Alternatives to MOD

Hi Lads,

A lot of people calling for MOD but can any of you honestly provide a suitable alternative?

Within the County
Geraghty - Love/Hate figure - Could be sensational but could be just as disastrous.
Harnan - dragged Skryne over the line for a couple of keegans??
O'Rourke - he may **** or get of the pot at this stage on it
Gerry McEntee - got brigids in Dublin into county finals, could drag a lot out of this bunch
Paddy Carr - always linked and maybe he deserves a chance

Outside the county
John Evans - would be a great choice, intelligent man, got Roscommon structured and organized and into Div 1 with a team arguably worse than our own
Joe Kernan - pushed an underachieving Armagh team over the line

Any one have any thoughts on it at all???

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 06/08/2015 13:42:54    1765047

The Meath Senior team is doomed every year because of the lack of structures in place. Leave MOD in place for 2 more years. When he leaves put in a other make shift manager. Right off the next few years. While we do that the current Meath u16 setup should be told to plan to take u17, u18, u21 then the main job in that order adding too their setup and adjusting as the years go on. This should follow on every year group below and we will have a lot of top quality managers to pick from in the future. This will work if Seamus Kenny is allowed do his job and the county board trust the player and coach pathway system works. Dublin are operating a similar structure.

Footballonly (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 06/08/2015 14:29:47    1765083

Tommy Dowd.. a proven winner and has the managerial experience to back it up. Was a selector under Coyle and is just a legend who would command a lot of respect.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 06/08/2015 14:41:02    1765099

Interesting that Seamus Kenny is mentioned.I remember Kenny saying that he gives advice to clubs and then after that its up to them.Not an awful lot Kenny can do there? Unless he does more that I don't know about?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/08/2015 14:55:17    1765111

I agree with Football only, Leave MOD at it if he does gets somewhere with them great if not well I don't think we expected much. After him anotherdecent manger that'll give it his best shot and so on.

I think the county board should put all their efforts and finances into the underage structures, coaching and development. Start from scratch because the current set up isn't producing. And I'm not so sure this Dunganny development ground is the right answer. It may look the part and portray to other counties we're getting our act to together but if the structure and coaching isn't there then there's no point having this fancy looking ground. Kind alike having a big mansion house but no furniture on the inside.

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 06/08/2015 15:20:42    1765123

Uncle Fester

I agree with Dunganny.They pumped a lot into a facility,but surely they should have looked after underage structures and then built Dunganny..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/08/2015 15:25:27    1765131

Colm coyle

royalballer23 (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 06/08/2015 15:43:23    1765147

Think we may find that those people who appear equipped for the job will not go forward for various reasons. In any event its very doubtful if we have anyone made to measure for the job nowadays. Therefore for us ,i think the job needs to be re defined ,and manager becomes more of a co ordinator who would have overall responsibility,but brings in expertise as and when required. It seems to me we are way short on physical fitness as a priority. That is no 1 area for development. SECONDLY Mental preparation as per Sean BOylan is an absolute priority [maybe Sean himself can help here] There will be other areas as well but the main point is the COUNTY BOARD take serious stock NOW. Assess the job requirements and skills required [3 wise men can help here]. Assess the talents available to us now in potential manager/s Subtract skills available from skills required and we then have a development need requiring immediate action. I would wish the CB would approach it from that angle only . FILLING THE NEEDS REQUIRED TO DO THE JOB IS THE ONLY ITEM ON THE AGENDA !! politics or personalities cannot get in the way of that objective. I think that particular INVESTMENT in human resources is every bit as important as material resources such as Dunganny. Flowing on from that will be support systems underage coaching etc. requiring further attention.. Perhaps the CB will have a lot more to say about filling NEEDS rather than just filling the job!! Here's HOPING !!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 06/08/2015 16:02:11    1765165

Andy McEntee?

For a good up & coming manager , maybe get him involved in the U21s or Minors
Conor O Donoghue who is currently over Dunboyne

summerhillof69 (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 06/08/2015 16:16:22    1765179

Graham Geraghty
Graham Gerahhty

Should have got it last time and we wouldn't be in this mess.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/08/2015 21:10:53    1765387

agh lads will ye stop with the structures and development or talk about that on another thread..
Jesus its all every thread/discussion descends intp

I was asking for someone who could replace MOD and leave it at that...

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 06/08/2015 21:57:58    1765420

brian

I would go for Graham Geraghty,but there are a lot of alternatives that I would be happier with rather than keep MOD.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/08/2015 15:07:26    1765674

My absolute dream team would be Gerry McEntee, Niall Moyna and Sean Boylan. Genuinely believe we would be be top 6 within 2/3 years! Daydreaming on a Friday...

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 07/08/2015 16:26:46    1765732

James Horan would be ideal but would the county board have the foresight or even ambition to consider this

pim (Meath) - Posts: 119 - 07/08/2015 18:08:23    1765776

Brian, if ye want John Evans in Meath,ye can have him.He's been in Roscommon for 3 years and while he's got us promoted in the League, his championship record is poor.We haven't reached a Connacht final during those 3 years and this Summer,Sligo and Fermanagh beat us.A Manager is judged by performances in the Championship.I hope Meath Make the right choice.The Gaa needs a strong Meath team.Good Meath teams have given us great pleasure down the years.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 07/08/2015 20:27:07    1765816

I would not want Evans to be honest!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 07/08/2015 20:41:57    1765820

I'd say James horan. If it has to be a meath man I'd say geraghty because he'd bring fire and passion which we severely lack lately.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 08/08/2015 17:05:47    1766009

Yeah jack, but what sponsorship could either of them bring? That seems to be the most important thing in Meath these days.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/08/2015 17:23:52    1766017

See Conal Keaney is the height of praise for Andy McEntee,wonder if he would be interested in managing Meath in the future?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 11/02/2016 11:27:07    1824634

Never trust a dub

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 11/02/2016 12:25:14    1824663