The future is Bright for Meath Football

I have been following Meath Football for 40 years. When the present management took over my opinion is Meath football was at its lowest since before Sean took over.They took the brave decision to start from scratch & went with a youth policy with a few experienced players to lead them.THe 1st half performance last Sunday was fast direct dynamic & imo one of the best Meath croke park performances in yrs.2nd half was the strangest half of football ive ever seen wat happened i dont know b it mental/fitness/thought it was won no idea(westmth were excellent).Where the plan went wrong this year 4 mgt was the experienced players kreilly, sororke, cgillespi ,mburke,thebrays through mainly injuries & not havin a run of games hav been unable to lead the younger lads-it was evident against leix in the league which wud hav got us to Div 1. We now have a young squad with harnan, wallaces ,rooney ,flanagan ,mcentee all 21 with mcgill, tobin, keogan, menton, biggy ,tormy,mcmahon,newman not much older.There are another 10-15 21 y/os & under on d squad have had a chance or are in development training so imo the present mgt have done a good job building from scratch.We have gud players in most positions WE JUST NEED TO FIND A CHB & if there is one out there we r in busines.Whoever manages meath over the next few years will inherit a serious squad & imo will start in a better position than the present mgt did 3 years ago & i predict Meath will win all irelands in the next 10 years.We were never going to catch up with Dublin in 3 yrs.I hope the county board will convince Dowd to stay- it will be a brave decision but for meath football the right one.

Navan4ever (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 01/07/2015 17:34:31    1746139

Interesting first post and I admire your optimism. You are a correct on a number of matters for sure.O'Dowd took the brave and correct decision to start from scratch when he first came in.I admire him for that,and supported him on that too.However the more time has gone on,it is clear to see that he struggles in the tactical aspect of the game.He has not learnt from last years mistakes,that is for certain.He is a good guy,but he will be gone by the end of the season.
Welcome to the forum. :)

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/07/2015 17:46:42    1746144

Navan 4 ever That all sounds very familiar indeed . Even MOD speak ! Think you can drop that ball. Its flat anyway.But no harm in trying a wind up !

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 01/07/2015 17:49:31    1746146

Alex Ferguson was always one game away from the sack when he started out with man utd..it took him 3 seasons to get it right,When he took charge of Man Utd he sold alot of players and some were top class like Paul McGrath,the things that were said about him in the papers for the first three years at Man Utd you would not write them about a bad Dog!

Sean boylan though he was getting the hurling job at Meath and instead they handed him a size 5 o Neill's ball,another man who look clueless like a rabbit in the head lights when he took charge of Meath in 1983..I remember one time a guy said "what would a hurling man know who grows daisy's and buttercups in his back garden know about Football"

Joe Schmidt when he went to Leinster he had a team of winners and top class rugby players..5 matches in he was looking clueless completely out of his dept the big wigs at Leinster rugby were even had the weels in motion to get the man out of the club...George hook called him a school teacher dressed up as a rugby coach!

This bloody Mod lad has sumthing about him..he has half the story right,they way Meath attack last Sunday would get the better of any team..and the way they defended last Sunday any team would get the better of them! If Meath beat Tyrone in two weeks time the lift that team will get from it would be greater than any wins we had in the last 15 years..not because Tyrone are brilliant but because of the dark place this Meath team are right now!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 01/07/2015 20:56:12    1746245

Happen to agree with the above.

A win against Tyrone would be huge and set us up better than getting thrashed by Dublin and going in to that last round qualifier yet again. History has proven that the qualifiers generally beat the provincial finalist.

We did have the tightest defence in the league despite that very poor game in Salthill. Also remember that game in Donegal last year where we had 15 men behind the ball and Donegal were lucky to get a draw courtesy of a free from M Murphy from sideline. That game happened after being thrashed by Monaghan and been given no chance in hell of getting a result.

MOD does seem able to mix it up depending on who we're playing against. We beat both Northern teams in the league this year. The only problem being the constant change in the system (blanket defence to all out attack as seen in last two games). It must be very frustrating/confusing for the players. In that last 20 mins on Sunday, nobody seemed to know where to play or who to mark. We still had 5 forwards ahead of the ball rather than packing the defence. Let's hope he learns from his errors and quickly.

The lack of fitness in the last 15/20 mins as evidenced v laois/westmeath this year and Kildare/armagh last year is a big worry and will not be rectified in two weeks.

