Meath v Laois

POR D Keogan Cmc Gill D Tobin, M BOURKE A Tormey B Menton, A Flanagan Rooney, G Reilly P Harnan E Wallace, S Tobin S Bray M Newman Subs J Queeney D Dalton D Carroll C Gillespie D Bray an others S o Rourke it is assumed he does not wish to be considered at this time

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 08/03/2015 13:45:04    1700302

nobull

Depends on how badly injured Rooney is,but I would go for..

POR
Dalton
McGill
Keoghan
Burke
Menton
Tobin
Rooney
Flanagan
Reilly
Harnan(impressed with him playing here)
Tormey
Wallace (Eamonn)
Bray
Newman

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/03/2015 14:48:10    1700329

ziggy not too sure about Dalton as a corner back but options?? S Tobin might help with free taking options where we are now poor... Reluctant to take Menton away from no 7 [to me he was poor last night] Tormey does not look like a 70 mins wing player to me at present,and does not look fit enough,but no doubt about his talent. Stick him at no 6 for first half at least. But all this is only positional anyway. The main problem is the same as last year. No direction..West meath should have been at least 8 pts up at half time. Defensively we were hopeless in the first half. Overall very disapointing ,and no improvement from last year based on last night .pluses MC gILL Keogan,Harnan Bray and Reilly.....

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 08/03/2015 15:14:32    1700342

Dalton is more mobile as a corner back then Tobim or Burke for that matter..

Laois scored 2-17 today and often have been a bogey team for Meath,so we have to be careful,still though we should win it.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 08/03/2015 15:33:48    1700348

Ziggy
Yeah your right their tails will be up, but hopefully we can come out on top.

Come on you boys in yellow.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 08/03/2015 20:18:41    1700523

Ziggy-with ample supply and lads firing at 100% that's a serious forward unit. Goals galore!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/03/2015 21:46:26    1700608

Lets be honest we still not firing on all cylinders. Hopefully this is the game that it all comes good.
Hon the Royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/03/2015 10:09:07    1700691

nobull & ziggy

Why put Keogan back in the fullback line? I know that's his natural position and he's the best man marker we have but we don't have any other credible no.6 and when he wasn't there last year we shipped some very heavy scores, leave him at 6 until someone credible comes along.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/03/2015 12:25:25    1700791

hatem yes that is a logical argument also....we need 2 Donals. However i think on balance i would play him 2 . He is always ready to cover full back zone when play dictates,plus the fact a lot of counties have very good corner forwards requiring close marking. It is robbing peter to pay paul. Hoping that chb area can be crowded,and hoping that our game plan will include a ball carrier like Eamonn Wallace picking up breaks in our defensive side of midfield..Any way a case can be made also to leave Donal as chb...For a player of Donal's calibre positions can be switched in seconds if reqd. Much more concerned that 9 players looked below the reqd. standard against Westmeath We badly need a 2 tight marking corner backs and a no 6. I would run with a half forward as an extra defender/ball carrier around that position for half hour anyway. To me this is secondary to the primary problem Lack of direction allowing some players to go AWOL.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 09/03/2015 13:58:03    1700870

Bert dont know bout the serious ff line? thought WM were very naive in there defending, in the first half we looked anything but threatening. Newman looks way down on confidence and carroll is defo not a cornor forward. One worrying thing was our subs bench, no real game changers there, I know lads have to come back from injury so that might change, but when I saw wallace and mcmahon coming on they looked like little boys. Any 1st division defence would eat them up.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 09/03/2015 14:00:04    1700872

Good result on Sat night, all round team performance still not there. Westmeath missed a lot of chances and the scoreline is flatterng. Am very wary of Laois, have been a bogey team for Meath going back a long number of years. Being honest, I didn't think they'd beat the Rossies, and 2-17 is a nice score at this time of year. A win here will set us up for a promotion drive but will not be easy.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 09/03/2015 14:13:27    1700879

If we had Kevin Reilly,I would defo play Keoghan at 6,and play McGill corner back.I would see how the game goes and play Keoghan were he is needed the most.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 09/03/2015 14:52:28    1700906

Forglory

Eamonn Wallace is good enough to play against dv1 teams..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 09/03/2015 14:54:17    1700907

ForGlory

Meath vs Tyrone 2013 championship? E Wallace's performance would suggest otherwise.

Junior_Baesht (Meath) - Posts: 69 - 09/03/2015 15:19:54    1700921

Sorry lads I think wallace is too light for intercounty football, One game doesnt make a player, I know he is coming back from injury so is wise to take things slowly, but if you put a tight phyiscal man marker on him I think his game suffers. He depends on his pace to beat a man and cant take him on in the physical stakes. If you look at the last player we had with his type of pace he also had the phyiscal strenght to take a man on. I see that ye dont dissagree with the rest of the points I made though.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 09/03/2015 15:32:55    1700930

I see cribben has put his hand up and taken some of the blame which reinforces my point that WM were very naive in their defending in the second half.

Forglory (Meath) - Posts: 85 - 09/03/2015 15:35:06    1700931

I know we're robbing peter to pay paul by putting Keogan in at 6 but the thing is by and large over the last 12 months it's worked better for us to have him at 6. Again last year we had a seriously weak centre in the defense and as a result we conceded some very heavy scores, the ship was only really steadies when Keogan moved to 6 so I'd leave him there for the time being.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/03/2015 16:26:10    1700973

Ziggy Yes if we had Kevin Reilly that would be a different story agreed. Full credit to McGill so far. It would be nice to have Keogan near him in support to do what Donal does so well cover and anticipate play pressure points. We simply need 2 Donals ha ha !! Regarding Eamonn Wallace in my view he has to be used properly. HE does not mark anybody ! Rather he is given a specific role pick up breaking ball in front of chb and run or deliver as required. Eamonn is not a man to man player,and never will be.If he is fit enough at this point,let him run from deep. I would expect ALL forwards and not just Stephen Bray to anticipate the play and get out in front to make lay offs easier from all runners such as Wallace and Menton etc.I am totally baffled at how poorly our forwards appear to be coached with someone like Giles on the sideline.When he played he was an expert reader of play. That makes me wonder maybe a great jockey cannot do much without the horse!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 09/03/2015 16:55:50    1700995

Forglory- Reilly, Wallace,Newman, bray,tormey- we have intermittently seen the potential of these players.Up to MOD to get the best out of them.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 09/03/2015 18:39:56    1701038

Big danger we could be cleaned out at midfield on Saturday, Laois have two very good midfielders. I know we got four goals last week but we seem to find it difficult to get a decent points tally. Free taking a major worry, might be worth starting Mark O Sullivan.. We are still a long way off finished article.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 09/03/2015 20:02:33    1701067