago but not a word since.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/11/2015 09:31:55    1805479

Its the constant poor results though.NOM have won 3 of the last 5 Meath championships.I actually think our clubs have an inferior complex when they play outside of their own county too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/11/2015 10:28:50    1805508

Fair play to you for tempering your anxiety.

The score in the kerry final was nine points each yesterday. What do you think of that?

mawmouther (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 09/11/2015 12:19:17    1805550

In better news,well done to Curraha yesterday winning in Tullamore despite playing a full half with 14 men.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/11/2015 12:23:22    1805554

09/11/2015 12:19:17
mawmouther

Fair play to you for tempering your anxiety.

The score in the kerry final was nine points each yesterday. What do you think of that?

Kerry won the All Ireland last year and were in the final again this year and most likely will be playing football in late August or September next year so that's what I say to that. I was firmly behind O'Mahonys yesterday in case anyone thinks I wasn't and ok I take weather and pitch considerations into account but has that been the excuse every year in the Leinster Championship for O'Mahonys. They are the biggest most successful club in Meath based in the county town, sorry if I think they should be doing better it's just my opinion

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/11/2015 13:21:34    1805592

Yes well done Curragha, it seems Meath teams at Junior and Intermediate level have done better in the respective provincial championships than ones at Senior, take what you will out of that but it would certainly be a unique scenario if neighbours Ratoath & Curragha could bring home provincial silverware

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/11/2015 13:25:27    1805595

Ye absolutely ziggy, excellent result for Curragha, well done to them, nice to see a small club doing well.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/11/2015 13:36:48    1805600