On the other hand, the forward play for the first 50mins last week was the best I've seen in years. Harnan ran the show in the first half with his foot passing in to the forward line particularly good.

For now, lets get behind this team and see where it brings us. A win against Tyrone will give us a great chance of getting to a Q Final for the first time in 5 years.

Be positive in defeat for once

reylux (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 01/07/2015 21:26:59    1746257

100% agree.

Sean Boylan would be ran out of the county with many of the current fans. There's been a soccer style mob mentality around the management for the past 8 years. Instant success or we want you out.

We won't get instant success, but we are moving forward. If people can't see that from the way we attacked on Sunday then they are blind.

I'll agree defence needs huge attention, but that requires a defensive addition to the management team, not a new manager.

I believe in MoD.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 02/07/2015 11:05:56    1746367

I agree the the above post. I always believe Meath have the talent. We just have to manage it tight. MOD has done a good job. We are a really young team that need our support not our criticism.

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 02/07/2015 11:23:20    1746380

Jinxie

I have to disagree slightly.I for one want a settled manager and don't believe in changing all the time.The concern I have,is that Mick O'Dowd does not mention the defence or defensive structure after a defeat.From watching I feel,he has made the same mistakes as last year,I really wanted him to be a success,but at the end of the day,we were steamrolled by an ordinary side.How can he see Tobin as a corner back? Keoghan as a number 6,when we are struggling a bit for corner backs,McEntee as a corner back?.Are we not better off playing natural corner backs instead of placing two good footballers as man markers?
Further more the team does not look fit enough.players getting cramp and visible not able to move,same thinh happened last year against Kildare.Micko had last season to reflect and improve on these aspects,I believed he would and have supported him throughout.You are right though about instant success though,too many want that.I beleive we have some very good players,but it appears we are not setting up proparly.We played some great football sunday,but we had a lot of space that you will not get against most decent sides.We cannot ignore a defesive stragegy or the fact that the team is still not fit enough.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2015 12:12:20    1746407

Jinxiee

for example,why didn't he bring in a defensive coach after last season?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2015 12:14:47    1746411

I dont think anyone really believes the problem stems with MOD. He makes mistakes for sure but even if they won last sunday they are still very much a tier 2 football team. In order to become tier 1 they need to look at re-inventing the club game in Meath. The standard of the Meath team is reflective of the clubs in Meath.

greenrow (Meath) - Posts: 44 - 02/07/2015 12:28:05    1746420

greengrow

Thats very true,BUT,I still thinkt the current senior team have the capabilities to do better

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2015 12:55:57    1746444

Ziggy

Yes I'd have brought on in after last year, but I think he actually did address this, but just retreated to all out attack in the last few months.

Anyone who was in Newry this year will have seen a superb defensive performance with great discipline shown. Same v roscommon only for our goalkeeper to hand over 1-02 to the opposition... Like the 2-03 on Sunday past. You can't blame the management for that.

I'd also hold my judgement on the fitness just yet. I'm the last 20 mins we were chasing westmeath and anyone who's played football or watches it knows that the team chasing the players always look leggy and tired compared to the team in possession. You could argue that westmeath looked very unfit for 50 mins and only had 20 mins in them. Which obviously isn't true.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 02/07/2015 13:19:55    1746457

Greenrow Yes it is a very major task to remedy the situation..Primary responsibility for identifying and taking remedial action rests squarely with the COUNTY BOARD. MOD was given a task for a 3 year period.That is now due for review as is normal. I believe the objectives set were not met. No body expected INSTANT SUCCESS. Most people including me would want to see measurable progress.THAT HAS NOT HAPPENED! Agreed the low level of football in Meath is not MOD's fault alone. It would be normal for any new manager to make mistakes of course.It is also reasonable to expect he would learn from mistakes. To me he has not . Several posters have raised the area of lack of a defensive strategy as an example.It is glaringly obvious nothing was done to attend to this since last year. Fitness? mental approach?? teamwork? spirit?. As an ordinary joe i do not know the ins and outs..Perhaps MICKO asked for specific assistance that was not granted etc. i dont know.. I will say i do believe he gave it HIS best shot. He cannot be happy with where we are now. I do believe he will go himself in a dignified way as befits a gentleman like MICKO. I am sure all supporters feel a big thanks is due to Micko.and accept that he alone could not put right the shortcomings in MEATH football build up for 15 years i suggest.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1223 - 02/07/2015 13:47:33    1746469

Supporters are not stupid , most of yous clearly believe that yous have the players so if yous think that then yous probably have. Throughout the 90s and 00s , I always believed that Donegal had the footballers. I rememebr people laughing at me when i said in 2010 that we have the players to win Sam. We played lovely free flowing football in the late 00s but always ran short of Armagh and Tyrone : something had to change : MANAGEMENT . Obviously Meath is one of the traditionalists of GAA and id only love it if we had half the Sams as yous however yous need a new appraoch .

First thing is first : strength and conditioning . This alone will not win anything as proven by Kildare ; a side also need footballers. Both talent and power will win anything. Systems and tactics and both required. Meath have some good forwards; with a proper tactican in place, the royals would be on their way back. From the outside , MOD is not the man.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/07/2015 17:59:09    1746610

TheRightStuff

I would argue it is more frustration if indeed you have got the footballers to do an awful lot better.If you have bad players,obviously you need to produce better,but at least you would know that.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 02/07/2015 18:12:14    1746616

Meath played great football in first half because for first 35 min there was only one team competing. Westmeath never showed up they made us look like world beaters, but still during that period got through our midfield and defence with some ease. Listening to a playback on Newstalk, Anthony Moyles and commentator were remarking that Westmeath were surely one of the poorest teams they had seen playing championship football in years. The confidence of the players has been shot to ribbons, Donal Keogan looks a pale shadow of the excellent player we know he is. This constant playing lads in positions they are not comfortable with is no way to manage a team.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 02/07/2015 20:23:26    1746673

Lads, the standard of football played at club level is an indication how good Meath football is- average to poor

McGiolla (Cavan) - Posts: 42 - 02/07/2015 20:27:01    1746678

Pi**Ed me off to see Kerry win last year. Would have put fitzmaurice on par with mod in terms of developing new squad etc

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 02/07/2015 20:29:55    1746680

Lads -I hope we beat Tyrone a lot will depend on how quickly we can recover from last sunday plus they will raise their game playing against us so I think they are worthy favourites.I dont think either team will win sam this year but If you were to ask me which of them has the best chance to win it in the next 10 years I would say Meath.Over the last 3 years imo menton,biggy,donal,tobin have really improved & shud be our leaders going forward with gillespie shane & bray.i dont think kevin has anything left to give- nobody has given more to the meath cause a brilliant servant over the last 10 years.Paddy is potentially the best goalkeeper we have ever had,he was v disappointing last sunday but i think he will learn the most from the game& be a far better player for it.mcgill is a great find carroll& newman are still huge prospects & all 3 will only get better but why i am so optimistic is the potential in the younger fellas from mcentee in the backs to 2 big midfield lads,harnan,wallaces, mcmahon ,power,dalton.they crumbled on sunday but i have seem glimpses all year from everyone of them in 1 game or anothe that they have the ability & class to become serious players.add to that list osullivan moynalvy,sheridan/tobin simonstown kieran lenihan is flying in skryne,o coilan from omahonys,landy from pats,obrienfrom ratoath,lenihan &jones from dunboyne to name a few.all forward type players i know -we really need to find a nononsense strong rugged tough defender.
Dowd however is the key - he is pure meath & has the philosophy we have always had with fast direct football.no disrespect to backwards handpassing or all the forwards sprinting back to form a wall but wud any selfrespecting royal want us to win sam playing that way.We are playing catch up wit dublin who cud possibly win it with their b team & kerry who won last year without cooper,tom walsh,galvin great teams who play to the traditions of their counties & fair play to them.dowd is trying to build a meath team in the tradition of the great meath teams & we shud be supporting this.we have had serious dips in previous years i remember people wanted rid of sean between his 2 great teams but he was given time & delivered.we messed up with eamon o brien who was making great strides at the time but we let him go.things went stale after him until dowd arrived out of nowhere.keep the faith!

Navan4ever (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 02/07/2015 20:59:16    1746707

Navan4ever
Like yourself have been following the Royals for many a year, but all Meath teams up until recently could defend, seems to be a foreign word with Micko, whatever you do don't mention the defence. More to football than being able to run fast.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 02/07/2015 21:22:01    1746727